We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sublime experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island
Ranked #1 of 13 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sublime experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

I have never posted a review of a B&B before. We've stayed at many over the years including in Canada and throughout the U.S. Most have been very enjoyable experiences. However, our stay at Kangaroo House this past week borders on the sublime and so I have to post here so that others may share in our fabulous experience.

The Inn is over 100 years old and has a character to it that you seldom experience. The rooms were wonderful, the common living room and study exuded a warmth that soaked you to the marrow. The grounds were impeccably maintained and thoroughly enjoyable. We have experienced these in other bed and breakfasts and that's why we often choose to stay at these inns rather than hotels.

But what sets this place apart are the owners. Charles and Jill. While we only had the pleasure of meeting and getting to know Charles as Jill was away during our stay, we also felt that we began to know Jill as well through her recipes that Charles lovingly prepared and through our talks with Charles and other guests. The warmth of the place just draws you in and leaves you feeling special.

As a foodie, I would be extremely remiss in neglecting a review. My stars, the food was better than any restaurant I've been to. I suppose what made it so special is not really knowing what we would be having for breakfast rather than ordering a favorite meal. Each day the food was clearly lovingly prepared and artistically presented - it was a sensorial delight to say the least. Charles shops daily the night before to find the freshest ingredients for the next day's breakfast.

We usually only come over to Orcas Island every few years, but based on our stay here last week we have already reserved our next stay at the Kangaroo House later this year.

Another feature we liked is that it is near Eastsound so that you can walk into town on a groomed trail and/or also take this same trail from the Kangaroo House to North Beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickSteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
98
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

This was our first stay at a B&B and they were able to set a very high baseline. We stayed in the Northern Flicker Suite which was spacious enough for our family of three. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was on the smaller sider, but met our very basic needs. There were several other guests staying and there was no issue with noise from adjacent rooms. Didn't hurt that the Northern Flicker is at the end of the hall. The gracious hosts (ie owners) are well suited for this buisness. The provided breakfasts were very tasty and they were sure to accomodate everyone's stated food preferences/allergies. My wife would have stayed another week if she could have. Should we return to Orcas Island the Kangaroo House will be our choice for accomodations.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhoenixFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

The Flicker suite was very homey and quiet. Bedding was high end and comfy . The adjoining lounge room was fairly spacious and could be used to invite a couple to talk about the beauty of East Sound.The one hundred year history of the house was very evident in every corner.

Our hosts were very helpful in all areas and pointed out the secluded setting of the large and spotlessly clean hot tub.

Breakfasts were healthy and unique . Our only regret was that the kangaroo was visiting Seattle for its annual check-up.

Charles and Jill deserve the award for " best inn" on Orcas Island

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 919Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Chose this bed and breakfast for a one-night stay, mainly for its convenient location and reasonable prices. Got the Chickadee room (all other rooms were booked), which was small, but neat.

Got good advice from Charles both on dining options and on hiking trails. The library and its selection of board games kept us busy in the evening. Breakfast was small, but tasty.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ejain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Kangaroo House B and B made our Orcas Island weekend getaway incredible! We stayed in the Northern Flicker suite, complete with beautiful linens and a nice little sitting area with a TV and DVD's. (although we had no time to watch TV!) The location is perfect, close enough to downtown Eastsound, easily walkable if you want to explore and very close if you want to drive. The breakfast, the hot tub, the hosts (Charles and Jill) all PERFECT! The food was gourmet 5 stars....each day I thought, it can't be as good as yesterday, when are they going to get tired and serve us muffins from the supermarket. NEVER happened! Everything from scratch and perfectly presented with wonderful attention to detail! (I love that) Orcas Island proved to be a fabulous destination for mountain biking in Moran State park. Maybe not for everyone, but perfect for me! Lots of hiking trails too, and gorgeous vistas and lakes. We ate dinner at the Shipyard Inn - SUPER good and the Leaf Cafe, also wonderful. Lunch at Cafe Mia, crazy good fresh made food and then we went shopping at Olga's and the book store. There were plenty of small shops to keep us occupied and entertained. I will return to Orcas and I will stay again at Kangaroo Inn, and recommend it to everyone without hesitation.

Room Tip: I like the Northern Flicker Suite because it has a separate sitting area with TV/DVD and 2 large bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We needed a little overnight getaway from the hustle and bustle of what we call everyday life, so I did my research online to find the best place on Orcas Island. I originally had another B&B selected but this one kept pulling me in online. I read the reviews and something about it pulled me in. Wow was I glad. Now I have been to a few B&B's but my friend has not. She was a little nervous and didn't know what to expect. When we got there Charles was there to greet us and show us around. We stayed in the Steller's Jay Suite and what a wonderful place. There was a seperate sitting/changing room and a very nice bathroom. Not huge by any means but very charming. The bed was so comfortable and we loved the little touches throughout the suite. We also enjoyed all the books in every room. We took a late night dip in the hot tub (ask for 2 flashlights and a lantern as there are no lights or lighted pathway, also bring flipflops as you have to walk on dirt and grass to get there). The hot tub was pretty secluded and very comfy. In the morning we woke up to a great breakfast with fresh fruit, apple and rhubarb crisp, and a German (I think it was German) hashbrown thing stuffed with herbs and cheese with a side of sweet baked bacon. That's the highlight of this B&B for me, getting the opportunity to try something new and enjoy their delicious breakfast. We also loved watching all the birds feeding right outside the window. Overall we really enjoyed our time here and my friend is a B&B fan. She already wants to plan another trip here. Charles and Jill are wonderful hosts and we will be back. Btw we ate at New Leaf Cafe for dinner (crab cakes, salmon dinner, and seafood pot were all perfectly made- we highly recommend them).

Room Tip: Steller's Jay Suite has a sitting room that separates the bedroom from the bathroom. It is locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrcruz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
320 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Charles and Jill make their B&B their home, so it is like visiting them to stay there. The greatest stars in the USA are out at their hot tub late and night. My husband loved watching the planes take off in daytime, too. Walk to Eastsound or to the community center and then drive to Moran and Olga. Lots of advice and good food from the owners as if they're your long lost cousins. We also met some international guest there and got to talk to Charles about architecture and the history of the house. LOVELY.

Room Tip: Each room is named for a bird, so pick your favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
1.0 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
7.1 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
6.1 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#1 of 11 in Orcas Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
7.9 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
13.2 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island

Property: Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island
Address: 1459 N Beach Rd, PO Box 334, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-5124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Craftsman Bungalow was built as a vacation hotel by a stone mason in 1907. In a later incarnation, colorful resident and steamship captain, "Cap" Ferris brought a baby orphaned kangaroo to live with him and his family. The locals dubbed the sprawling lodge the "Kangaroo House" Since then it has become a B&B and is the longest continually operating bed & breakfast in the San Juan Islands. We have 5 Rooms/Suites, all with Private Bathrooms, King or Queen beds and some with additional beds and DVD players/movies, Free WiFi, Garden Hot Tub, and an exceptional, filling, breakfast made from scratch including wholesome, local fruits, meats, vegetables and herbs from Orcas Island's own farms and gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast On Orcas Island Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing