We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful time on Orcas”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabins on the Point
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We've visited Orcas on and off for over 10 years, always staying in houses rented by Cabins on the Point via Jennifer Fralick. She's a wonderful host and her houses are really great. We've stayed in both Sunset House and Highlands House and love both. They're both very comfortable and well-appointed, and are well-suited to a relaxing and peaceful stay--and both offer amazing views of the water that are perfect for long evenings with barbeques and drinks on the porch. A top notch stay in a beautiful part of the world. Many thanks to Jennifer for all of her hard work and attentive hosting.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwkingsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Cabins on the Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 73 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2011

Sunset House was a perfect place for our family of 6 adults to relax. The house is on a bluff overlooking the Pacific 180 degrees. We had a view of gorgeous sunrises and sunsets everyday. An eagle spent the cocktail/appetizer hour with us in a nearby tree. The kitchen is well-equipped and there is a comfortable dining table, which sits 6 comfortably for breakfast. Dinner was on the deck with another large table and 6 chairs. Every night we did s'mores and charades around the firepit. The washer and dryer came in handy! The house is comfortable and spacious. All 6 of us enjoyed the home and the location is ideal for a morning run, a quick jaunt into town for wonderful fresh baked breads at Rose's, whale watching, hiking, picnicing,sea kayaking, wine tasting, art gallery visiting, and horesback riding. Jennifer, the owner, was extremely helpful and had wonderful sugggestions of things to see and do. I would highly recommend the Sunset House!!!

Room Tip: The master bedroom has view of the ocean and aspectacular sunrise each morning.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kentucky2145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I have stayed in both cabins and the cottage, and each has its unique magical charm. But all have two things in common: (1) the extraordinary corner of the earth that they occupy, and (2) the aesthetic sensibilities and TLC that the owner puts into every detail. With more reasons to return there than I can possibly list here, I recently returned for the first time since the Turtleback Mountain Preserve Trail was opened. The view from the top (see photo) is truly spectacular, and the trailhead is literally just down the road -- a mere 10-minute walk -- so you won't even have to get in your car to take advantage of it. I highly recommend Cabins on the Point for beauty, comfort, and a wonderfully warm and hospitable attitude toward guests.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
3  Thank StillExploring17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Magic happened and we arrived with very short notice at this Westsound House to celebrate our 29th anniversary. We heard that Orcas Island was special and were anticipating our first visit, but were totally unprepared for the magic we experienced when we arrived at this lovely Cape Cod style waterfront estate with a big house and several cottages hidden among the trees on its well-manicured acres. It was our good fortune that the big house was the only one available and we spent a lovely weekend reminiscing about our life together in this comfortable, antique-filled reminder of days gone by.

Jennifer, the owner, has a gift for hospitality and insisted that we enter through the front door rather than the convenient mudroom off the kitchen. She was right—the view of the water from the front deck is stunning—and even included a family of Canadian geese at the water’s edge. And then we opened the front door to what could have been my grandmother’s beach house—if I’d had that kind of grandmother. Cheery colors, comfy couches, a big fireplace, a piano, and beautiful original art works and photos welcomed us home. Antique cupboards and cabinets in the dining room flanked the windows facing the water and the garden—and the table set for two. A vase of lilacs and strains of Mozart were added touches that brought tears—and that was before we saw the huge, sunny bedroom! Soft floral patterns, the antique wardrobe and chest, the cozy chaise, and the king size wrought iron bed with its soft down comforter—and another vase of lilacs perfumed the air. Then there was the huge bathroom with both tub and separate shower and lots of towels and supplies.

The large and well-stocked kitchen was another great surprise—all the dishes, glassware, cooking utensils (even a potato masher!) and a shelf of spices. Coffee pot, coffee grinder, toaster oven, blender—it’s all here—including a dishwasher! Our anniversary dinner “at home” was very special. After dinner we took a glass of wine down to the bench on the lawn and enjoyed an old-fashioned bonfire. We will be back—for anniversaries and other occasions. We’ve found our home away from home. Thanks, Jennifer, for sharing your home and your gift of hospitality with us.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jstjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed five nights at Highlands House, high in the trees overlooking the sound, and couldn't ask for a more relaxing, rejuvenating experience. This private, light-filled house perched in the trees is incredible -- and the photos on cabinsonthepoint.com just don't do it justice. We took advantage of the hot tub daily, and enjoyed the great proximity to Moran State Park with its many trails --as well as Eastsound, with its great restaurants. We ate in a few nights using the well-equipped kitchen and relaxed on the deck with its amazing views. Inside, the dwelling is cozy and comfortable -- perfect for two, but with its well-designed split bedrooms can easily accomodate two couples. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debdak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

It was the beginning of December, and after getting out the Christmas decorations and planning the hypothetical holiday dinners I realized that all I wanted for Christmas was to go somewhere quiet, less urban, near water, and just relax...alone...to "hear only my voice"..somewhere close...just me my yoga mat, my favorite CDs, a book, and casual clothes. I was inspired to google San Juan Islands...then Orcas Island...then housingI checked out the Cabins On the Point website and made an inquiring call. Jennifer answered the phone....a friendly and informative voice convinced me this would be my retreat for four nights. There were several "cabins" available for use....but the cabins are beautiful homes...clean, equipped, and only a few miles from the Ferry Landing.....The Ferry Ride was sublime, and when I drove up to the property I was in awe! Beautifully maintained..on the water...My home had a large equipped kitchen, living room, dining room with two places settings on the table, a fully equipped bathroom with shower, tub, toiletries, a bedroom too beautiful to describe with its old fashioned flowered linens...King bed.....I went to the local grocery store near the Ferry, and went back to my paradise and stayed there for four days....resting, relaxing, and meditating upon the meaning of Christmas....There was even a TV and CD player.....Jennifer was so pleasant and nurturing. I can not wait to go back for longer.....Cabins On the Point are Heaven on Earth!. I even was able to use my computer.......

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBSBSBnurturing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We can't say enough good things about our stay at Cabin's on the point!! Jennifer made sure our accommodations were spotless!! Fresh flowers in the dining and bedrooms. The antique furnishings were beautiful. We stayed in the westside house and had the most incredible views from every room!! It was the most romantic anniversary we have ever had. The fireplace was big, warm and inviting, the house was charming, the view could not have been more spectacular!! We saw sea lions, eagles, an owl, rabbits, and herons from our deck. The hot tub was clean and very private, yet open to an incredible view from a bluff. Kayaks are provided free of charge and we had so much fun paddling around the beautiful cove. Although there are three other cabins on the estate, we did not see anyone the two days that we were there. They all are very private. Thank you Jennifer for making our 25th anniversary a memorable one. We plan on returning and are recommending this place to all of our friends and family!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank okgirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
1.4 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
7.6 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
269 reviews
6.6 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#3 of 11 in Orcas Island
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island
3.4 mi away
West Beach Resort
West Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Eastsound
268 reviews
12.8 mi away
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes
#6 of 10 in Friday Harbor
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabins on the Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabins on the Point

Address: 2101 Deer Harbor Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9218
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Eastsound
Price Range: $185 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 6 Unique Orcas Island Accommodations ALL with Kitchens and Island & Water views: The 4 accommodations at CABINS ON THE POINT ESTATE have access to a shell beach, free kayaks for guest enjoyment of the quiet bay rich with sea life, a fire ring to roast marshmallows and relax under the star bright sky and a hiking trailhead nearby. *The HEATHER CABIN & PRIMROSE CABIN both have a devoted following for a 2-person, honeymoon or romantic getaway, with a Hot Tub in a privacy grove of trees at the water's edge. It is hard to be any closer to the water without getting wet! *The 2-Bedroom WILLOW COTTAGE is a family favorite with plenty of room and charm both inside and out. *The WESTSOUND HOUSE is the main house on the Estate, with a broad deck overlooking the beach. The King-size bedroom, kitchen and living room are spacious and comfortable. We also offer 2 Private houses located on different areas of Orcas Island. *The SUNSET HOUSE is a 3-Bedroom, 2 bath waterfront house with stellar views of water, Islands,and wildlife, located near the main town of Eastsound. The large deck and waterfront yard offer outdoor living areas to enjoy the unparalleled beauty of the Island. *The very private HIGHLAND'S HOUSE is a cedar and glass mountain view home on the side of Mt. Constitution, just outside the 5000 acre Moran State Park. The two bedroom & bathroom suites flank the spacious cedar great room with stone hearth fireplace. Every room, and the extensive deck with Hot Tub, all feature a breathtaking view of Islands, water and sunsets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabins On The Point Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing