We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Small Town Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Epulo Bistro

Epulo Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Epulo Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 129 Restaurants in Edmonds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $34
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street
Transit: Epulo Bistro is close to Community Transit bus stops, the Sound Transit Sounder train, and the Kingston Ferry
Description: Using the best local and seasonal ingredients from the garden, the land, and the sea, Epulo's menu lets the quality of the food shine. Using the time-honored techniques and passion of the Mediterranean region, Epulo's menu is a celebration of Europe's influence on Northwest food. We celebrate, in our charming town of Edmonds, the same relationship between food and community that is woven into the fabric of Europe's coastal villages. This is a place where food is a serious pursuit and community the most delicious ingredient.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Small Town Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Epulo is set on the main street right near the heart of my home town of Edmonds. The building is old and the space is relatively small, but the owners are hardworking, the chef is excellent, the service is very good, and as you might expect the food suc... no, it's as good as the chef. It really is a small space and sometimes when its busy, you feel a little close to other patrons. But for the most part, it has dim, but warm and cozy feel. On warm summer nights - and there ain't many - but when its nice, the windows onto Main street open and you feel a part of the street party! Mind you, this is only on warm summer nights, but Epulo is part of a hub of restaurants and eateries that have grown popular in Edmonds.
We have mostly been here for dinner, but also some late night snacks or nightcaps.
On the current menu, I have ordered the filet, the rigatoni, and the pork loin. All excellent!
I had the fig pizza late night about 6 mos. ago - also excellent.
For Dessert, DO NOT miss the cinnamon donuts with caramel dippin sauce.
Finally, the wine is good and fairly priced here, which we greatly appreciate.
Oh, and the barkeep mixes excellent drinks.
Geez, what does that leave? Oh, this: Epulo is only 6 blocks from the ferry dock, and, if you are not from these here parts, there is a little waterfront park just to the north of the dock - makes an excellent after dinner walk, just about any time of year. Not much stays open late in Edmonds, but the walk to the beach is always nice.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank winstonskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    48
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“We plan our ferry trips with Epulo in mind.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Since we live on the Olympic Peninsula, we often find ourselves on the ferry between Kingston and Edmonds. Since we discovered Epulo, we make an effort to plan our medical and shopping excursions around an early supper at this excellent restaurant. They don't cater to Vegans, but the cuisine features local produce, meat, and fish, and everything is cooked to order. Their Happy Hour menu is a delight, with perfectly sized small plates and generous pours. Most of the bargain-priced offerings are straight off their regular dinner menu, just smaller portions. Be sure to arrive early though, as the locals have discovered Epulo and fill the bar seating by 5:30.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun and thoughtful service, beautiful fresh food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were driving from Whistler and could not wait another 30 min to eat (we were all grumpy from being in the car for 5 hrs and hungry). So we pulled off of I-5 and headed into Edmonds...its was 10pm! The town was essentially shut down, but Epulo was still serving! Hurray! AND it was Happy Hour Hooray! AND they had small plates And Shawn our server was delightful! A god send! The food was very, very good. We had the Capellini Fresco, Short ribs and Tagliatelle. Both very fresh. The best salad was a stacked roasted beet, gorgonzola creation that was beautiful and delicious. Cozy, fun, laid back and delicious. We will drive from Seattle to go there again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ACBraddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really, really good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

On a cold, wet March Saturday evening, this place was a warm refuge, and what a great meal we had. The wood fired flat bread with olive tapenade was perfect, and the bibb lettuce salad was pronounced as excellent by by table mate. She had the short rib with roasted potatoes and sweet onions. The beef was cooked perfectly, and was so tender it fell apart with the slightest touch of a fork. It was rich with the red wine reduction, and I really liked it, but she said that the meat was a bit overwhelmed. I had the rigatoni, and it was delicious and flavorful. Our server was attentive and friendly, and our courses were brought to us in a very timely manner. The place was hopping with every table full and some people waiting their turn, so it's clearly popular, and for good reason. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dougi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We had the pleasure of dinner at Epulo a couple of weeks ago. We were a party of four and everyone thought dinner was just wonderful Shared salads - beet and caesar - both excellent. Entrees of chicken, short ribs and pasta also great. The wine list is good - modest prices on up. Excellent service too. Looks like a hopping bar scene ..... many ladies. This is a very busy place on the weekends so make a reservation!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yogalady67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Epulo Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing