We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small eatery on the water..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madrona Bar and Grill

Madrona Bar and Grill
Ranked #7 of 37 Restaurants in Eastsound
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small eatery on the water..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We wanted some lunch on a Saturday afternoon and this place had a good selection on the menu. We got a table for two facing the water. I had the fish and chips which were excellent and my companion had the BBQ which was pretty good as well. The prices were about on par with the rest of the island. The wait staff was friendly and helpful when asked for suggestions between a few items on the menu.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cindyseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    181
    98
    32
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Wonderful little bar/restaurant right on the water, gorgeous place, slightly pricey but worth every penny. Wonderful employees as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 309KellyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful views on outdoor waterfront patio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had an excellent meal, with outstanding views of Eastsound. I would recommend this restaurant if you will be in the town of Eastsound. You can walk to all the shops before or after your meal with ease.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelbuddys_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spendy, not very kid friendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The service was good. There were few kid-friendly (simple) food choices which meant my kid ended up with a grilled cheese and french fries as usual, and it took a little too long to get there. My portabella burger was yummy but inadequate as a full meal. My husband enjoyed his burger and my big kid enjoyed his pasta with salmon, but he didn't like it as a leftover. I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BetsyinBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food & Open!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have to agree with another reviewer that going to Orcas in September means that you have to deal with figuring out what restaurants are open when. However, Madrona seems to be open most of the time so we ended up eating there twice - once for lunch and once for dinner. My husband had the spinach salad with added salmon for lunch. He enjoyed it so I got it for for dinner the next night (with grilled chicken instead of salmon). The salad was delicious but the grilled chicken tender was overcooked and dry - easy to do with white meat. My husband the fish & chips for his dinner and reported it good (it certainly looked good). My lunch entree was the crab melt and I think it was the weakest dish. There was so much cheese that it overwhelmed everything else. I have to say it was rather bland. Madrona has typical seaside bar decor and looks like it could use a little sprucing up and better lighting, but the staff is very friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SMP59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madrona Bar and Grill also viewed

Eastsound, Orcas Island
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 
Eastsound, Orcas Island
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 
Eastsound, Orcas Island
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 

Been to Madrona Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing