We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Orcas Island”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smugglers Villa Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Issaquah, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Orcas Island”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

The San Juan Islands are one of the best kept secrets anywhere - positively beautiful! Remember, this is a somewhat remote island community and not a modern city. It is a gorgeous 1 1/2 ferry ride just to get here! It is peaceful and serene with recreational opportunities galore (boating, fishing, crabbing ,hiking, biking, wildlife and whale watching) not to mention the usual activities. The sunsets right from your deck are to die for! If you are looking for a fancy modern hotel, this is probably not for you - there are plenty of those in Miami or San Diego. If you are looking for scenery, tranquility and nature give this place a try. Over the years we have stayed at Smuggler's many times and just keep coming back - with and without kids.

Room Tip: Our favorite is #9A - a 2 br rambler. Very well appointed with new furniture, great beds and everyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjberens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    24
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
44
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The stay was not at all enjoyable.... from the time they stated they lost our reservation ( we are seasoned travelers and meticulous up to & including drop box documents on the phone) till we left it was not a happy place. Unorganized and uncaring.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MikenBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Our family of four (including two teenagers) came to Orcas Island in July of 2011. I waited too long to make our hotel reservations, so many places were booked up by the time I got down to business.

Smugglers Villa bills itself as a resort, and I suppose the location near the water and the pool and hot tub technically qualify it as such. We stayed in a "Rambler", which had two bedrooms. The other units are the same size or larger. My kids (opposite gender teenagers) had their own beds which was key, but shared a room, and then there was a tiny room for the queen for my husband and me. There was not enough room to put our luggage in our room, though!

The kitchen was adequate but tired and worn, as was the living area and bathroom. I will say that the kitchen had just about everything we needed...we did run out for a few odds and ends that I thought should have been there (like dish soap and salt and pepper), but we were going to the grocery store anyway. We were psyched about the washer and dryer right in our unit, and we used the outdoor grill a couple of nights, too. The grill functioned sporadically at best.

We had the pool to ourselves a couple of times, but the day we got there the two hot tubs had been ordered drained and re-filled by the health inspector (I don't want to know why), so they were out of commission for a day. The pool was nice - and offered a lovely view of the ocean if you stood up and looked over the fence and/or walked around. Mike, the manager (owner too, I think?) was nice enough and also answered all of our questions helpfully.

I was concerned about "the neighbors" as referenced here on other Trip Advisor reviews, and it is true that there is absolutely no privacy on one's back deck. Maybe it would be better if you were in Unit 1 or 2 way down the street. I suppose it is a hit or miss whether you stay the week someone is having a rowdy family reunion or if you hit a week when things are quiet. We had a little of both during our stay...and we were only there 3 nights.

One thing I could not visualize while I read Trip Advisor was the layout of the units. I think there are 16 buildings (not including the main buildings or pool area) that basically line the length of the small marina that runs the length of the Smugglers property and the tail end of the airport. There are two units in each building...one of the smaller 900 sq ft units like our Rambler, and one of the larger 1200 sq ft units. We were building 15, which was the next to last one closest to the pool, main building and ocean, so that was nice, but we sure had a lot of foot traffic going back and forth to the main building out our back deck.

Smuggler's Villa Resort's glory days are gone, but the rooms remain habitable and we did not find this accomodation to be a bad choice. I think the owner would be well served by completely overhauling the furnishings, kitchens and baths to today's standards. In the meantime, I will encourage my friends and family to book an accomodation at Orcas Island earlier than I did and try to find someplace else to stay if they can...Smugglers being a reasonable back-up plan if all else fails.

Room Tip: Buidling 16 is closest to the ocean but also gets the most foot traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mindfultraveler12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lummi isalnd, WA.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

If you're looking for "affordable" and "family friendly" without sacrificing comfort, try this place. The most stressful thing I had to do all weekend was put the bathtub mat down.

We're mainlanders. We came to celebrate family birthdays and an early Mother's Day with our two sons and their beautiful partners. We all agreed, this place delivered the warm karma needed after our stressful weeks. Calm felt in your bones.Typically cool April weather. Family parlor games filled the bill; our "thing" ..(Ever play "Funglish?) A sunset viewed from the deck ... water views to Canada. Steps away from a pool and family sized hot tub. The adjacent small island marina provided just enough local boat scene to draw me into a walk and chats about boats. We jumped aboard Outer Island Expedition boat to a short tour of Sucia Island wildlife. Fun! They provided jackets). The pristine uncrowded beach exercised mind and body. Well appointed rooms-- all at a very reasonable rate.
Thanks Mike, the Proprietor !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert-marnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Clean, well-equipped, washer-dryer, bar-b-que, full kitchen, wi-fi, even books & cards and excellent ocean view from deck and living room, firepit, hot tub, tennis court, swing set, volleyball, plenty of chairs and logs to sit and watch the world slip away, beach area for play or watching otters, deer on other side of airport runway which was not noisy, just a few planes a day, extremely friendly and helpful manager Mike goes the extra mile for his guests, 20 minutes from harbor, walking distance to town and just a few steps from whale watching tour boat. What more could we ask for except an extra week or two--can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryLou002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. paul
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Don't panic when you drive up to this property and see the rabbits eating the weeds growing thru the cracks in the tennis courts. Hold off making a quick judgement as you walk past the abandoned oven and worn exteriors of the condos. Wait until you open the door to your beautifully furnished condo and meet the manager Mike before you make a decision about this place. We loved it. Best points: The inside of the condo is spacious and well organized. Our family of 5 stayed in 12B which had 2 baths and 2 BR. The pool area was pretty. Potted flowers all around and a hot tub with a great view of the beach. We saw great sunsets while sitting by the campfire Mike built on the edge of the property by the beach.
We took a Whale Watching trip ( $100 per person for 3.5 hours) with Paul, an enaging and knowledgable tour guide /captain. We saw about 20 whales from the local pod and were lucky enough to see some breaching.
The property is about 1 1/2 miles from the cute little town of Eastsound. There are many good coffee and lunch spots there but only a few places open after 4 PM. There is a great pizza place open at night. ( We can not recall the name but it is on the second floor of a building in Eastsound.) Good tennis courts are 1/2 mile away.
If we were in the area again we would stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stpauliewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

nice stay- appears to be individually owned condos that you rent out.

Pros: condo living, refrigerator, microwave, washer/dryer


Cons: nearby airport noise, mostly from 8 am until evening. not after dark usually.
you have to supply laundry soap and hair dryer.
no A/C but rarely needed as your are right on the beach- fans are available

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rossde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
1.3 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
7.3 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
265 reviews
13.5 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
148 reviews
8.2 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
151 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Villa Resort

Property: Smugglers Villa Resort
Address: 54 Hunt Rd, Po Box 79, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers Villa Resort on Orcas Island is a collection of 20 2-bedroom waterfront condo-homes - clean and comfy - perfect for young families and old friends - casual and calm. Smugglers is the perfect island vacation location - Incredible waterfront views, walk out beach, heated pool, hot tubs, nightly beach fire, amazing lingering sunsets, walking distance to quaint Eastsound Village, easy drive to Moran State park, kayak tours and whale watching depart from our dock, Dish TV, WiFi, real homes with full baths and kitchens, well equipped including laundry. Please call us soon. Thanks ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smugglers Villa Hotel Eastsound
Smugglers Hotel Eastsound
Smugglers Villa Resort Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing