We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We would highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island
Save
You added Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 13 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We would highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

What a cool place! Jill greeted us when we arrived, immediately making us feel at home. We stayed in the Stellar's Jay, perfect for two couples or mom, dad and kids. Breakfast meals were wonderful with fresh, local fruit, a very nice entree and home baked goods. Jill and Charles are very knowledgeable about activities and hiking spots. They directed us to the right places. The beach is a short walk down the road. We would go back in an instant!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
87
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in June 2012 and had a wonderful experience. We were expecting to be pleased based on all of the great reviews, and they did not disappoint. We arrived late in the evening due to not getting on the ferry we had expected, but this was not a problem...Jill cheerfully greeted us at 10pm and ensured that we had everything we needed before leaving us for the night. We were even able to take a dip in the hot tub, which had a sign-up sheet to ensure all guest an opportunity to use privately. The breakfasts were absolutely fantastic--amazing food. We liked the rhubarb cake so much that they even offered us another helping. We very much enjoyed the conversation with Charles and Jill as we were finishing breakfast, as they have a love for the islands and are very helpful with suggestions for activities. I would highly recommend Kangaroo House for any couple looking for a relaxing getaway!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We could not have imagined a better getaway than our recent long weekend at Kangaroo House. Charles and Jill run an amazing bed & breakfast. The building itself is incredibly charming and full of character, and they've developed it into a comfortable and welcoming space. The breakfasts are scrumptious, satisfying and full of local and/or organic ingredients. Beyond the food, the real secret ingredient to what makes Kangaroo House so great is Charles and Jill. They are exceptional hosts, who are involved with their community and doing interesting things, such as growing their own food. When they found out about our own passion for gardening and permaculture, they invited us along to a local farm-to-table dinner that was an evening to remember. We enjoyed sharing this incredible meal with them and getting to meet other locals. We went to Orcas Island looking for a relaxing break from our daily lives and wound up with so much more, thanks to Charles and Jill (and Campbell, too)!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bocadey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Beautiful historic rambler in a quiet location about a mile north of Eastsound village. Extremely comfortable accommodation in a large suite of rooms (Steller's Jay), and beautiful common areas. Large gardens/patios with a reservable (inc. nocturnal) outdoor hot-tub! Jill & Charles are wonderful hosts, and prepare delicious cooked b'fasts served to your table overlooking the garden. If there's a better place to stay on Orcas, i've yet to see it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claw1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Had really wanted to post this much sooner ... We spent 3 nights in late October at the Kangaroo House on Orcas Island. Charles was so accommodating in setting up our nightly ritual of cozying up by the fireplace by getting it all set. We just had to light the match left for us. What a great property, with oodles of history, great caretakers (Charles and Jill) who are in their own right history buffs and an atmosphere of legends and spirits.. The breakfasts were delicious and diverse. It is close, walking distance to the town of Eastsound. We also lucked out on our trip up mt. Constitution, the skies cleared giving us fantastic views. The San Juan islands are a gem, summer is probably ideal, however off season for us was just perfect! We highly recommend the Kangaroo House

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent 3 nights on Orcas at the Kangaroo. It is a charming, beautifully maintained home. There is parking available. Tea and coffee is available all day in the living room. There is comfortable furniture and lots of books, magazines and games as well as a lovely porch to enjoy. It is walking distance to town and the beach. Charles breakfasts are wonderful and unique. In fact he shared a recipe which I have made since returning home. The beds are very comfortable and the baths well appointed. We also appreciated the fact that there was no TV. Made it a peaceful, quiet escape.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seniorvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My best friend and I stayed here when visiting beautiful Orcas Island! We sure wish we would have stayed more than 1 night!
The Kangaroo house is absolutely beautiful! So historic, so vintage! We had the Northern Flicker Suite which has 2 beds. So comfy! It was nice to be able to open up the vintage windows at night while sleeping.
Charles was so nice and greeted us in the beautiful foyer as soon as we arrived! Jill was fantastic too as both of them served a delicious breakfast!! The dishes were so unique and wonderful!
The Inn is walkable to town, we jogged into town in the morning and got coffee then walked back to the Inn. We didn't walk at night because it was really dark, didn't want to trip and fall! LOL!
Stay here if you want a wonderful experience on Orcas Island!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitteakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
1.0 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
7.2 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
13.2 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
3.9 mi away
Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast
4.7 mi away
Rosario Resort and Spa
Rosario Resort and Spa
#2 of 5 in Eastsound
4.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island

Property: Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island
Address: 1459 N Beach Rd, PO Box 334, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-5124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Craftsman Bungalow was built as a vacation hotel by a stone mason in 1907. In a later incarnation, colorful resident and steamship captain, "Cap" Ferris brought a baby orphaned kangaroo to live with him and his family. The locals dubbed the sprawling lodge the "Kangaroo House" Since then it has become a B&B and is the longest continually operating bed & breakfast in the San Juan Islands. We have 5 Rooms/Suites, all with Private Bathrooms, King or Queen beds and some with additional beds and DVD players/movies, Free WiFi, Garden Hot Tub, and an exceptional, filling, breakfast made from scratch including wholesome, local fruits, meats, vegetables and herbs from Orcas Island's own farms and gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast On Orcas Island Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing