We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real people”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hobo Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elbe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hobo Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Elbe B&B and Inns
Columbus, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Real people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2008

The Hobo Inn is very nostalgic. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel go to Mariot or Hilton, and pay the price. We went during the off season and recieved service from the best people. Elisa and her staff work very hard to make the stay a down home pleasant experience. Caboose #4 is very quaint and cozy. The bed was very comfortable and the flannel sheets were great to snuggle in. The lounge and the dinning car were a lot of fun. The property is well kept when you consider they are old railroad cars. When you go in the off season you get a better chance to meet and socialize with the locals and they are a colorful lot. Do not let a rough exterior of people and places sway you. These are real people who work hard for a living and they share thier warm hearts with everyone who comes to visit. Every time I pass by the Hobo Inn I will stop in and visit.

  • Liked — Unique, nostalgic
  • Disliked — A bit cool
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank theaplots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
17
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2008

We spent New Years Eve at the Elbe Restaurant and Lounge across the street. Very nice people over there and the Band was great! After the New Year had rung in we went to our Caboose to check in. We had the yellow caboose, very roomy the heat was perfect, set on Low setting all night and it was 30 degrees outside. Very comfortable. $97 for a room plus breakfast is on the house for each. We recommend the Brakemens Special, Ham and Eggs, wait till you see the ham! YUM. Waitress Teresa was awesome. Great time, will definitely come back with the Harley's in the summer time.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyInElbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2007

By far, this was the worst dining experience we have ever had. The condition of the shabby dining area should have been our first clue. Being very hungry we took a chance... big mistake. For an outrageous price the salmon dinner, complete with canned green beans, was not fully cooked. It was returned to the kitchen and what came back could have passed for cardboard. The Mulligan Stew was nothing more than perhaps a discount brand canned number dumped into a stale bread bowl. We refused to eat what was served. On our way out the door we overheard another table of dinners complain that they could not eat the shrimp cocktail because it was so heavy on the horseradish. We exited the resturant, warning unsuspecting dinners as they entered the resturant. We are normally easy to please and friendly dinners and this place was "over the top" NASTY!

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — We only experienced the dining area - that was bad enough.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank RovingRapunzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elbe hotels

Roy, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2007

DO NOT EAT AT THE RESTAURANT. Service is practically non-existent. Chicken undercooked, soup and corn on the cob, ice cold. Waitress inattentive or just plain ignored us. One of us got serious food poisoning from the mulligan stew. Try someplace else. For the prices they charge, would have expected better.
Inside apparently not air conditioned.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — food poisoning
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2006

Normally I wouldn't take the time to post a review like this, but since this place is in the middle of nowhere, I feel that it's my responsibility to forewarn any perspective travelers... STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE! I booked my reservation here a month in advance (and called the day prior to confirm) so that my girlfriend and I might experience something "different" while attending a family wedding in the area. Yea... we got something "different" all right... the rudest, most indifferent staff I've ever experienced in my life. After checking in, we opened up the caboose door to a mid-summer Turkish suana, only to find that the AC didn't work, and the sink (which drains onto the railroad tracks) was plugged up. Since we were in a hurry to get dressed up in our wedding attire, I walked back to the check in desk (which doubles as the railroad bar) and asked the [-] woman who checked us in to please get us another room that worked, only to be told, as she raised her drink glass from the business side of the bar, that "I'm off... you're gonna have to talk to someone else, and it's not our responsibilty to keep the rooms cool.".... un-[-] believable. So, after telling her how much I appreciated her help (use your imagination), the "maintenance" guy, half-drunk and sitting at the bar (of course) volunteers to come "take a look". His expert opinion confirmed that, "yea, the AC's broke and the sink's clogged up". But alas, they have no more rooms to rent (didn't seem to be a problem as they had plenty of cars to choose from 30 minutes prior). So we go back to the bar-car registration, only to find that Miss Manners has decided to go drink somwhere else... twenty minutes later the new bartender/hotel clerk arrives to credit my credit card, literally without saying a word. We missed the wedding but survived this dump... do yourself a favor and keep moving down the line.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dixiedeadshake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2006

We drove past The Hobo Inn en route to Mount Rainier. My son was begging my husband to stop. However, my husband was anxious to get to Ranier. We stayed longer at Rainier than we had intended. We found ourselves driving at night looking for a place to stay. Our 7 year old was already sleeping when we drove past the Hobo Inn for the second time. We decided to stop to see if we could get a room (caboose). Well, we had a comfortable sleep in a very clean Caboose No.5. My son was so excited when he woke up to find himself in a caboose. It would be unfair to compare this place to a major hotel. It was very clean and definitely a memorable stay for all of us....Don't miss this train!!!

  • Liked — Creative and Thematic
  • Disliked — No Television
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank margo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2005

My husband & I stumbled onto this place as we were driving through WA. Such a great idea, and one look @ the place & we knew that we HAD to stop. It also happened to be valentine's day, we had an awesome berry cobbler in the restaurant, met some nice down to earth people. ( We KNEW we weren't in LA anymore) Even bought a piece of chainsaw art from Dusty, a local artist.
Caboose rooms were modest, and although the bathroom was small, the novelty of sleeping in a caboose was very cool. We enjoyed our night there, and hope to go back.
One of the best evenings on our Road trip, and a gem for unique stay in a caboose.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Y_M_bambini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elbe
12.2 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
7.6 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
22.5 mi away
Prairie Hotel
Prairie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yelm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
11.1 mi away
Copper Creek Inn
Copper Creek Inn
#2 of 3 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
7.7 mi away
Mill Village Motel
Mill Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Eatonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hobo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hobo Inn

Property: The Hobo Inn
Address: 54106 Mountain Highway East, P.O. Box 921, Elbe, WA 98330
Location: United States > Washington > Elbe
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Elbe
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Hobo Hotel Elbe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing