We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A very nice B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Went here with my sweetheart in mid-July 2014. We had a very pleasant time. The grounds around the inn are attractive, some parts forested, some planted with flowers. The deck in back provides a good view of the pond. Many birds — kingfishers, red-wing blackbirds, nuthatches, chickadees, flickers, hummingbirds etc. — are attracted to the pond and to the feeders in the back yard. Deer come right up to the property and graze, which explains why the place is well fenced — there would soon be no gardens otherwise! We did not see any otters, but there was evidence of there presence in the pond.

The room was lovely, clean and tidy, the bed comfortable, the bathroom with every amenity one expects in such lodgings. The only off-putting thing — and this was just at first — was finding out room keys are not provided. Guests are "on the honor system." The one key we were shown, stashed in a bowl on a bookshelf in the hall, was for the linen closet, not the room. We found this out the hard way, locking the room door behind us, only to find we could not get back in! This was one of several unusual "house rules" that were a bit confusing at first (others involved the bed pillows and the removal of shoes).

However, these were easy to follow once they were clarified, and we did not let the minor misunderstanding cloud our stay. And the breakfasts more than made up for it! Sumptuous five-course meals, both lovely to look at and delicious to consume.

Though it's set off in its own little pocket of forest, the inn makes a good base for exploring Orcas Island. Any number of attractions — Moran State Park, the Rosario Resort, the Lambiel Museum, the town of Eastsound, a winery, a craft brewery, various artist colonies, Orcas Village, whale-watching cruises and other water activities, to name just a few possibilities — can be reached in minutes. I should mention that the inn's staff are very helpful when it comes to making reservations. Because there's no cell phone service on the island, these usually have to be done through the inn's land line. They did so for us cheerfully and efficiently.

In sum, a very nice B&B. The only caveat: since this place operates a little differently from most lodgings, I would advise making sure you understand the house rules as soon as you arrive.

Room Tip: Some reviewers here seem to have had problems with wifi. I found that of no concern; for what little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    13
    4
    5
    9
See reviews for
10
136
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paintsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Otters Pond has a lot of things going for it. While the overall experience was too stuffy for us, I think it is the perfect place for a certain type of traveler. Here are the highs and lows of our two night stay:

Highs:

-Pretty, serene setting. The B&B is located on (or maybe just next to?) a nature preserve. It is quiet and you can do some wildlife observing right from the back porch.
- Convenient jumping off spot for adventure as the B&B is nearly next door to Moran State Park.
-Reasonable price compared to other B&B's on the island. We took the smallest room and, at $125/night including breakfast, we thought it was a fair deal.

-Was lovely spending time in the hot tub.

-Good coffee at breakfast.

Lows:
-After being shown our room, we went out for dinner. When we came back we discovered that the comforter on our bed was gone. At first we thought we had been robbed - but nothing else was missing. I guess the hosts decided we didn't need a blanket... and so they went back in our room while we were gone and took it. We were only gone for about an hour and had left stuff on our bed. It really weirded us out that they would go in our room when were not there. With the exception of cleaning, I don't think it's right that they go in and rearrange things when you're gone; you paid for the room and for the privacy of the room.. Even weirder, we Saw them and talked to them later that night and they didn't mention anything. Just odd.

-Not overly accommodating. I respect that they also live on the property and need to draw lines between business and personal life to maintain sanity, but they really did not go the extra mile to meet the guests needs. I needed WiFi to do an important job interview over Skype. Over the phone, the male owner told me he thought the WiFi would be good enough. We did a test the night before the interview and the WiFi was not strong enough, they said "it's too bad you're not staying in this other room, the WiFi is much stronger there." They jokingly said I could do the interview in the dining room and they could throw a sheet over me for privacy --why didn't they just let me spend 20 minutes in a part of the house with good wifi? I had to drive into town and sit on the ground outside of a public library in my dress clothes to do the interview.

-They never emptied our room trash cans. They were tiny and overflowed. I think we were in our room when they came around to do room service but, since clearly they have no problems coming into your room at odd times, they could have come back later, but they did not.

-Our room wasn't in the main house, but instead in building next door. Despite being right next to a lovely deck with access to the garden and hot tub, we were not permitted to use the deck. Instead we had to put on our shoes, go next door, type in the code, put on our slippers, and go outside to use that deck. Lame.

-They gave us incorrect information about restaurants. Luckily we didn't believe them and called and got the real info. They also recommended restaurants like the Rosario which are notoriously overpriced and subpar for what you get.

-They advertise their "5 course breakfasts" ...what they don't tell you is that a "course" is really a couple of slices of fruit or flavored ice crystals that are supposed to be sorbet. I like savory breakfast but both mornings the food was predominantly sweet: sorbet, fruit, coffee cake, etc. etc. At least the first morning there was an egg puff for SOME protein. And, to be fair, the egg puff was delicious. The menu for the second day included NO savory items and no protein so we didn't even bother to go. Free breakfast was a major reason we decided to stay at a B&B vs. other lodging options so this was disappointing. However, there a lot of good restaurants on Orcas so we were able to get a proper breakfast elsewhere.

-Their office is right next to the kitchen/living room/common area for guests. So, if you want to sit there and chat freely, just be aware that they are probably a few feet away listening.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
otterbesue, Owner at Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We are surprised by the negative overall tone of your review. You both seemed to be very happy with your stay and when you departed you mentioned that to us. From your notes we agree that Otters Pond B&B was not a good match for you. We leave it in the minds of other readers of these reviews to form an overall opinion of our B&B based on the many positive comments we continue to receive. In the future you should let an innkeeper know at the moment of your issues so that your concerns can be addressed right away. Most innkeepers are like us in that we try to provide terrific services and value for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
141 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

What a great experience! Sue and Carl are very friendly and incredibly knowledgeable about everything on the islands. They helped us check in, explained the rules of the house and gave us tips on what restaurants to have dinner at (they have a menu book at the house which was incredibly helpful to get an idea of what you might be in the mood for that night), how to get around, what are good hikes, etc. Their hospitality and service is superb.

The b&b is located next to a lovely pond, and you will definitely see hummingbirds around there, as well as orioles and all sorts of colorful winged friends. Photographers heaven, for sure.

Breakfast is a 5 course meal, be there on time and enjoy every bite - it is delicious.

We had a marvelous time and would love to come back for a longer stay!

P.S. Bring a swimsuit, they have a hot tub!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuliya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Carl and Sue are the greatest hosts. Otters Pond is a fantastic bed and breakfast. The breakfast is fantastic. Birds and other animals are beautiful. Location is close to Moran State Park. My wife and I highly recommend to adults looking for quiet and peace. Robes are the best and spa is great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 515Falcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a romantic weekend over Memorial Day. It was delightful.

The location is gorgeous - a beautifully landscaped garden beside a lily-covered pond, just on the edge of Moran State Park. Our room was the luxurious Swan. It has a full view over the pond, a great comfortable big that's big enough to get lost in, and its own private shower room. Everything was in pristine condition.

The (shared) hot tub (outdoors, but enclosed by shoji-type screens) was pleasantly warm rather than socring hot, and has the same lovely view across the pond. The breakfasts were elegant affairs with a series of delicious dishes. The always-available fruit-infused water was a treat.

The owners were gracious and welcoming, and gave us great advice about local restaurants.

It's a quiet place. It's better suited to couples than families or larger groups. The elegant furnishings aren't likely to appeal to Ace Hotel hipsters, or W minimalists. You'll have to take off your shoes, and put on your complimentary slippers when you come inside. The carpet is light colored and squishes softly beneath your feet. It's that sort of place.

Otters Pond is both a lovely place to be and a great foothold from which to explore the rest of Orcas Island. Of several places that I've stayed on the island, this was quite the loveliest.

We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed at Otters Pond for two nights over Memorial Day weekend and we had a wonderful time. Sue and Carl are lovely people and go out of their way to make your stay perfect. When I first booked our reservation, Sue asked me if we had any food allergies or preferences - Otters Pond serves a 5-course breakfast every morning! The breakfast is absolutely delicious.

We absolutely loved Otters Pond. The grounds and the home are beautiful, and the rooms are lovely. We stayed in the Blue Heron room and it was extremely comfortable, not to mention immaculately clean. The main building overlooks a lily pond, which is very pretty. Another really nice feature is that they have a hot tub for guests that also overlooks the pond.

I highly recommend staying here - Sue and Carl care deeply about it, which really shows.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed there for two nights in a journey and we maybe had our best experience. The Bedroom was beautiful and the breakfast sumptuous. Moreover the keepers are very very kind and if you love birds, they will be proud to help you recognizing the ones that come eating seeds by the pond!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthieu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
3.1 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
6.3 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
5.4 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#1 of 11 in Orcas Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
11.2 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast

Property: Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast
Address: 100 Tomihi Dr, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-8567
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1st class lodging set in a naturalist's Monet painting on a large wetland/pond at the base of Mt. Constitution. A birder's paradise. An adult getaway, rooms are decorated with an upscale, comfortable flair and gourmet breakfasts are served in the dining room and deck overlooking the pond. Free WiFi. Notebook computer available for e-mail. Hot tub. Island restaurants and Eastsound Village amenities are within four miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otters Pond Bed And Breakfast Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing