We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local pool table and beer joint with best burgers in town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lower Tavern

Lower Tavern
Ranked #6 of 37 Restaurants in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Juan Islands, Washington
Level Contributor
321 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Local pool table and beer joint with best burgers in town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The title says it all, Not pretentious at all, it is what it is: center of the town beer joint with pool tables and a mixed crowd that serves the best burgers in town in a clean, neat setup with friendly folk doing the serving. That's it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    103
    31
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hubby and I had dinner here a few days ago. I know you shouldn't expect anything fancy from a tavern. But the one thing taverns/bars usually get right is bar food. And I'm totally happy with some good bar food. So we ordered a sandwich, fish and chips, a beer and glass of wine. I'm not a big wine drinker, so I'm totally fine with cheap wine, as long as it comes from a bottle that has been stored with the cork IN it. The sandwich I ordered WITHOUT tomatoes and onions came WITH tomatoes and onions, the fish was not fresh and tasteless, the coleslaw was tasteless and hardly had any dressing on it so it was really just cabbage, the wine was flat and the beer sour. It took us a VERY long time to get the check and when we did the way overworked but friendly waitress/bartender brought it to us and took the pen to sign it back with her, so we needed to chase after her to get the pen to sign the receipt. Overall, this was disappointing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sandybutler718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
1 review
“Fabulous Hot off the grill juicy belly buster burgers!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Read many reviews of restaurants in the greater Eastsound area where we were staying for two nights during the off season, and boy oh boy did they deliver! After a cold and windy stroll through town we walked in for a warm and hearty meal. My wife had a bacon cheese burger with fries and I had a Southwest burger with pepperjack cheese, bacon, avocado and green chilli.... not to forget piled high with lettuce, tomato and onion. Huge burger that I could barely wrap my mouth around and sizzling warm and juicy. ALL ingredients were fresh and the fries hot and fresh out of the fryer not luke warm under a heat lamp. I am not kidding, THE BEST burger I've had in many many years. The atmosphere was warm, very clean and well kept place. It didnt really feel like a tavern. I counted 6 locals all eating burgers and a cold beer and 3 people popping in and out with to go orders. Very resonable, 2 burgers with fries, ice tea for wife and a PBR pint for me..... $27.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DOOFBALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Burgers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a quick afternoon meal while wandering through Eastsound, WA ..

Lower Tavern was the perfect spot....great burger and a good selection of local ales...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bluewater415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best burgers around.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Not a typical tavern. Friendly locals, and a great selection of food on the menu. They have a nice selection of beer on tap, and various wines too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank joanlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lower Tavern also viewed

 
Eastsound, Orcas Island
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 

Been to Lower Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing