We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset House Nice Hostess, over priced, outdated house.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabins on the Point
Walla Walla, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Sunset House Nice Hostess, over priced, outdated house.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

So the good first, The hostess is very nice and easy to talk to, and the house location is very nice, it is set back in a wooded area where you feel isolated but yet close enough to east sound that you can travel for supplies in a matter of minutes. The views of the sound from either the yard or the large windows is amazing and very relaxing.

Now the bad, The house is very outdated, with sheets that look like the belong on the grandmothers bed, furniture in the house is sort of a hodge podge that does not match and is so random that it is a distraction. There were so many spiders in the house that we killed a few each day, and these were very large spiders, the outside of the house was covered with them, we had my grandson with us and this was not fun for him at all and sort of ruined alot of the time staying there. With as much as they charge this could be fixed with a simple spraying. Then the fact that the circuit breaker kept blowing and we did not have either hot water or warm air from the heaters in the master bath and bedroom. I contacted the owner and was told where to reset the breaker. This did not help as it continued to shut off and we froze during th night and had no water to bathe in by morning.

It rained the entire time of our trip and so we had to stay indoors, so instead of grilling we decided to fry the hamburgers, only to find out that the frying pan had a huge crack in the bottom of the pan and was unusable.

Inside the house you will find between 20 - 1000 little cards placed everywhere telling you what you can and cannot do in the house, while the cards are somewhat helpful and nicely done, they feel more like instructions or commands then helpful pieces of info, like the ones saying to take off your shoes while inside, This makes going in and out, especially to unpack a real chore, plus for people with feet issues this can be a real problem.

So to sum up, great view and nice hostess... Outdated pricey house with poor wiring, alot of spiders and instructions.

I would not recommend this house to anyone staying on Orcas, Maybe once the wiring is fixed and the house looked after a little, So I would ask first. I would rate this property terrible if not for the hostess and the view.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Troy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    6
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
38
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Bend, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have been spending New Year's eve in Heather Cabin for more than a decade. Every time we arrive, it feels like coming home. This cozy, romantic cabin is nestled on a rocky outcrop so close to the shore that it feels like you are on a boat - a perfect place to watch winter storms while reading a book or doing jigsaw puzzles in front of the Franklin stove. Peace and quiet and a charming window-frame bed (see photo) make this a one-of-a-kind experience. Orcas Island in the Winter months is enchanting, with fewer tourists you really get a sense of the island's real character. And the Cabins-on-the-Point staff are perfect hosts. We love this cabin!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Primrose Cabin towards the end of our honeymoon. We are a senior couple who thoroughly enjoyed the peaceful tranquility of the cabin and surroundings. Our gracious host was very knowledgeable concerning the activities available on the island and the cabin itself lacked for nothing. We look forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2013

JDonofrio
We stayed four nights in the Willow Cottage in August 2013. Charmingly decorated, clean, and has all the amenities. We used the full kitchen to cook all our breakfasts and dinners. We bought our food either from the little grocery by the ferry (which is very well stocked with everything from basics to gourmet items) and the IGA in Eastsound. We didn't get a chance to use the kayaks, hot tub, or fire pit because we were so busy exploring the islands, but we did enjoy the beautiful water views. The property itself is also full of fruit trees and is nicely landscaped. The free internet worked fine. My husband was even able to access our home tv through an iPap app, allowing him to watch a baseball game. We had no trouble accessing the cell service, either (we are on AT&T.) The bathroom is a nice size, and the queen-size bed very comfortable. There is a futon in a separate part of the living room, and a twin in the window of the bedroom if you are traveling with children or other adults. But this is a perfect couples cabin for a vacation or romantic getaway (or both.)

Although I only had contact with the owner, Jennifer, over the phone, she is extremely friendly and helpful. She provided us with information on what to do in the area, and even offered to go with us on a whale watching trip, which sadly, we weren't able to fit into our schedule (actually, that turned out to be a good thing - I forgot how seasick my husband gets!)

I highly recommend Cabins on the Point. Orcas Island is a wonderful place to visit and you couldn't ask for a more comfortable place to come home to after a full day exploring Orcas and the other San Juan Islands.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFD926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We are a man-woman couple in our mid/late 30s from Portland, Oregon, and we were in search of somewhere beautiful for the two of us to relax for a few days.

We had never been to Orcas (or any of the San Juans). We really wanted to be NOT in a typical "charming tourist town," and actually enjoy the natural beauty of the islands. This was the perfect place for us. We stayed in Heather cabin for three nights (Sun-Tues) in May 2013 and it was idyllic. Had a full kitchen, actually stocked with basics like some spices, and coffee/tea/etc.and some guest leftovers (flour, etc.). We stopped at the grocery right off the ferry, which is really well-stocked and perfectly fine on price. (It had really excellent fish, as an aside, and some really nice gourmet cheese offerings, as well as a large selection of booze and wine.) We cooked most of our meals in-house, but we also had a very nice dinner one night at one of the Inn at Ship Bay.

The property is right on the water, and the whole cabin fills with the morning (and afternoon) light. We made dinner easily and enjoyed it out in chairs facing Mutiny Bay, watching the sun go down and a seal frolic nearby. When the sun went down, we hopped into the hot tub and enjoyed the stars, and then came back to the cabin and made a fire (wood was provided). Climbing into the princess bed (which really looks exactly like the picture in the profile) was amazing; bed was comfy (I like them a little soft) and comforter warm. When we woke, the first thing we saw out the two solid walls of windows around the bed was the morning sun on the bay. It was so peaceful, and amazing,

OK, details:

Easy to find - well marked sign turn-off from main road.
Pretty quick to get around the island (it's not that big).
Didn't use the kayaks and such but they are provided on the private beach and we saw others use them.
Very private.
Essentially no wifi -- theirs is very weak, and although i brought my own hotspot, the cell reception was so erratic that it was maddening to try to check email.

Bottom line, we had a tremendous time (doing largely nothing but relaxing) at the cabin. It felt like we were worlds and worlds away. I am looking forward to staying here again, hopefully many times.

All the contact I had with the owners was friendly, and they called me once we'd left to make sure everything was OK. I thought the price was reasonable and the accommodations really magnificent. Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamieChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Heather Cabin provides a beautiful, quiet, and clean place for your vacation. We spent five nights of our honeymoon at the Heather Cabin and it was perfect! The accomodations are simple but all you need. We loved waking up to the beautiful harbor view. The small kitchen enabled us to prepare meals on site, thus allowing us to enjoy 'home' and save money on dining. Each evening, we savored the sunset, visits from a harbor seal, and bald eagles hunting for fish. The hot tub was private and had a view of the water. Kayaks were provided with the rental. Jennifer, the owner, is friendly and eager to share events taking place on the island. We enjoyed our stay so much that we added an extra night and never ventured to San Juan. Internet is 'spotty' and there isn't cable. Bring DVD's if you want to watch movies. I recommend leaving them at home so you can enjoy mother nature and a good book!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLavelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at Cabins on the Point in late August as the second half of a trip that took us to Mt. Rainier before coming here. Our cottage was a 2 bedroom standalone unit with a very nice kitchen/living room/sitting area. We have 2 small kids who like to run and the unit included access to beach.

Overall the unit was superb. There was plenty of heat and the rooms were very well kept. The service was provided by the proprietor, Jennifer, and she was very helpful. She was very proactive in trying to set up reservations for us at restaurants, perhaps too much so. We were more interested in bringing food to the cabin for most of our meals. Our unit had a problem with the phone that rendered it useless and we had to use a common facility phone eventually for all of our calls. She also had good recommendations about tour services, etc.

The jewel of the whole establishment, outside of the fine quarters, was the beach it had access to and the outdoor fire pit. Our kids spent countless hours throwing rocks, turning over stones to find crab colonies, touching and holding starfish, climbing rocks, and going out on kayaks. I can't say how much we enjoyed having access to this space. I'm not as interested in the quality of lodging as much as what it gives you access to, and this beach was sensational.

The location of the cabin is nice. Orcas was a great place to visit and combined with the other attractions on the island makes for a nice family stay. Our cabin was not cheap, which is why as a value, I'd say this was not the greatest, but you also get a lot in terms of the quality and upkeep of the cabin and the grounds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nirmal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
1.4 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
7.6 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
266 reviews
13.2 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
153 reviews
2.9 mi away
Beach Haven Resort
Beach Haven Resort
#5 of 11 in Eastsound
50 reviews
3.4 mi away
West Beach Resort
West Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Eastsound
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabins on the Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabins on the Point

Property: Cabins on the Point
Address: 2101 Deer Harbor Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9218
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 6 Unique Orcas Island Accommodations ALL with Kitchens and Island & Water views: The 4 accommodations at CABINS ON THE POINT ESTATE have access to a shell beach, free kayaks for guest enjoyment of the quiet bay rich with sea life, a fire ring to roast marshmallows and relax under the star bright sky and a hiking trailhead nearby. *The HEATHER CABIN & PRIMROSE CABIN both have a devoted following for a 2-person, honeymoon or romantic getaway, with a Hot Tub in a privacy grove of trees at the water's edge. It is hard to be any closer to the water without getting wet! *The 2-Bedroom WILLOW COTTAGE is a family favorite with plenty of room and charm both inside and out. *The WESTSOUND HOUSE is the main house on the Estate, with a broad deck overlooking the beach. The King-size bedroom, kitchen and living room are spacious and comfortable. We also offer 2 Private houses located on different areas of Orcas Island. *The SUNSET HOUSE is a 3-Bedroom, 2 bath waterfront house with stellar views of water, Islands,and wildlife, located near the main town of Eastsound. The large deck and waterfront yard offer outdoor living areas to enjoy the unparalleled beauty of the Island. *The very private HIGHLAND'S HOUSE is a cedar and glass mountain view home on the side of Mt. Constitution, just outside the 5000 acre Moran State Park. The two bedroom & bathroom suites flank the spacious cedar great room with stone hearth fireplace. Every room, and the extensive deck with Hot Tub, all feature a breathtaking view of Islands, water and sunsets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabins On The Point Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing