We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 12 Eastsound B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 17, 2007

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided to book two nights at the Blue Heron on our trip to the San Juan Islands. It's a cozy B&B with three rooms and an awesome location right across the road from a little dock where you can walk out at night and stargaze.

The innkeepers Bogdan and Carol were incredibly gracious and hospitable hosts with lots of helpful hints on what to do while on Orcas Island. The resident pet dog is also free for guests to play fetch with in the front yard :) Our room was pretty cozy and had a private bathroom across the hall, and it came very reasonably priced. Breakfast in the morning varied nicely from soufle to banana waffles and snacks were always available in the afternoon.

The Blue Heron was definetely a part of what made Orcas our favorite of the San Juan Islands (Orcas Island Pottery and whale watching being the other parts).

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank gulllible1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 94 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2007

The Blue Heron is a very nice and affordable place to stay on Orcas Island. We enjoyed our stay there immensely.

Carol is an excellent hostess. She was very accommodating to our outdoor activity schedule.

Enjoy the bay views and tranquility of the B&B.

V & J

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank msworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2006

My mother and I just spent 5 nights at the Blue Heron and though we did not do extensive research- we read their website and reserved by phone- we felt extremely lucky to have found them!
The house is very quaint and attractive and right on the water and there is a suspended wicker chair on the front porch where we could look out on the water and chat with our hosts or other guests or in solitude. Such a treat these days!
Carol and Bogdan have realized a dream of theirs in the Blue Heron so they put their hearts into making it perfect. Carol gives a lot of attention to food so that the breakfast is always delicious and varied (sometimes to good for the dieter!) and she puts out some snack food (cookies, brownies) every afternoon. They are flexible about breakfast hours and the early riserers can make their own coffee or keep food in a small refrigerator upstairs. My mother and I always enjoyed a glass of wine and crackers on our private balcony overlooking the bay.
Last but not least, they provided us with extremely useful information about the island and things to do. Orcas is a magical island and the Blue Heron a wonderful way to discover it.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank easterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2006

We just returned from a stay with Carol and Bogdan at their Blue Heron B&B and got such excellent treatment we had to write about it. We are middle class citizens, not used to luxury, but the out of the ordinary care they dsiplayed throughout our stay made us sure that our next trip to Orcas Island will be at their place as headquarters for the whole trip.

The breakfast she served was outstanding, peach stuffed french toast, and all kinds of fruit. It was far beyond anything else we have ever seen anywhere and we have been a lot of places, all over the US, some of Canada and Mexico and around the world and are thoroughly familiar with the Pacific Northwest.

3  Thank usedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bremerton, Washington
12
Reviewed June 18, 2006

This B & B was absolutely terrific!

Hosts: Carol and Bogdan were great folks to chat with - and their dog Pulaski was a great ambassador who played non-stop with our 17 pound terrier.

Food: Top-notch - the brownies were to die for!

Rooms: We stayed in the Pelican, and only left to go to the Summer Solstice parade. The private deck was fantastic - and we fell asleep with the door open to the sound of lapping waves.

B'n B itself - great little fireplace, very comfortable porch swing, and two bicycles ready for riding. The decor was welcoming and comfortable - without making you feel like you were in a museum.

Two thumbs up - thank you!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Elma, Washington
11
Reviewed June 8, 2006

Our experience at the Blue Heron was wonderful! Our room was exceptional, overlooking the bay and marina.
The food was wonderful and our host and hostess so gracious and willing to help with our plans for the day. Fun things to do included hiking, kayaking, whale watching, beach combing or just sitting on your balcomy overlooking the bay and reading a book.
The whole island of Orcas was a very warm and friendly place to visit.
We are looking forward to returning again for a wonderful relaxing time!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Gunnison, Colo
11
Reviewed June 8, 2006

My husband and I truly enjoyed our too brief stay at the Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast. Orcas Island is a relaxed, laid-back island in the San Juans. The ferry from Annacortes, Wash. started the trip....very easy to do and very interesting to watch the wide variety of travelers. We drove on with our pickup and dog and had no problems. The Blue Heron is less than 10 minutes from the ferry. Bogdan and Carol Kulminski were so welcoming to us and our dog. Of course, their willingness to accomodate us and dog was the main reason to try them out. It helped that their dog, Pulaski, was an eager playmate for our dog, Dakota. The covered, outside porch outside our bedroom was a perfect place to watch the marine life and activity on the Sound. Our room was very spacious and clean and well appointed. The Kulminskis are new to the bed and breakfast trade but they will surely succeed....they have many plans for their older home and we hope to go back in a few years to see their progress. The breakfasts were great and Carol and Bogdan had lots of ideas and information about exploring the island. We would highly recommend the Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
5.0 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
1.7 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
269 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#3 of 11 in Orcas Island
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island
5.0 mi away
Landmark Orcas Island
Landmark Orcas Island
#3 of 12 in Eastsound
76 reviews
4.7 mi away
Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast

Address: 982 Deer Harbor Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9284
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Price Range: $95 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron B&B, an historic 1910 home, is located on West Sound Bay and has beautiful water views and beach access. It is close to the ferry and the village. Continental Breakfast and afternoon snacks are included. Upgrade to a full, hot breakfast for only $5.50 Per person. Internet and information about activities and restaurants available. Friendly hosts. Pets and children welcome. This B&B is for sale on Orcas Island in the Pacific Northwest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Bed And Breakfast Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing