We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Place to Stay on Orcas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Landmark Orcas Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Landmark Orcas Island
Ranked #4 of 13 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay on Orcas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The standard townhouse at Eastsound Landmark Inn worked very well for a family of 5 - though the 3rd bedroom was actually in the living room of the townhouse with an accordion divider that didn't latch serving as its door. It was more outdated than we expected - with wallpaper peeling off the wall in spots, etc. However, it was clean, the staff was friendly, and the location was fantastic - right on the edge of the village and within walking distance of most of the shops and the grocery store. For the price, it was a nice place to stay on Orcas.

Room Tip: A remodeled deluxe townhouse is available for those willing to pay a bit more for an updated stay.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JSJKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    10
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
18
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We have a family of 5, so finding hotel accomodations is always difficult. We were so excited to find that the standard townhouse had 2 queen beds and 2 twin beds so that everyone got to sleep in a bed and no one was on the floor on a rollaway or on an uncomfortable sofa bed. The townhouse was large, clean, and very nice. Parking was free and plentiful, and we were very close to a grocery store so that we could purchase food to cook in the full-size kitchen. The staff were kind and helpful, and the rates were reasonable. If we ever get to make a trip to Orcas Island again, we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bountiful5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope/Point Clear, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We found the Landmark Inn on line well in advance of a 3 week trip (self-guided rental car most of the time) of the Pacific NW and were very pleased with the location and overall ambience. While we had read one of the past reviews and were possibly a little leary, upon arrival we knew that we made the right choice in order to experience the 'feel' of the San Juan Islands. This upper level 2 bedroom condo was fully equipped for a long term stay (the 2 of us were only able to stay 2 nights, unfortunately) and was more than adequate, considering the prices we identified elsewhere in high season. Very clean. While we were probably no more than a 3 minute walk from the downtown shops and restaurants in the small but quaint community of Eastsound, the highlight of our memories was just sitting on the balcony looking out over the small beach and water, and thinking that if the location was good enough for two large motor yachts to moor off in front and spend the night, then this must be a favored place in the Orcas when they could boat to any spot. We enjoyed day trips for lunch and driving up the mountain for that great view. The ferry landing back to the mainland was an easy 20+ minutes drive. The Landmark Inn was exactly the sort of laid-back accomodation we were hoping for in the Orcas. Submitted by extensive traveler from home base in Fairhope/Pt. Clear, Alabama.

Room Tip: Upper level -- looking directly into water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick-Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

This is the perfect place of my dreams! The best part was the large sliding-glass window opening to a covered patio looking right down the heart of the sound. Unbelievably gorgeous view! The room was stylish, with a full kitchen, living room with sofa to get lost in, and two ultra-comfortable bedrooms. The staff was the best I've met anywhere. I was working last time, but next time will be with my sweetheart and no work!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have unbelievable views across the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lummi isalnd, WA.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Over the long holiday weekend our six households, connected through our adult children's marriage, traveled to Orcas Island for our annual rendevous. From as far away as Mexico and as near as Bellingham, this is our second Landmark Inn gathering to share thanksgivng by preparing meals in our various condo's kitchens and then dining together. After, we enjoyed walks to town (4 minutes!) parlor games in the cozy 2 and 3 bedroom condos by the gas fire place, the Apple Cup football game on the flat screen tv's, and good old fashion conversation around the table (that admittedly, we barely fit around). Unrushed by the hordes, we felt removed from the main stream just enough by the 45 minute ferry ride to feel "away" but not isolated. The staff met our group's needs, all times of day, without being underfoot. Though it rained off and on all weekend, the rooms were well appointed, making the time indoors comfortable, And the sun did finally appear at just the right portion of the day to cheer us and motivated us to go hiking (up into the clouds) on forested Mt. Constitution, awakening the senses. Child and dog friendly, I recommend the place to celebrate the holidays away from the crowds and with a focus on family. We brought lots of parlor games,rain gear and of course good food and conversation. The Landmark and Eastsound provided the rest.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 102 (3 bedroom unit, and room 105, a two bedroom unit that looks right out onto ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert-marnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in August at one of the 2 bdrm deluxe units with a view, and had a great visit. The balcony was very nice, and we enjoyed sitting there just soaking in the harbor scene. The rooms are fronted by the road leading into Eastsound, so you are not right on the water proper, and you do encounter some traffic sounds at times, but that does not take away from the beautiful view. The kitchen was a great bonus. This particular unit was one of the "updated" ones, so everything was in very nice condition...nice flat screen TV, fixtures, and the sitting room was a great place to relax. You are in perfect location to walk to all of the shops, restaurants in Eastsound, and good starting point to visit the rest of the island. The people at the front desk were very pleasant and accommodating. We would definitely consider staying here again if visiting Eastsound and the San Juans.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philsbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Landmark Inn from 1 Sept - 4 Sept 2011.

We stayed in room 206 which had a water view balcony.

The room had two rooms with queen beds, bathroom with bathtub, balcony, sitting room, fireplace, dining table, and full kitchen.

The room had DirecTV and wireless internet.

The location of the Landmark Inn was within walking distance of all the food and shops in East Sound.

I would highly recommend staying here if you go to Orcas Island.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
6.3 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
12.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
12.1 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#6 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
12.3 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Orcas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Orcas Island

Property: Landmark Orcas Island
Address: 67 Main St, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9100 (Formerly Eastsound Landmark Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in one of our fifteen unique, individually owned and appointed condominiums with all the lodging amenities of a 'home away from home.' Our location in the quiet beachside of Eastsound Village is convenient for exploring quaint shops, art galleries, bookstores and also offers distinctive dining experiences. In your selection of the Landmark Orcas Island, you can be assured of a welcoming and comfortable place to stay. Landmark Orcas Island looks forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Landmark Orcas Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Orcas Island Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing