We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family gathering”

Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co.
Ranked #5 of 6 Restaurants in Elbe
Price range: $10 - $20
Description: Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co. is a family owned and operated restaurant that is part of one of the largest caboose collections in North America. Come enjoy our delicious house smoked dishes
Restaurant details
Description: Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co. is a family owned and operated restaurant that is part of one of the largest caboose collections in North America. Come enjoy our delicious house smoked dishes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Absolutely fun place for 3 generation get together. All food good and service excellent, Elk burger, fish and chips, home made soup and great hot chocolate. Breakfast for two the next morning - value can not be beaten nor the prep and presentation. .

Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

So happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for making us a part of your getaway. Hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
Elisa Fruzzetti - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 123 of 164 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

Food is great and very reasonably priced, and the atmosphere is wonderful-- old dining cars. We stayed in the Hobo Inn next door which is connected, can't recommend that too highly but the restaurant is a keeper.

Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Although I'm sorry you weren't happy with the Hobo Inn, I'm glad that you enjoyed your meals. If you have any further feedback about the Inn, please let me know and I'll pass it along!

Thanks!
Elisa Fruzzetti - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Breakfast here was included in the room rate for the Hobo Inn, so was immediately a good deal. Breakfast fare is pretty standard. Portions are generous. The server is also the check-out clerk for the inn. Our group was scheduled for the 10:00 Mt. Rainier train, yet some of our party didn't get served until twenty till ten. Although we all made the train, this is not the place for a relaxing breakfast if you want to take the 10:00 train next door.
We didn't eat lunch or dinner here, so have no input as to their quality or pricing.

Thank mcnicolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Sorry about that timing mishap. However, we're really glad that you and your group left feeling full and happy. Thanks for your feedback and please keep us in mind next time you're in town!

All the best,
Elisa Fruzzetti - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Had a really nice breakfast in the railroad Dining Car! Very nice ambiance for a railfan! Server was super friendly and fast. The food was very good and they accommodated a special request for a combination that wasn't on the menu. Also note the portions are very large! It is not a high end restaurant but I gave it an Excellent rating because of outstanding service and very good hearty breakfast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TLinATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

A breakfast like ours is a great way to fuel up for a busy day! Sounds like you loved every minute of your visit, and we're thrilled to hear that. Thanks! Hope to have you back next time you're in our neck of the woods.

Best,
Elisa Fruzzetti - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The group of 9 ate in the Side Car - great food including fish and chips, Elk burges, Monte Cristo Sandwich.
The next day 2 for breakfast including in room charge - EXCELLENT

Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We couldn't have asked for kinder words, Mary! Thank you, and please keep us in mind next time you're in our neck of the woods!

All the best,
Elisa Fruzzetti - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co. also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing