We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smugglers was perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smugglers Villa Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husbsnd and I were in the middle of a move to Arizona.
We were very tired and had none of the creature comforts, so needed at this time.
Smugglers had everything to make our stay completely comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped, nothing to want for. The bed was neat, clean and very comfortable.
There was even a gas fire place to cuddle-up to (January).
We would recommend Smugglers Villa to anyone with Orcas Island as a part of their vacation destination.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 71 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

My sister and myself had the pleasure of staying at the Villa Resort, what a beautiful place and the rooms were so clean and perfect. We had a family reunion and we hosted it at the Condo because it was so clean and spacious, all the dishes, pots and pans, complete full sized range to cook, full size refrigerator. Thank you Mike for allowing us to have the party at your condo.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

It is a little old, but the condo we rented had everything we needed kitchen tool and space-wise. The beds were comfortable, and Mike the manager was very helpful. The view on the water is great--loved the sunsets. There is some airplane noise, as the small Orcas Island airport runway is right across the canal. There were lots of families there, and they seemed to be having a lot of fun. Getting around the island is easy, if you have a car or cycle. Unlike a B&B, you cook all your meals or go out, but there are several nice restaurants in Eastsound.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Runpicu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My family takes a trip each summer to someplace around WA that we've never been before. This year we chose Orcas Island. I found Smuggler's Villa Resort on VRBO.com. I tell you we could not have been happier! The condo itself was nice but would have been better with 2 bathrooms, but we managed fine. The property is in a wonderful location right on a marina to one side and the beach to the other side. We loved watching the boats go in and out and the planes taking off and landing at the small airport just across from us. The pool and hot tub were an awesome amenity for us. We actually chose this property because it was the only one we could find with a pool. The kids had a great time riding their bikes all over the place, exploring the marina dock for marine creatures, and having s'mores around the nightly campfire. This place is definitely kid friendly! We will go back for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 0lyM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We made our reservations late, and weren't expecting too much based on the mixed reviews, but we loved it. We had the Deluxe Townhouse, which was good for us and two very tall adult sons. The second bedroom had two large beds, which were perfect for the guys. It also had two twin beds we didn't need, but it was great to have two full bathrooms. The living room had a gas fireplace, and the kitchen was fully equipped. One thing that doesn't seem to come through in the other reviews is that these units (the "villas") are each separately owned, so the furniture, kitchen implements, decor, etc. are not uniform. Ours was lovely and clean. We found the management (Mike, et al) to be very friendly and helpful if anything was wrong. (Some of the lamps didn't work, and Mike came right out to show us the circuit breaker which we hadn't been able to locate.)

If you are expecting to spend all day on your deck, and you crave privacy and quiet, then this is probably not for you. Yes, people walk by, and there are planes taking off and landing during the day (which we found interesting). But if you are out and about taking advantage of what the island offers, then Smugglers has a perfect location, within walking distance of Eastsound, and equally accessible to both sides of the island.

We also used the whale-watch/kayak tour business that has a desk in the main building, with tours leaving from next to the resort. We were quite pleased, and we got a discount because we were staying at Smugglers. They claim to have the fastest boats, and it seemed to be true -- our captain (who happened to be Mike's son, Matt) was able to get to the area where Orcas had been sighted in time for us to have an extraordinary experience -- one of the Orcas actually breeched, and two of them swam right under the boat. The 3-hour kayak trip was also fun. The pool and hot tubs were a pleasure when we got back from a day of paddling or hiking. Plus, Mike keeps four tanks of gorgeous tropical fish in the office; there is a beautiful flower garden, and two parrot cages.

All in all, we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask what kind of furnishings particular units have -- e.g., how fully equipped is the kitchen. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VeeLee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We have come here for three years in a row now in the summer and we absolutely love it!! We have friends who have stayed every year for 20 years!! We love how family friendly it is. Kids and adults can enjoy it. There is a swimming pool and hot tub ( and an adult hour in case you don't like being around kids at the pool), tennis courts, campfire each night, a playground, and a nice trail for kids to ride their bikes on in front of the townhouses. Yes, there is an airport, but you get used to it. In the city you hear planes, trains, and cars all the time. These are small planes with quick take offs and landings. The kids and many of us adults actually enjoy watching the planes come and go. We bring our boat and moor it at the Smugglers marina. Great crabbing and fishing nearby and some great islands just across the water. The owners are great and we will continue to going to Smugglers Villa each summer!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDSfamily31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We booked this place for five days, and ended up staying for ten. We loved it! Mike put us in a two-story, two bedroom condo, fully equipped kitchen, washer and dryer, with a grill outside on the deck. Our place was appropriately named "The End of the Rainbow" and it couldn't have had a more apt name. The beds were very comfortable, the sheets were soft, everything was very clean. It was like having our own home in the San Juans. At only a mile from Eastsound, we could walk through the pastoral scenery every day to get groceries or hot chocolate. Smugglers sits at the northern end of Orcas Island, so you can just walk out your door in the evening and watch the sunsets, which were spectacular! An otter came out of the water and ate an eel right in front of us! We were travelling with two adults and three teenagers, and EVERYONE was happy for all ten days! Now that's what I call a vacation! We saw other places to stay on both Orcas and on the other islands, but we all agreed we got the best place for the best price anywhere. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goseeitwhileyoucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
1.3 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
6.3 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#3 of 11 in Orcas Island
253 reviews
8.2 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
492 reviews
13.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
534 reviews
7.3 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Villa Resort

Address: 54 Hunt Rd, Po Box 79, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range: $201 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers Villa Resort on Orcas Island is a collection of 20 2-bedroom waterfront condo-homes - clean and comfy - perfect for young families and old friends - casual and calm. Smugglers is the perfect island vacation location - Incredible waterfront views, walk out beach, heated pool, hot tubs, nightly beach fire, amazing lingering sunsets, walking distance to quaint Eastsound Village, easy drive to Moran State park, kayak tours and whale watching depart from our dock, Dish TV, WiFi, real homes with full baths and kitchens, well equipped including laundry. Please call us soon. Thanks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Smugglers Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Villa Hotel Eastsound
Smugglers Hotel Eastsound
Smugglers Villa Resort Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing