We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island
Nearby Hotels
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island(Eastsound)(Great Value!)
$91
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Beach Resort(Eastsound)(Great Value!)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deer Harbor Inn(Deer Harbor)(Great Value!)
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orcas Hotel(Orcas)(Great Value!)
$194
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pebble Cove Farm(Orcas Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
175
10
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
175
10
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bwonderful hostshot tuborganic ingredientsgoldfinch roomthree coursesorcas islandother guestssitting roomreading roomfront porchan extra bedhighly recommend a stayparadise on earthlocal airportensure privacyvery comfortable king bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 189 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for the weekend at Kangaroo House. It is a beautiful old home in a good location - an easy walk to the beach or town. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was not large but was very clean. Charles was very helpful recommending restaurants and making reservations. The breakfasts were delicious. We would recommend Kangaroo House and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed only one night at the Kangaroo House B&B, but loved every minute of it. Charles called to let us know we could check in early, if we wanted, and we did, enjoying the afternoon on the beautiful outside deck, watching birds with the resident cat, Angus. Angus was a sweetie. When we returned in the evening, we hunkered down in the living room with our books, visiting with other guests. Though we didn't' use the hot tub, it was very nicely located, and many other guests did use it. Being a gardener, I appreciated walking through the garden, certified a backyard habitat for wildlife by the state of Washington.

Our room was beautiful and comfortable, we slept great. Nice amenities like robes, etc. But the real showstopper was the wonderful breakfast prepared by Charles. I'd put it on par with any upscale restaurant.

I'd definitely recommend this place for anyone who'd like to be close, but not close to Eastsound on Orcas Island.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OregonGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Kangaroo house is a sweet little b & b within walking distance to the beach and Eastsound. The breakfast was rustic gourmet and delicious. The owners were attentive, knowledgable but not overly present. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oaksusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Kangaroo House! Charles took great care of us and served breakfasts that you would expect to find in a high-end restaurant. He also gave us lots of tips about where to eat and what to do, all of which were excellent! The bed was incredibly comfortable. Loved the hot tub in the garden as well. The location is excellent, centrally located on the island and very close to downtown area with shopping and restaurants. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABier22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Excellent 2 night stay at the Kangaroo House on Orcas. Good location just outside of Eastsound (about a mile walk to town, less to the north shore beach) about 15 miles from the ferry terminal. We stayed in the Nuthatch room which was nice and cozy and had an extra bed which culd be used for a child.

A couple highlights of the stay were the wrap around porch with plenty of shady tress and hummingbirds, along with a private hot tub and bike storage area.

The highlight of the stay is the great 3 course breakfasts by Charlie, including breakfast dessert such as Marzipan cake. Veggie and vegan friendly breakfasts as well.

Overall a great place to stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FCskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews