We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the drive out into the country !”

Northwest Trek Wildlife Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: PREPARE TO BE AWED! Hop aboard a comfortable tram for a narrated tour of 435 acres in which American bison, Roosevelt elk, woodland caribou, bighorn sheep, moose and deer roam free. See bears, Canada lynx, bobcats, cougars, foxes, wolves and other native Northwest animals in natural exhibits along paved pathways under towering evergreens. Soar high in the sky on our Zip Wild set of zip line/challenge courses that test both mental and physical agility. All just an hour's drive from Seattle - but a world away. Say ahhhhhhh!
The Villages, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive out into the country !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

The tram ride here is fantastic ! You get up close to so many of the parks residents....buffalo, moose, elk, etc. What an awesome gift this was, when the land was donated for this purpose.
Family members of all ages will find this fun and informative.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    100
    19
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“great for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We took my in-laws and 2 year to NWT when they visited. The park is well run and organized. It shows local (NW) animals and has restaurant. The trolley ride is the best part of the trip so don't skip that. Elk and other animals came right up to the trolley and I got the cutest picture of my son inches from an elk. My in-laws are from overseas so they had never been to a zoo like this. The animals have a more natural habitat and are free to roam about. They found it very interesting.

Helpful?
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
170 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good Family Outing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a good place for children and adults to see animals up close. Besides a comfortable and spacious zoo-like complex, there is a windowless tram that can be taken throughout the large acreage where many animals roam freely; habitats range from forest, meadow, plains to marsh with associated animals foraging, sleeping and observing the visitors as well. What I most enjoyed about this place are the numerous demonstrations with animals; hawks that fly close by, pigmy owls, howling wolves (quite an experience), coyotes, yowling, etc. This is a good place to take photos, see the animals quite close and enjoy a relaxing time walking about. I plan to return this year.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank elgreco251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The wildlife tour on the 3 bogey bus is nicely organized and a friendly driver / commentator kept is lively and with enough time for taking snaps of the bisons, mountain goats and the other north american animals. We couldn't see any moose but maybe it was hiding in the forest and didn't have the need to roam in the meadows. They mentioned that 2 moose are being rehabilitated and would be introduced in the free roam area in a few months maybe spring 2013 (not sure). I guess there would be more instances to spot a moose with 3 or 4 in the area. Went just before the new year on a gorgeous chilly day. Got nice views of Mt. Rainer from the bus. It is worth visting once at least. Good luck!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank unitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great place to go as a kid!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Awesome place to explore PNW wildlife! My favorites were the bison and the bobcats. The tram based experience is cool, although more physical activity would be nice. I went here a lot as a kid.

Helpful?
Thank Kelsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northwest Trek Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to Northwest Trek Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing