We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, solid food the”

Madrona Bar and Grill
Ranked #6 of 38 Restaurants in Eastsound
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great views, solid food the”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

The food here was good when we stopped for lunch. Nice beer menu. As noted by many, he restaurant looks out on a gorgeous elevated view of the sound. Our service was a little in attentive despite the place not being too busy when we were there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    191
    99
    32
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
166 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Best BLT”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

After our hike in Moran State Park, we took the bus to Eastsound. While not hungry, we wanted something light, and the Madrona 'hit the spot." They have a gorgeous setting on the water, a few tables outside, and lots of windows to give you the view. We weren't that hungry, so we ordered a BLT, which came with a cup of chowder. Three of us shared the serving, and it was great. Lots of bacon, and my friend said the chowder was creamy and good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rowerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
424 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location, Great View”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We actually ate there on 3 different occasions. The first time we lunched and had the grilled salmon, the steamed clams and a great Caesar Salad. All good choices. Our subsequent meals at the Madrona Grill were fine - not gourmet but nice. The actual servers were very friendly and helpful. However, the Hostess and the "helpers" provided poor service. The view is great, the location is right in town.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BKL33458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location, small accommodations”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We visited after the lunch hour, but this place gets a lot of activity. Food is okay, not the best we are on the island, but it is okay. It has a great location...right on the water. The space is cramped. We sat at a table under the bar area and just seemed we were encroaching on the couple sitting at the bar...uncomfortable. Service was a bit slow. It appeared that perhaps they needed more help. Our waitress appeared to be our waitress and the bartender... She was great, but really busy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Redbud_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't rate it any higher...”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The location is very nice. The service lacked and the cocktails were horrible. My daughter ordered a cocktail and we were amazed on the poor quality. She then gave then a second chance and ordered a margarita, it was worse as it tasted like plain, low grade mix. Lucky for me I had a beer and we left. We didn't want to take additional risk with food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrOfWaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madrona Bar and Grill also viewed

Eastsound, Orcas Island
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 
Eastsound, Orcas Island
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 
Eastsound, Orcas Island
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 

Been to Madrona Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing