We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable view and beach fire too!”
Review of Bartwood Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bartwood Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Washington State
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unbeatable view and beach fire too!”
Reviewed October 4, 2008

My father recently passed away and my mom, sister and I were in need of a "re-bonding/building" time. We were looking for a perfect getaway place to accomplish this and found it at the Bartwood Lodge. We searched for a place on the beach, room with a view, two beds and possibly a fireplace. We found it at the Bartwood!

When we opened the door to our room, at once we were greeted with a spectacular view of the water! All night we left our curtain open so we could glance out and be lulled back to sleep. Although this room didn't have a fireplace it was not needed. Kenny, the Lodge's owner/manager built us our very own beach fire complete with smore fixings! The room had a handy mini fridge to keep all our picnic supplies fresh!

The service at the Bartwood went beyond our expectations. Kenny was always there to help us with restaurant and other island event/activities advice. We followed his advice and experienced the best meals and adventures. He made our visit a tremendous success.

I would highly recommend this lodge for the perfect getaway no matter what time of year you visit.

  • Liked — view, right on the beach, beach fire
  • Disliked — rustic outside appearence is misleading to what's inside
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank backstagegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Snohomish, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

We were at the Bartwood for only one night but that was one night too many. Extremely sub-standard mattresses on the two double beds made sleeping nearly impossible. Spring coils could be felt and heard! We received no satisfaction from proprietors when commenting on the condition of beds in room 27. I can look past the shabby exterior, the older and modest furnishings, and the lack of extra amenities.........but when it comes to a lumpy and noisy mattress, it is totally unacceptable!

  • Liked — beach view
  • Disliked — beds
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank frijoles99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bartwood, Owner at Bartwood Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2009
Thanks for your review. We try hard to please everyone, Unfortunately it is not always possible. Our rooms are always clean and in my opinion, comfortable. We're always willing to accommodate a reasonable customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

We had read the reviews of the Bartwood and noticed that although the older reviews were not that good, the more recent reviews were very good. We decided to book a weekend and were very happy with the facilites and managers. The room was very clean and comfortable. The location is central to everything on the island. We spent a lot of time exploring the area and the beach adjacent to the Bartwood. The views from this property are incredible - Sucia Island to the north - Mt. Baker to the east - great sunsets to the west. The Bartwood is located close to various food establishments in Eastsound and we found the food to be varied and very good.

We hope to back at the Bartwood next summer for a full week!

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Needs some paint
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tazmanian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

My wife and I made our fifth visit to Orcas Island just last week. Over the last few years, we have stayed in a lot of places on the island, but Bartwood was definately our best stay yet. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly, and it wasn't like staying in Russia (stayed at Rosario last year and it was awful). The location can't be beat, right on the north side of the island in a quiet neighborhood. The sunsets were spectacular. The manager sold us on a kayak trip from there with a company called Osprey.(thanks Kenny!) It was incredible! These guys build thier own kayaks from wood and "skin" in a traditonal alaskan style. We had a great time, saw lots of wildlife (eagles, seals, etc...), and barely even got wet. When we got back from our "sunset" trip, Kenny, the manager had a nice fire going on the beach, a nice end to a nice day. We will definitely be back.

  • Liked — great quiet location
  • Disliked — no restarant
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nashvilletrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2008

It has been a few years since we stayed at the Bartwood Lodge, but it remains one of my family's all time favorites. My kids, who are much older now and have been to 4 and 5 star resorts all over the world, still talk about our trip to Bartwood and the tidepools and wildlife that were right outside our window. I have paid a lot more for vacations that don't come anywhere near the experience we had there! The accomodations were homey and comfortable. We slept great and had everything we needed. I did miss having a phone in the room, but our cell phones worked well everywhere in the San Juan Islands, including on the ferry. I have traveled to dozens of exotic locations, and the Bartwood Lodge is one of the few that I would come to over and over again.

  • Liked — views, wildlife
  • Disliked — no phone
  • Stayed August 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTraveler234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methow Valley, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2008

We stayed at Bartwood Lodge in April and although the weather was dismal we really enjoyed our stay. We had a second floor room with a king bed and a newly remodeled bathroom. The room was very clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. Since the weather was so cold and wet we spent lots of time in our room enjoying the spectacular waterfront view. The lodge is so close to the beach that at high tide the waves are practically lapping at your door. We had a huge sliding glass door facing the water, with a big deck. If we dropped a rock off the deck it would literally land on the beach. The owners were super nice and helpful when we made our reservations and the lodge is just a short drive into Eastsound or a nice long walk. This is the perfect place to stay for a quiet and rejuvenating getaway.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — The weather
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

My husband, 11 year old daughter and I just returned from a 2 night stay on Orcas Island. We stayed in room 21 at the Bartwood Lodge after doing some research online. I noted that most of the other reviews of this property were hit and miss and were from a couple of years ago. Decided to give it a go as we were looking for something with direct beach access. The location of this property is the selling point. At the Bartwood you are a 5 minute drive to Eastsound, the island's largest community and commercial hub, but you are right on the beach (north view) and the views can't be beat. Our weather was unseasonably drizzly and overcast, but the view was still very impressive. There is a long dock for guest use. The beach is rocky rather than sandy and has large eroded sandstone outcroppings just to the east. These make great tidal pools at low tide and we spent a lot of time identifying all of the inhabitants. Be sure to bring appropriate footwear as there are lots of barnacles and some slippery footing. We also sighted sea otters early one morning, a heron taking off right from the beach in front of our room and lots of eagle activity. We saw all of this just looking out the window of our room. We were on the upper floor and though we didn't have a deck, other rooms did have direct access to the shared upper deck. A large deck also encircles the lower floor and was close enough that we didn't notice the lack of deck off of our room. The room was decent size and had two queen beds, an armoire with TV and a small table with two chairs. The beds were adequately comfortable, the linens were decent and the room had such amenites as a CD player, clock radio, hair dryer, TV, microwave, mini fridge and coffee pot. Notably absent were coat hangers for the single hanging bar (no closet), a phone (though there was a guest phone in the lobby) and a mirror in the bathroom (the only mirror was over the sink in the sleeping area). The room (and entire property in fact) could use some TLC. The carpets were a bit worn, it could do with a fresh coat of paint and some maintenance (put a light fixture back over the bulbs in the bathroom and replace the shower head which was useless). The windows needed a good cleaning but otherwise housekeeping seemed adequate. The young woman who manned the front desk was very friendly and helpful. A little updating would make this a top form property, but as it stands, you should only book here if your priority is the beach access and the views. I will do more research on other properties before returning to Orcas Island, but I would not rule out staying at the Bartwood again. A dining note: we had excellent meals on the island. Of particular note was dinner at Lu Lu's Pasta Rustica. The staff and the food were outstanding. A nice restaurant that was still family friendly.

  • Liked — The view and beach access!!
  • Disliked — The shower head!!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gmwann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
1.5 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
7.8 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
266 reviews
13.8 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
287 reviews
8.3 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
153 reviews
13.9 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bartwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartwood Lodge

Property: Bartwood Lodge
Address: 178 Fossil Bay Dr, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9415
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Bartwood Hotel Eastsound
Bartwood Lodge Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing