We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 12 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2008

My husband and I needed and escape and WOW! Otters Pond turned out to be the perfect choice! We loved our clean and comfortable room with the very romantic fireplace. The fresh spring tulips which the innkeeper placed in our room reminded us of the beautiful days to come. The inn has a beautiful view of the pond...we watched several eagles and other birds from a telescope that Carl and Sue had placed for the guests to use.

Carl and Sue and the best innkeepers we have ever had. They just seemed to know what we wanted and when. The breakfast was lovingly prepared, all homemade and served on beautiful dishes.

You cannot go wrong with this inn! I look forward to my next visit to this truly exceptional bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 185 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Otters Pond B&B in Oct 2007 and loved it. We stayed in the Goldfinch Room. It is a beautiful room and we really liked that it has a private entrance. It is a very romantic setting, perfect for honeymooners. All creature comforts were available: luxurious bath robes, cd player with a nice selection of relaxing music, and a fireplace. The inn is beautifully kept. The breakfasts were incredible. First class service with dishes tailored for a gourmet palate. It was a wonderful start to our days in the San Juan Islands. This is by far one of the best B&B's out there. It is right on a small pond with a beautiful view and a great place to watch for birds and other wildlife. The grounds are beautifully landscaped creating a very inviting and tranquil get away. It is right before the entrance to the Moran State Park which was great for us because we really enjoyed hiking and the view from the top of the mountain.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank Luv2getawayFLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2007

Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast is a lovely place in an excellent location. It is a short distance from Moran State Park and not far from fine dining in East Sound. Carl and Sue are wonderful hosts who pride themselves on the exceptional breakfasts that they serve. We appreciated the fresh flowers that awaited us in our room, and delighted to find our bed turned down each night. Sue is a marvelous cook and has a real eye and skill as a gardener. Carl is a real gentleman and a very caring fellow. We could not have felt more welcome or more at home! This B & B is surrounded by beautiful gardens that are a sight for sore eyes. The setting of this Bed and Breakfast is wonderful. It nestles in the woods a comfortable distance off the road to Moran State Park and is situated on the shore of a pleasant pond filled with lilly pads and a wide variety of birds and water fowl.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jnichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2007

Bravo! This is, without question, the most serene, friendly, delicious bed and breakfast my wife and I have ever visited. For our 10th anniversary, we decided we wanted to get away to a quite, high-service, peaceful retreat.

Someone recommended Otter's Pond on Orcas Island to us and we immediately booked a reservation for three nights. I am not exaggerating when I say that it was the most relaxing 4 days my wife and I have ever spent on vacation. Carl and Sue saw to our every need. We would sit out on their back porch looking over the pond, watching the birds, reading our books and eating the most delicious breakfasts ever. The food was so good that we bought a cookbook that Sue put together for guests.

We stayed in the Swan room, which overlooks the pond and sits nestled behind a small entry-way library on the second floor of the house. The room was elegant, simple and roomy. The bathroom was large enough for both of us to get around comfortably at the same time.

The location of Otter's pond is ideal, as you are only about 100 yards from the entrance to Moran State Park, which is the entrance to get to the amazing Mt. Constitution. Eastsound is a stone's throw away, so finding excellent restaurants and shopping is a breeze.

The price was slightly higher than what we paid elsewhere (in Deer Harbor) and boy is it worth the difference. The extra few dollars gets you a five course breakfast to die for and the quiet serenity you might be looking for. The hot tub looks out over the pond and is a great way to spend the evening after kayaking, hiking or just relaxing.

We will return to Orcas simply to go back to Otter's Pond.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Sangfroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

We have stayed at the Otter's Pond B and B almost once or twice a year since it opened. I am writing this now, because we contiue to recommended it to so many friends who want to exprience what we have, on this lovely island - and especially this wonderful B and B. This is a perfect retreat from the hectic world as you are submerged into this natural setting where the inn keepers treat you like pampered guests. The rooms are beautiful, quiet and prisine. We have enjoyed the breakfasts so much that I purchased the B and B's cookbook and use it often (the Roasted Plums are to die for...) Carl and Sue (the inn keepers) have a wealth of knowledge about the island, cultural events, restaurants, and opportunities to get up close and personal to nature (whale watches, kyaking, hiking, etc.) This is our favorite B and B (and we are world travelers who stay in B and B's) and the one that is our standard by which we judge all others. Sadly, not many meet the excellence of customer care that has been a constant at Otter's Pond. Try it - you will love it as much as we do.

Stayed: March 2006
1  Thank OrcasVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

Otter's Pond is a wonderful B &B located on wooded property on the edge of a lovely wildlife pond. The rooms are spacious and clean and careful attention to detail and comfort is apperant everywhere. The hosts Carl and Sue are there to help you find all the special things that make your stay on Orcas memorable.
Sue's breakfasts are a gourmet treat and definately something to look forward to each morning. The pond is ever changing and fascinating ...one morning the early mist rising off the pond with the sun breaking through was a moment that could only be described as "natures magic". I would reccommend a stay here to everyone who loves nature, birds, fabulous food and gracious, informative hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank whidbeytraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2007

We began staying at Otter's Pond B & B in the summer of 2001 and have been back many times since then. From the very first visit, we were enchanted with everything about this inn--its cleanliness, its decor, the beautiful pond and deck out back, the wonderful breakfasts (creamy polenta and Dutch apple pancakes are my favorites), and the hosts, Sue and Carl, who have become our friends over the years. We look forward to each return visit for the quiet, the solitude, cozy rooms, friendly visits with our hosts, and the home-away-from home feeling we get while there. Sue and Carl have high standards for their inn and, thus, there are some reasonable house rules, such as leaving your shoes outside and using the slippers provided indoors. We have found that following the house rules help our hosts maintain the cleanliness and enjoyability that we and others enjoy during our visits. Otter's Pond has become the standard by which we judge every other B & B at which we stay.

Stayed: June 2007
3  Thank Worrygrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
6.3 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
269 reviews
3.1 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
5.7 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#3 of 11 in Orcas Island
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
161 reviews
11.2 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
476 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast

Address: 100 Tomihi Dr, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-8567
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Price Range: $224 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1st class lodging set in a naturalist's Monet painting on a large wetland/pond at the base of Mt. Constitution. A birder's paradise. An adult getaway, rooms are decorated with an upscale, comfortable flair and gourmet breakfasts are served in the dining room and deck overlooking the pond. Free WiFi. Notebook computer available for e-mail. Hot tub. Island restaurants and Eastsound Village amenities are within four miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otters Pond Bed And Breakfast Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing