We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great waterfront location!”

Madrona Bar and Grill
Ranked #6 of 39 Restaurants in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food and great waterfront location!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Let me start off by saying that if you visit Orcas in the off-season or shoulder season be prepared for restaurants not being open on various days and/or closing for the season. We arrived in Orcas on Tuesday, Sept. 11 to find that many restaurants were closed for the day. Luckily for us the Madrona Bar and Grill was open, was right across the street from where we were staying, and had a table open for the five of us that walked in. It is located right on the waterfront and has some great tables with views and outdoor dining as well. Everyone was very satisfied with their choice of entree. A couple of us had salads and they were plentiful and tasty. The crab bisque soup was also delicious. It is a bit loud, but it is a bar and grill after all. I felt the prices were reasonable for the island and very reasonable compared to other places we dined on the island. I would definitely go back to Madrona Bar and Grill.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RhondaMathis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    197
    102
    33
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington state
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best on Orcas Island!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Madrona is located on a cliff overlooking the bay, and serves great good and superb micro-brews. Terrific halibut fish n' chips, and burgers which are a square meal on a round bun are but a few of the menu offerings! Madrona is not to be missed by visitors to Orcas....but you'll have to get there before the locals! Excellent in all regards.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ridgefieldrmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great view, good food”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had lunch overlooking the water in Eastsound on Orcas Island. The food was good, especially the crab cakes. My husband had the fried oysters, which were good, but not exceptional. Might be a bit pricey for lunch.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank greenjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not my fav”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Food was okay not great, none of us were very thrilled with the food.There is a nice view of the marina, but a bit loud for me. I guess it is a bar and grill.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheJs_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great location with mediocre food and service”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

The decor is rustic and welcoming, but the location is one of the best in town. It has a wonderful view of Fishing Bay. The food was okay, but terribly overpriced for the portions and quality, and the service indifferent and inattentive. We had the fish and chips. The fish was fresh, but the batter overcooked and the few fries were nothing special. The coleslaw was extremely bland. I'm not sure the view is worth the price.

Helpful?
1 Thank Fisheggs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madrona Bar and Grill also viewed

Eastsound, Orcas Island
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 
Eastsound, Orcas Island
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 

Been to Madrona Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing