We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractively furnished”
Review of Chimayo En El Dia

Chimayo En El Dia
Ranked #28 of 38 Restaurants in Eastsound
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Description: Chimayo is located in the heart of Eastsound village on the west (back) side of the gray “Our House” building on the west side of the street. Look for our sign hanging above the sidewalk in the front of the building.
Restaurant details
Description: Chimayo is located in the heart of Eastsound village on the west (back) side of the gray “Our House” building on the west side of the street. Look for our sign hanging above the sidewalk in the front of the building.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Attractively furnished”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We were drawn in by the outward charm and were overwhelmed by the staggering inefficiency of the operation. There were three appatent diots in, but no hostess. The two of us sat at the only available table -- a table for six, three staff squeezed by us before we stopped one; we asked about ordering coffee and she told us how much and waited for payment -- we hadn't seen a menu yet. The "featured items" were blank suggesting they forgot to write any down. We turned away two food orders because they weren't ours.

I am sure the food is good, but their way of running a business left me perplexed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
115 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Visiting Orcas recently we followed the lead of all the previous reviewers and beat a path - twice - to this delightful little surprise of an eatery. The biggest surprise was how authentic the food was. Quality of ingredients, artistry of presentation and service is top notch. Sitting on the veranda surrounded by gorgeous flowers and whimsical painting is a restful, fulfilling experience. OMG to the crab quesadillas! Took the leftovers home and appetized later before dinner. Two minor nits, the chips are unremarkable and best left in the bag they came in; grab your silverware and napkins before you sit down ... one server brought the food and happily grabbed them for us, one pointed us to the station that had all the stuff (when she gets older she'll appreciate customer service). Minor, minor nits for a fantastic place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our favorite place on Orcas”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is hands down our favorite place on Orcas to eat. My wife and I eat here several times a week and the owner, bill, has never made us a less than excellent meal. Our usual is the redemption salad but we also enjoy the burritos and nachos. Food always tastes good and is made with obviously fresh ingredients.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomTillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Point, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mexican by day and Italian by night”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Chimayo is a little hidden jewel in a charming spot! We selected the Redemption Salad for lunch on Orcas Island and were not disappointed! My shredded beef pleased us more than my husband's chicken selection. Fresh greens and seeds grown right on the island were used in the salad. Delicious guacamole and fresh tomato salsa were just the right touch to complete the lunch! In the evening the restaurant transforms to Italian cuisine. Maybe next time we can try it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious salad and burrito”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Huge portion sizes, delicious food, and low prices. We had a salad and a burrito for lunch and were unable to finish - ate rest for dinner at home. Yum!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank elu22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimayo En El Dia also viewed

Eastsound, Orcas Island
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 
Eastsound, Orcas Island
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 

Been to Chimayo En El Dia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing