We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Home Away From Home”
other travelers have booked this property
View from the Upper Deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the Upper Deck
Upper Deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
18 reviews
View from the Upper Deck
Upper Deck
View from the Upper deck
Spacious Upper Deck
Kitchen and Breakfast bar
Dining Area (Chairs for 8) and Breakfast Bar
Family room view from Master Loft
Master bath with jacuzzi bathtub
Main Floor Bedroom- two twins or a converted king
Downstairs Suite
Downstairs Suite- queen bed and queen sofa bed- microwave and small refrigerator
Downstairs Suite
Downstairs Suite- BlueRay and Netflix
View from backyard
Back yard
Teepees in the back yard
Sunset view from the upper deck
View from Mt. Constitution
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Eastsound, Orcas Island, San Juan Islands, Washington

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
JN_Wheatl...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

I have had the opportunity to stay at 'Dancing Deer' twice over the past two years and am making plans to stay there again this October. I attend workshops that are held there on Orcas Island and can't wait to notify Susan and Charles that I'm putting together plans to attend another one. Susan is so accommodating and adds so much to the process of securing a place to stay when on Orcas Island. Dancing Deer is a spacious home that allows individuals to work together in the kitchen or spend 'quiet time' away from each other if they choose. Both times I was there, the Deer were all around the property and the wildlife was in full view to be photographed. I bought groceries there at the 'Island Market' in East Sound and prepared most meals on site. The kitchen has everything I require to create home cooked meals. The location is minutes from Moran State Park in one direction and if you go in the other direction, minutes from Rosario. The photos of the property are accurate in every detail. It's a pleasure to stay at 'Dancing Deer'. Thank You, Susan and Charles.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Staying in a home that has the feeling of home.
Liked least: That I couldn't stay longer
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2013
Thank-you Neil. We are thrilled that you are planning a third stay. It is our privilege to have guests like yourself. Thank-you, Susan and Charles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I-love-Ru...
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding Views & So Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

My husband and I have only been here a few days and already it feels like home. The home is beautiful and has everything you need provided. I am very picky about rentals being cleaned well and I was so happy to see the place was immaculate. The beds are very comfortable and each room has individual climate control. Susan and Charles are great hosts who want to make sure your stay is memorable. The view from the kitchen, living room, upstairs bedroom, and both decks are outstanding. Very close to Moran State Park and Eastsound shops. We are so lucky that we don't have to leave for 8 more days. We will be back.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Views
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2013
Thank-you Diane and Dave. We appreciate your enthusiasm for our home and the island and would welcome you back. Susan and Charles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottO380...
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“Just what we needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Spent nearly a week here with wife and family (two girls 17 and 12). It was a very relaxing and comfortable "home base" for us to explore Orcas. We loved the spaciousness and the views of the sound. Everything was in clean, working order and we were able to set a relaxing "summer pace" during our stay. Lots to do and explore in the area. From Moran Park, to Deer Harbor we experienced a little bit most every day and got a real feel for island life. It was just perfect for our needs.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location and the family feel of the place
Liked least: Tricky driveway exits.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2012
Thank-you Scott. So glad that you had such a good time and found everything to be so satisfactory.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2012
Thank-you! So glad you had such a wonderful time. We are amazed and delighted by the amount of visitors we get from overseas! You join a group that includes visitors from Ireland, Germany, France, Israel, Canada, Australia, Bolivia and Singapore. We will welcome you back next year! Susan and Charles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2012
Thank-you Arthur. We are delighted that you and your family had such a wonderful stay and were so appreciative of "Dancing Deer" and our attention to detail and intent to provide a wonderful vacation home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jean R
Arlington, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Too much personal stuff and rules”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012 for a stay in April 2011

Beautiful house and views, clean and comfortably furnished. Downstairs area seperate enough to suit teens with adults upstairs. Drawback was all the (very) personal items belonging to owners in many drawers and cupboards. Felt like we were intruding in their house. Lots of signs ("keep out") and instructions, felt like a lot of rules. No deck furniture was out. Accessibility to Rosario not as easy as listing implies, owner said kids could use pool there, not so. Difficulty reaching property manager with questions (re tv & pellet stove)upon arrival.

3 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 2 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 2 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
2 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Teens had their own area to hang out
Liked least: Too many of owner's personal items, signs and instructions, rules posted
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2012
We appreciate all guest reviews. We do have some kitchen cabinets and drawers labeled "Owner's Storage" and also reserve the upper shelves of 2 of the large closets and some drawer space for our personal belongings. There are no signs in this home that say "Keep Out". Fortunately the home has ample storage left for our guests both in the kitchen and bedroom closets. Typically we have a very positive response to our instructive signs. During the low season (these guests visited in early April 2011) we do keep our teak deck furniture covered, but in future will make sure deck furniture is easily accessible for our low season guests. Rosario Resort is a 10 minute walk or a 5 minute drive. The outdoor pool is available for guests from Memorial Day to Labor Day for a fee, as stated in our listing. The Spa at Rosario has an indoor pool and offers day passes year round. In the event the Manager cannot be reached, all guests are welcome to call us on our home or cell phones.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2012
Thank-you Jane. We are so pleased that you, your children and grandchildren had such a wonderful time and that you especially appreciated the location so close to Moran State Park and the hiking trails. Also that you enjoyed the amenities of "Dancing Deer".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$185
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing