We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic French cooking in Edmonds by the Sea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe de Paris

Cafe de Paris
Ranked #17 of 129 Restaurants in Edmonds
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edmonds, WA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Classic French cooking in Edmonds by the Sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Café de Paris offers a few parking places supplemented by street parking, which is gobbled up by patrons of the tavern next door. We found the restaurant oddly uncrowded on a Saturday night. The menu is rather large, tending toward seafood. The bread served warm was excellent; the little tabs of butter wrapped in metal foil was déclassé. The wine list is adequate. We began with crème d'asperges which was not overwhelmed by the flavour of asparagus. The small house salad came with a slice of almost-hardboiled egg and a lovely house dressing, rather like a Caesar only different. It is made with raw egg; they made no argument about substituting oil and vinegar for my wife who cannot eat raw egg. She had the brochette de filet de boeuf aux herbes, which she found excellent. I had the veau Normande which was cooked perfectly. These were served with epinards à la crème, gratin dauphnois (which was overdone), haricots verts (which were overdone) and carrots (which were very overdone). They offer a lovely dessert list but we were too full, having ordered our entrees "complet" which meant they came with soup and salad for six dollars more. The bill was $90 for the two of us, which was a little steep for the overall quality of the good. We will return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FatherSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    27
    9
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
418 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great food, location, and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you like French food here is the place for you. The fish was great and the flavors were fantastic. Good wine and a great decadent desert. The service was wonderful too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GenotheViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
135 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I had a beef dish that was delicious.It melted in my mouth. My friend had grilled salmon that she enjoyed. The waitress was really on top of things. She checked on us multiple times without being obnoxious. The one thing that is lacking is atmosphere. You can do a lot with a french theme but this looks non descript. I would definitely come back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sassywm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA state
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I had lunch here on a recent trip to Edmonds. It was not very busy at the time so we had prompt service. The food was excellent. I had the chicken crepe. My wife had a half sandwich with French onion soup. Both were very good. They also served our coffee in old-fashioned china cups and saucers. Nice touch. Others have said that the decor needs a little updating, but we did not mind. If you want a small taste of Europe, this might be the place for you.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank indigomoonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A Fine Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Went on a Thursday evening when a guitarist was playing. We wondered if this would add or detract, but we found his vocals and playing very entertaining. He had an extensive repertoire and took any request in stride. Now this wasn't the reason we went there....but it added to our gastronomic delight.

The menu had many dishes in the traditional French cuisine. One of our group had the soup de jour which was obviously home-made and delicious. The daily special of halibut was exceptionally fresh and prepared perfectly. One of us had canard a la orange which was delightful. The veggies were all tasteful and done to a turn. We didn't have room for dessert but couldn't resist trying creme caramel, peche melba and fraise oscar. All met our approval.

The wine list is reasonable including French wines for just over $20. Service was good and the ambiance OK. Overall --the Cafe de Paris won our hearts....and stomaches.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WindshearDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Paris also viewed

 

Been to Cafe de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing