We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveler rating
164
14
4
6
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
164
14
4
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird feeders hummingbird room moran state park hot tub orcas island other guests blue bird dutch apple water lilies house rules back porch welcoming hosts homemade sorbet wood ducks beautiful dishes large variety of birds complete delight
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 197 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2018

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Otters Pond, in the Bluebird room, which had a lovely view, and a private bathroom right next to our room. The entire home is immaculately clean, and beautifully decorated. Guests have use of the living room downstairs, as well as the decks and hot tub. Sue and Carl are welcoming hosts and gave us excellent, detailed information about things to do on the island, as well as on San Juan Island. As everyone has mentioned, the breakfasts are outstanding. At first I wondered why breakfast was only served at 9 a.m.,but when I saw the multiple courses, all served on beautiful dishes, it made sense to just have one seating for all the guests, and the conversations were always interesting.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PaloAlto_Ca_Babs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
otterbesue, Owner at Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast of Orcas Island, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Dear Babs, we enjoyed your visit with us. We love seeing guests enjoying our other guests, you add to the ambiance. We loved seeing you enjoy your Orcas Island experiences, thanks so much for choosing Otters Pond B&B for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

The rooms are large, the bathroom was huge, the place is nestled in trees facing Otters Pond, which is largely overgrown with water lilies, They have bird feeders on the front deck that attract brightly colored birds which are fun to watch. Breakfasts are at a set time and are 5 courses, adapted to your dietary restrictions. The food is healthy and plentiful and the owner's pride and focus seems to be on her breakfast. We watched birds while sitting with our friends at breakfast. The only possible downside here is the requirement to remove shoes on entry, although you are offered slippers. Lovely place to stay on Orcas Island.

Room Tip: rooms facing the pond are lovely. We had the Swan.
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank olderfemaletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
otterbesue, Owner at Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast of Orcas Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments, I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.We know that asking our guests to remove their shoes is a bit inconvenient. We struggled with our decision to do that due to the rocks and gravel that stick into the bottom of shoes and the dents and scratches they were making in our beautiful hardwood floors. Most B&B's were originally homes, so the flooring is not as durable as a hotel. We also offer shoe covers for those with foot issues, advanced age or etc. But, many homes in the pacific northwest are shoe-less because of our rainy winter climate.. Thank you for staying with us,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2018

Sure, you have to take your shoes off but hey, no big deal! This is a great place for couples to stay. During our mid-July visit, we were among the youngest ones and we are in our early 60s - but younger couples would certainly enjoy it too. Sue, one of the longtime owners, and her personable assistants provided us with two EXCELLENT breakfasts. Yum. We enjoyed talking to two different sets of guests each of our two mornings. We also really enjoyed sitting on the deck one evening with our complimentary glasses of wine while watching the birds in the pond. We had the Hummingbird Room which was fine for our needs. Nice, large bathroom and lovely big windows which we opened at night for a wonderful CHILLY night's sleep. I also used the hot tub one afternoon which is in a lovely screened outdoor room - you can slide open the walls and watch the birds. Delightful. I recommend!

Room Tip: We were in the Hummingbird Room which, while not as large of some of the others, was perfectly adequate. It was in the house.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
otterbesue, Owner at Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast of Orcas Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Thank you for your great review! We have wonderful guests, we love it when they enjoy visiting thru breakfast and share their stories. Thank you for adding to the ambiance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018

Otter's Pond is the perfect place for a relaxing "getaway." Located next to a beautiful pond, the quiet beauty of nature surrounds you. There are always feathered visitors on the multiple bird feeders outside. Occasionally, you will see an otter or a deer. The hosts are very warm and helpful in every way. We have stayed here twice now, and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wendy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
otterbesue, Owner at Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast of Orcas Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review Wendy. We love it when our guests return, it was great visiting with you again. Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2018

This B&B has the most welcoming hosts in a serene setting. They are very knowledgeable of the island and share their favorite things to do. We tried doing most of them and was equally delighted in our adventures. I was there to do a trail race in Moran state park and although I was going to be able to do the breakfast one day. They planned ahead and made food perfect for my race day. They gave me encouraging notes and helped me with other race details. The room and bed was cozy and restful. I loved the hot tub and the view of the birds feeding and the otter pond. I will definitely be back there!

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elijah619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
otterbesue, Owner at Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast of Orcas Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review. It was delightful having you here! We loved visiting with you two over breakfast the first morning and being the "rooting team" for the amazing training and effort it took to run that marathon. We wish you the best and would love seeing you again.
Sue and Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews