We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Winter Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 12 Eastsound B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Winter Getaway”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

While most people don't think of going to the San Juans in winter, Orcas Island is perhaps even more beautiful then as the natural silence and beauty of the place return after summer's tourist season. The Blue Heron was a winter delight. The breakfasts were amazing, and Mark and Shannon were friendly and very helpful in pointing out places and things to do in the off season.. I had a great time, and recommend visiting this B&B even in the off season, or perhaps especially in the off season.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philotera b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
60
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is a great place to stay and get away from the busy world with distractions. We were the only people staying in the Inn because it was during the week and in the off season. We were late getting to the island and Bogdan called us to make arrangements to get into the inn. Our room had a great view of the bay and we had a great breakfast made by Bogdan the first day. The Inn is within walking distance to the Kingfish Inn. Carol made us another outstanding breakfast the next day. We would definitely return to the Blue Heron in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichK45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We absolutely loved everything about our stay at Blue Heron B&B!
Our room was comfortable and had an amazing view over the water.
The breakfast was delicious; restaurant quality!
We loved meeting our friendly and accommodating innkeepers.
We will definitely be back for the Summer!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Erget room. Comfy bed and beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma_4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We fully enjoyed our stay at the Blue Heron B&B. Bogdan and Carol were friendly, enthusiastic hosts and served delicious, gourmet breakfasts each day. Our room was spacious yet cozy, almost like a little home away from home. We appreciated the fresh-baked treats every afternoon, and the opportunity to sit out on the wide porch overlooking the water. The little village of Eastsound is about a 15-minute drive away, with some nice restaurants, and the excellent West Sound Cafe is less than a five-minute walk. The B&B is also a very short drive (compared to the rest of the island) to the ferry, which is convenient for late evening or early morning transit, and Carol was happy to pack us a bag breakfast. A peaceful, comfy place to stay. (In addition, we found Blue Heron to be among the more reasonably priced options for bed-and-breakfasts on Orcas Island.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrunerVeltiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, CO
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent the last evening of an amazing weeks stay on Orcas Island at this B& B. We were in the Walrus Room which is delightfully cozy, with skylight and attached patio! Dont let the lack of bath in the room stop you from choosing this room. The bath across the hall is all yours and private. It is a full bath with everything you need. Robes are provided for your trip across the way to it! Carol was kind enough to provide a bag of breakfast goodies and to go cups for our coffee, for the EARLY ferry departure we made the next morning. We appreciated that so much! We hope to return for a longer stay in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boxermom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was our first B&B experience and we will definitely try it again. This was part of our anniversary trip and Carol (owner) gladly assisted my dad in setting up a surprise arrangement of champagne, cheese, crackers, and flowers - all things she had to go out and pick up on his behalf. It was an impressive touch. The B&B itself is very homey and we even got a guided tour to the front door upon arrival from their dog. Our room had a great view and had everything we needed. Bed was very comfortable and the heated towel rack was a great touch. Breakfast the next morning was very good - quiche, orange muffin, fresh fruit, OJ, and french press coffee. We wish we could have come back the next morning for waffles! Only heads up is that it is an older home and other people are there, so when people are talking below you, you can hear it. It wasn't bothersome, but something to think about if you're looking for solitude and quiet. We weren't, so it was just fine :) I think this would be the case for any B&B in a setting like this.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pelican room and recommend it. There isn't a tv (which we appreciated), but jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyP104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas area
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We enjoy B&Bs as much for the people we meet as for the room. The Blue Heron was one of our more enjoyable experiences. The room itself was clean and comfortable. The owners were gracious and accommodating. Our room had a small balcony that we thoroughly enjoyed.

The real treasure was the breakfast. The food and service were excellent but that paled in comparison to the cast of guests with whom we dined. As a retired professor, I miss the social intercourse that comes with gatherings of people from diverse backgrounds. This breakfast group provided fodder for a short film. They were fascinating!

To understand this review, you must understand that we are budget travelers and costs are always part of the formula we use to judge a lodging experience. Orcas Island is simply an expensive place to spend a night so we spent more than we normally do. That is the only reason I give the Blue Heron a 4 star instead of a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nvme_imretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
5.0 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
1.7 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
266 reviews
2.5 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
460 reviews
7.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
509 reviews
7.9 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast

Property: Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast
Address: 982 Deer Harbor Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9284
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron B&B, an historic 1910 home, is located on West Sound Bay and has beautiful water views and beach access. It is close to the ferry and the village. Continental Breakfast and afternoon snacks are included. Upgrade to a full, hot breakfast for only $5.50 Per person. Internet and information about activities and restaurants available. Friendly hosts. Pets and children welcome. This B&B is for sale on Orcas Island in the Pacific Northwest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Bed And Breakfast Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing