We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique, peaceful, very nice!”
other travelers have booked this property
Magical Forest House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Magical Forest House
Main Living Room ceiling and skylight (futon not there anymore) Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Magical Forest House
Main Living Room ceiling and skylight (futon not there anymore)
Kitchen
Between Tubroom/Kitchen
Tubroom
Skylight
Bathroom
Tower
Tower Stairs
Extra bed or couch nook on the second story of tower
reading, meditation, hang out in second story of tower
Bedroom skylight
looking down from the second story tower Deck
From the large deck looking back at Tower
Exterior at twilight
Night time at Hobbit land
Spectacular Sunset in Eastsound
Parking and neighborhood shot--very private and woodsy
Community Beach down the street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Eastsound, Orcas Island, San Juan Islands, Washington

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sprout547...
Oregon City, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique, peaceful, very nice!”
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was such a unique home to stay in. It was quiet and peaceful, we saw lots of deer and wild turkeys in the neighborhood, great view from the deck. A great place to stay while enjoying Orcas Island!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZSS1980
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly magic!”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Okay, we are Tolkien fans. We have yet to decide whether this is truly a Hobbit house (which it looks like as you enter and once you are inside) or an Elvin tree house (which is the feeling we had sitting on the many lovely decks). Either way, we had a spectacular stay with our four-year-old. It is a truly unique experience to stay in this home. It is clearly built with love and very well maintained. The stairs to the bedroom may be a bit difficult for the elderly or very small children to maneuver. Also there is no bathroom in the bedroom structure. As long as you are okay with these minor details, you will have a lovely stay in a secluded hideaway that feels like a fairy tale yet is less than 10 minutes from East Sound and all its restaurants and shops.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semipreci...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing, serene, an escape”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The hobbit house was all it was billed to be, and more. The location was stunning and it had all the amenities. There was a funkiness to the decor but it was still magical.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dctravelu...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Magnificent”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A beautiful place to relax. The house is amazing. Loved all the porches. The house was great place to return to after a day playing in the outdoors.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBarnGo...
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“This is our dream home in our dream location.”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Wow. The Magical Hobbit House is possibly the most amazing place we have ever stayed. First, everything you need is there. Fresh towels, comfortable bed, plenty of hot water a gorgeous deck, quiet solitude and perfect, amazing craftsmanship of a beautiful tree house set just below the canopy of 130' pines. This property is very romantic! Second, the island is set in the middle of some of the best of the world's Great Outdoors. We wandered down to the beach and watched porpoises, seals and bald eagles for hours. We hiked through old growth forests and to the top of the mountain. The sailing was fantastic and the chefs, cooks and bakers of the island should be given an award. Third, the owners of this rental are thoughtful and responsive. In fact, we are making plans to visit again in the fall so our daughters can experience this gem.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makemelau...
Bellevue, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most AaaahMazing little getaway place we have ever stayed in!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Unlike most places I have found online, the Hobbit House is far better than the photos can possibly show. The woodwork, the bathing room, the bedroom in the trees, the decks, the view, I could go on and on!
The kitchen is beautifully designed with gorgeous wood counter tops, a really cool hammered copper sink, and is fully stocked with everything we needed plus more.
The bathing room has a 2-person? (we both fit in it!) round tub in the center of the room that is set into the floor with a shower wand for rinsing, a portable heater, linens, and even bath robes.
The main room has a comfortable futon, a couple of stuffed chairs, and a table and chairs for meals. There is also a propane fireplace that heats the room well, 2 TVs, VHS, DVD player, and tons of movies to watch. There are also a couple of games and some books. There was even a cool xylophone on top of one of the hutches that I played "Happy Birthday" to my fiancee on when he woke up on birthday morning.
The last room, which is connected to the main room by a short part of the deck, has an office on the bottom floor and a bedroom on the top floor that is accessed by a narrow spiral staircase that runs around one side of the unit. The memory foam mattress on the bed (with a sheep-skin like pad on top of it) was brand new when we got there and SO comfortable. I slept like a baby.
All three of the rooms are round and have round plastic domes in the center of the roofs which let light in. Also, much of the walls are floor-to-ceiling windows with gorgeous views. The sunrise across the water on our last morning there was gorgeous! There are no window coverings on the windows but you don't need any because it is very private. I LOVED all of the windows!
There is a huge deck that wraps around the back side of the two first buildings with a barbecue, picnic table, and small table and chairs. The deck faces the water and is so peaceful to sit out there and enjoy coffee in the morning or read a book in the evening.
I just cannot say enough about this place.
There is beach access very near by that we walked along and tons of great hiking in Moran State Park, phenomenal views from the top of Mount Constitution and fun little shops down on Main Street. I cannot comment on any restaurants as we cooked all of our meals in the Hobbit House.
This was probably the first place we have ever stayed where we actually wanted to spend more time inside than out doing things - the Hobbit House is just that much fun!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The architecture and comfort of the home.
Liked least: The toilet had an issue but the owners came out and fixed it RIGHT AWAY!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewed October 20, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing