We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inn”
Review of Kingfish Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingfish Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Bellevue, WA
2 reviews
“Great Inn”
Reviewed April 2, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend and had a wonderful time. The room was clean and cute and very comfortable, with a great view. The owners make an excellent breakfast and are very hospitable. When we go back to Orcas we will definitely stay here again. This inn is a definite gem!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
Thank mrd8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    25
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
62
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bardonia, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2006

A first-time visitor to Orcas, I was a little nervous about picking a place with little information on it. However, I was not disappointed in my choice. The Kingfish Inn was a perfect choice for us. We wanted to be somewhat centrally located and this fit the bill. The room (#2) was spacious and extremely comfortable with a lovely gas fired fireplace. It also faced a small harbor with a lovely view. Breakfast was very good and you were able to get coffee earlier and sit outside and enjoy the clear, crisp morning. Probably, the only drawback might be some traffic noise...but from seeing where many of the other B&B's are located....this is not unusual. I would definitely go back.

  • Liked — Room, Breakfast and View
  • Disliked — Restaurant closed on Monday
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olomana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2006

We stayed here in July for our second anniversary. The Kingfish Inn was incredible...very laid back, yet classy, with a wonderful suite-like atmosphere! Rooms were lovely and comfortable, with fluffy chairs, and a tv/vcr/dvd/ combo. Beds included 8 pillows. There was an incredible view of the water, and complementary port.

The cafe had terrific, included, breakfast! Owner Bob is an ace chef, and can prepare anything you want. He and the rest of the staff were extremely helpful. The dinner is also very nice.

Just a tip: rooms #1, 2, and 3 are the way to go, as room #4 is adjacent to the cafe, which could be busy.

We will certainly be back!!!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 9, 2006

The picturesque and relaxing ferry ride to Orcas Island from Anacortes takes about an hour. The King fish Inn is located on the quiet side of Orcas directly across the street from the water with a marina nearby for boat rentals and sea plane tours.

This setting provided a memorable back drop for a great birthday weekend celebration. The room was very large, bright and had an unobstructed view to the water. It's run and owned by a husband and wife team. Although the wife was rarely there, Bob, the husband, did a fantastic job cooking in the restaurant. We enjoyed his breakfasts every morning and had a great dinner there on Friday night.

The only complaint is that the king size beds are too comfortable, making it difficult to get out of bed and enjoy this beautiful island.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2006

If you are coming to Orcas Island in the San Juan Islands, your stay should by all means include a stay at the Kingfish Inn. This Bed and Breakfast is outstanding for a wonderful view of the bay from every room and a relaxed comfortable setting.

Bob and Lori were outstnading hosts, especially when my wife broke her ankle the first afternoon we were there. They made a couple of telephone calls and we were first in line at the island clinic. Then they made sure my wife had plenty of ice in our room and anything else we could need.

Breakfast was presented through a menu but we ordered our own special omlet and it was superb, with all the fruit.

As we visited the rest of the island, we know this is the best place to stay for a wonderful experience of the island culture.

Helpful?
3 Thank JB1984N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2005

Loved it all!! Room 4 is gorgeous and so comfy and romantic (we wanted to take the bed home w/ us). View of the sound is great and there is yummy reasonably priced food downstairs (yes the locals eat here!) (no dinner on Sunday :( and breakfast at 9am). Bob went above and beyond, you can tell he likes what he does. Port in the hallway for a night cap. I can't wait to get to Kingfish again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank inSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2005

I will return to the Kingfish Inn! I loved the bright room and private deck. The view of the marina and sailboats was great. We sat on our deck and watched a group of little sailors giggle and yelp through their first lesson in the waters in front of the Inn. The location of the Kingfish Inn is lively, so if you are looking for quiet reflection you should try the Inn at Ship Bay instead. We had some salad and wine downstairs before heading off to Christina's for dinner and the salad was excellent. The breafast was great with good coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice. The hosts were helpful and very pleasant. The bed was very comfortable with nice linens. I only wish that we could've stayed longer!

Helpful?
3 Thank latte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
4.9 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
1.7 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
266 reviews
2.5 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
156 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
353 reviews
7.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfish Inn

Property: Kingfish Inn
Address: 4362 Crow Valley Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9223
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With just four very individual suites, Kingfish Inn housed in a historic 1902 building, is a treasured Orcas Island secret. At the junction of two designated scenic byways, our Inn is just steps away from the sparkling waters of West Sound and the bucolic and verdant farmlands of Crow Valley. Kingfish Inn is the perfect place to experience the healing "magic" of Orcas Island, the most spectacular of the San Juan islands. Having operated All Dream Cottages on Orcas Island for many years, we appreciate our guests desire for a more romantic and private lodging experience. We strive to provide that cozy and intimate, yet comfortable space for our Inn guests. We respect your privacy and unless asked, no one enters your space while you are here. Lie in bed all day with a good book or just sit still looking at the ever changing views from your window. Kingfish Inn is NOT a Bed and Breakfast. We do, however, provide coffee makers, tea and COMPLIMENTARY breakfast items like fresh fruit, yogurt, juice) in a small in-room refrigerator so that our guests may start their day on their own schedules. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kingfish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfish Inn Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing