We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and delicious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
phoenix, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

This was our 7th year staying at the Otter's Pond B&B. We discovered it in Sept. 2002 and have been returning every year. It is such a peaceful and beautiful place. Carl and Sue, the owners, are gracious and helpful. They are knowledgeable about everything on the island. The breakfasts are amazing! They are usually 5 courses or so with fresh local fruits and Carl's famous coffee. We are so full we don't eat lunch! The location makes it easy to get to Eastsound for dinner or Moran Park for a hike.
We look forward to our trip every year. It's like going to our 2nd home.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aspenlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    13
    4
    5
    9
See reviews for
10
136
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tri-Cities, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

My husband and I chose Otter's Pond B&B to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and we spent several days enjoying the comfort, serenity and beauty of this B&B and Orcas Island. The breakfasts at Otter's Pond are absolutely incredible. The innkeepers were very welcoming and went out of their way to make us feel at home. This is the perfect place for adults to get away from a hectic life and relax.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBHeron4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

We were only to stay one night - we have 2 babies at home, so this was a rare treat. We chose Otters Pond based on the reviews and the online menu for the breakfast. After all, we love food, and the idea of eating one of their magnificently reviewed breakfasts without having our kids screaming sounded glorious. Let me be clear - the place itself was very nice and clean, but our food was way below expectations and I think I know why. Somehow we ended up staying there on a weekend where the main hosts, the ones everyone raves about in the reviews, were out of town and we got a sub. She was nice and very hospitable, but the breakfast, which looked great on paper, was wayyy below the standards established in the reviews. We had our suspicions when the "homemade" lemonade turned out to be Crystal Lite with lemons floating into it - both of us can taste nutrasweet a mile away and can't stand the stuff. But we were still excited for breakfast; after all, it sounded delicious. It wasn't: the bacon was burnt to a dark, virtually inedible crisp, then there was a type of boiled crumble with mealy, unripe peaches, and a "chili cheese egg puff" made with canned, sliced chiles in a thick, rubbery pile of cooked to death egg and melted cheese. At least I thought we would have fresh baked goods (after reading the reviewers rave), but instead we had scones that were a few days old - stale and dry.
Again, the place was beautiful and meticulous, and our substitute host was very sweet. The only complaint, was the food, which was a big to us because it motivated us to choose the B & B in the first place. Maybe we would have had better luck with the original chefs...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivatommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotter, owner at Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 19, 2009
Most innkeepers take infrequent, usually short term breaks sometimes even in peak travel times. Following our committment to superior services and guest accommodations, we have retained the services of an outstanding innsitter and she has been with us during the past ten years. Not one complaint about our wonderful breakfasts. After receiving this complaint we scoured the guestbooks--only positive comments about the quality of our breakfasts and guest services. Then we received a telephone call from a guest who was here at the very same morning as the comlainant and she wanted to contact our innsitter to express her gratitude for the fine services and breakfasts. Alas, we are not perfect, but the compaint seems more based on preferences rather than quality. We believe in continuous improvement and we urge guests to do what we do and that is to provide immediate feedback to the host when expectations are not being met otherwise we are unable to reach our goal that all our guests have the best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, B.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

Otters Pond B&B is highly recommended. What a lovely location and easily accessible to everything. The pond was beautiful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts were world class!!

Kathi and Sid

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathi51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

I can't say enough about our stay. From the bald eagle we saw on the pond (March is Eagle season), to our comfortable room, to the elegant breakfasts, to the way that we were made to feel so welcome, this was probably one of the best places we have ever stayed. It is also close to not only Eastsound and it's amazing restaurants, but the better areas of the island for hiking and sight seeing, Moran State Park and Obstruction Pass. The Inn keepers also recommended some wonderful places to both eat and see. Will definitely stay there the next time we visit.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike14nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

Sue and Carl are the gracious hosts at this wonderful B&B. The setting is beautiful, with bird feeders that attract evening grosbeaks, pine siskins, black-headed grosbeaks, rufous hummingbirds, and more. The hot tub with Japanese sliding screens is positioned so you can watch the sunset over the pond from the hot tub. Breakfast are multi-course and incredible! Eggs benedict with smoked salmon Carl caught in Alaska, apple Dutch babies, home-made granola....
Everything in the inn is ship-shape. We have been in so many B&Bs with burned out light bulbs, drippy faucets, squeaky beds, dead outlets, blinds or window locks that didn't work - everything here is top working order. We loved the special touches like fresh flowers in our room, a great selection of CDs and books, even chocolate almonds for a before-bed snack. Sue and Carl know the island well and can guide you to the best restaurants, whale watch tours, etc. They go the extra mile to make sure each guest has a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orcas Island WA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2009

Just finishing our third visit, and we can't wait to come back again. The inn is located on a beautiful pond, so we've seen many varieties of ducks and small birds, bald eagles, deer, even an otter or two.

The hosts are delightful, and have had great suggestions for places to explore. The inn is very close to Moran Park, a great spot for both novice and experienced hikers, along with fishing, boating; during this stay we even had great fun renting a paddle boat and exploring Cascade Lake. It's just a few miles to cafes and restaurants, and the island has several pottery studios/shops that are also great fun to visit.

The rooms are absolutely beautiful, whether it's one with a garden or a pond view. The only sounds at night are the frogs, and guests are awakened in the morning by sounds of the birds in the trees and enjoying the many bird feeders. The second floor reading nook, with an excellent collection of both fiction and non-fiction, is the perfect spot to spend a rainy afternoon 'pretending' to read (but actually keeping one eye on the pond to spot new winged visitors).

And the breakfasts! Everything from homemade fresh fruit sorbet, to fluffy egg dishes with salmon Carl caught in Alaska and smoked himself.

We'll be back again, and again, and again...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
3.1 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
6.3 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
5.4 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#1 of 11 in Orcas Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
11.2 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast

Property: Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast
Address: 100 Tomihi Dr, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-8567
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1st class lodging set in a naturalist's Monet painting on a large wetland/pond at the base of Mt. Constitution. A birder's paradise. An adult getaway, rooms are decorated with an upscale, comfortable flair and gourmet breakfasts are served in the dining room and deck overlooking the pond. Free WiFi. Notebook computer available for e-mail. Hot tub. Island restaurants and Eastsound Village amenities are within four miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otters Pond Bed And Breakfast Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing