We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Ship Bay

The Inn at Ship Bay
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Deer Harbor, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Geddes Martin's consistent excellence of his fresh and delicious food makes this my favorite restaurant of all my travels. For 20 years of summer crowds, weddings and events, he has created exceptional menus and amazing results.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    44
    13
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

As I've written elsewhere, my wife and I have been to Orcas three times, and have never had a bad meal. We've eaten here one time, and the food was comparable to what we had at our favorite restaurant, the New Leaf Cafe. The only thing that marred our visit was a group of people at the next table going on and on about how to kill, skin, and gut animals before cooking them - not the most pleasant dinner conversation. They obviously were locals who were friends with the waitress. We asked the waitress to ask them to change their topic of conversation, and she did, and they did, but they gave us dirty looks for the remainder of the time we stayed. Anyway, this wasn't the restaurant's fault. The food and view were great, and we'll return on our next visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

WOW!! this was amazing -- starting with the Pear and Parsnip soup that was to die for. Followed by delicious seared scallops and finished off with homemade ice creams. A must do dinner.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Roadtripper165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A classy restaurant serving elegant food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Thanks goodness for kitchen gardens! The restaurant uses fresh produce from its adjacent garden as well as local fish and meat. The cooking was imaginative and skilled, and service was attentive and courteous (albeit ever so slightly rushed: a meal of this standard merits savouring between courses - and cushions on the dining chairs!). Along with a great wine list and (of course) the romantic setting, The Inn gave us an evening to remember.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MitchellTorok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not everything perfect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The food I had was outstanding, but my husbands was less than perfect. He ordered the scallops and I thought they were raw, but he pressed on because he wanted to enjoy his meal with me. He did tell the waitress, but told her he would eat them and that she should tell the chef only. Nothing else was said, not even a sorry. My salmon dish was delicious and the presentation was good with both meals, but very expensive to be eating raw food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles2055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Inn at Ship Bay also viewed

 
Eastsound, Orcas Island
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 

Been to The Inn at Ship Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing