We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabins on the Point - Heather Cabin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabins on the Point

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabins on the Point
Save
You added Cabins on the Point to your Saves list
2101 Deer Harbor Road, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel amenities
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cabins on the Point - Heather Cabin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Heather Cabin provides a beautiful, quiet, and clean place for your vacation. We spent five nights of our honeymoon at the Heather Cabin and it was perfect! The accomodations are simple but all you need. We loved waking up to the beautiful harbor view. The small kitchen enabled us to prepare meals on site, thus allowing us to enjoy 'home' and save money on dining. Each evening, we savored the sunset, visits from a harbor seal, and bald eagles hunting for fish. The hot tub was private and had a view of the water. Kayaks were provided with the rental. Jennifer, the owner, is friendly and eager to share events taking place on the island. We enjoyed our stay so much that we added an extra night and never ventured to San Juan. Internet is 'spotty' and there isn't cable. Bring DVD's if you want to watch movies. I recommend leaving them at home so you can enjoy mother nature and a good book!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLavelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at Cabins on the Point in late August as the second half of a trip that took us to Mt. Rainier before coming here. Our cottage was a 2 bedroom standalone unit with a very nice kitchen/living room/sitting area. We have 2 small kids who like to run and the unit included access to beach.

Overall the unit was superb. There was plenty of heat and the rooms were very well kept. The service was provided by the proprietor, Jennifer, and she was very helpful. She was very proactive in trying to set up reservations for us at restaurants, perhaps too much so. We were more interested in bringing food to the cabin for most of our meals. Our unit had a problem with the phone that rendered it useless and we had to use a common facility phone eventually for all of our calls. She also had good recommendations about tour services, etc.

The jewel of the whole establishment, outside of the fine quarters, was the beach it had access to and the outdoor fire pit. Our kids spent countless hours throwing rocks, turning over stones to find crab colonies, touching and holding starfish, climbing rocks, and going out on kayaks. I can't say how much we enjoyed having access to this space. I'm not as interested in the quality of lodging as much as what it gives you access to, and this beach was sensational.

The location of the cabin is nice. Orcas was a great place to visit and combined with the other attractions on the island makes for a nice family stay. Our cabin was not cheap, which is why as a value, I'd say this was not the greatest, but you also get a lot in terms of the quality and upkeep of the cabin and the grounds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nirmal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were looking for a relaxing and quiet place away from our hustle and bustle days - found it all and then more at the Willow Cottage at Cabins on the Point. The owner, Jennifer was absolutely wonderful offering a wealth of information and recommendations on the best places to eat, hiking trails, local events, and more. We stayed 2 nights that just flew by! It was an ideal get-away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aabroughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I spent five nights in Heather cabin to celebrate our tenth wedding anniversary. The cabin was perfect for a relaxing, romantic getaway. The views from every room were stunning. The cabin is nicely furnished and very comfortable. We enjoyed a full moon during our stay which we gazed at out the window from the comfort of our cozy bed. Jennifer is an excellent hostess. She's a wealth of knowledge and spent time with us offering day trip and restaurant recommendations. When we weren't exploring the coastline in available kayaks or sitting and gazing at the amazing views, we were exploring the Turtleback Mountain hike with the trailhead about a quarter mile from the cabin. We also enjoyed the local organic produce from Homestead Farms farmstand just up the street from the cabin. The setting on the point was peaceful and relaxing. Heather cabin was a delight and we will be back!!! Sarah B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We honeymooned at the primrose cabin 18 years ago and have returned for two anniversaries. The location is unlike any other with spectacular sunsets and views of the bay. We kayaked from the beach among seals and starfish. The quaint cabin is full of Jennifer's lovely touches and is as cozy and private as can be. Jennifer made sure we were enjoying ourselves and checked in to tell us about events on the island. Shes a doll and and couldn't have been more hospitable. Special place!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betsygrimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I spent four nights at Sunset House for a personal Solitude Retreat. The 170 degree view of the San Juan Islands and the Canadian Coastal Range were only outdone by the amazing visits I had from the wildlife. There were numerous visits from the locals eagles, otters, seals, deer, rabbits, hummingbirds and a very special visit from a mink. He obviously uses the little pond on the property for his fresh water baths. He came up as I was sitting in the front yard. He washed and rolled around on the grass to dry off and couldn't have cared less about me! The house is beautiful and every amenity was there. Jennifer the proprietor has thought of everything. I am already planning on a return visit this October.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed in the Heather cabin for two nights during the weekend of the "super moon" May 4-6. It was incredible. Jennifer was super sweet and brought fresh flowers cut from her garden when she greeted us. She also took care to see if we were happily settled in for the weekend and shared with us a map of the island, with points of interest and plenty of restaurants and galleries and quaint little shops to visit during our stay. The surroundings are awe inspiring, one of the most beautiful places on earth. We saw so many different animals it felt like we were on the Discovery Channel. Absolutely nothing can beat this gorgeous piece of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coby w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
1.4 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
7.4 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
7.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
3.2 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
3.6 mi away
West Beach Resort
West Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Eastsound
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabins on the Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabins on the Point

Address: 2101 Deer Harbor Road, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 6 Unique Orcas Island Accommodations ALL with Kitchens and Island & Water views: The 4 accommodations at CABINS ON THE POINT ESTATE have access to a shell beach, free kayaks for guest enjoyment of the quiet bay rich with sea life, a fire ring to roast marshmallows and relax under the star bright sky and a hiking trailhead nearby. *The HEATHER CABIN & PRIMROSE CABIN both have a devoted following for a 2-person, honeymoon or romantic getaway, with a Hot Tub in a privacy grove of trees at the water's edge. It is hard to be any closer to the water without getting wet! *The 2-Bedroom WILLOW COTTAGE is a family favorite with plenty of room and charm both inside and out. *The WESTSOUND HOUSE is the main house on the Estate, with a broad deck overlooking the beach. The King-size bedroom, kitchen and living room are spacious and comfortable. We also offer 2 Private houses located on different areas of Orcas Island. *The SUNSET HOUSE is a 3-Bedroom, 2 bath waterfront house with stellar views of water, Islands,and wildlife, located near the main town of Eastsound. The large deck and waterfront yard offer outdoor living areas to enjoy the unparalleled beauty of the Island. *The very private HIGHLAND'S HOUSE is a cedar and glass mountain view home on the side of Mt. Constitution, just outside the 5000 acre Moran State Park. The two bedroom & bathroom suites flank the spacious cedar great room with stone hearth fireplace. Every room, and the extensive deck with Hot Tub, all feature a breathtaking view of Islands, water and sunsets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabins On The Point Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing