We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crabbing, Whale Watching, Fishing Combo”

Outer Island Expeditions
Book In Advance
More Info
$117.83*
and up
Anacortes Whale Watching
More Info
$107.02*
and up
Orcas Island Whale Watching
Ranked #1 of 8 Tours in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: 30 and 12 Passenger Orca Whale and Wildlife Trips. Our Small Fast Boats get you up-close and personal with the region's famous Orca Whales! We see whales on about 97% of our tours! Join us for a group trip or you can customize your own private charter and add fishing, kayaking, island hopping, and more.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Crabbing, Whale Watching, Fishing Combo”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Party of eight charter for the trio of activities mentioned in the title. Bo was very professional in booking this trip for us, working with us on price and plans and following up to reconfirm before the trip. Paul, our Captain (who I think was a subcontractor) was friendly, knowledgeable and a great guide for our 6 hours on the water. Had a great day and would use them again. The only reason I held back a star was there was early confusion about whether to go North or South to see the whales and by the time the decision was made and we got there and back, more than half the trip was over.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank eppikureeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    66
    5
    11
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Makawao, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent private charter experience”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We hired a private charter for 7 people, including two toddlers ages 2 & 4. The boats are brand new, comfortable, well-maintained, and well-suited for the the conditions in the San Juans. Captain Paul was knowledgeable, friendly, professional, and kind. He even brought along chocolate donuts, granola bars, and bottled water!! We saw a humpback whale, harbor porpoises, seals, eagles, exotic wild game, and a giant pacific sea star. In addition to our 3 hour tour, we also added crabbing to our expedition, which was well worth it. We caught 7 Dungeness. An amazing experience, affordable, and well worth it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 519Nova_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Whales are far away dots”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Yes, we saw orcas, but the boats can't harass them, so we saw them at quite a distance, so bring good binoculars. However, if that's OK, then this excursion was good: we were in a new and comfortable boat, the crew were knowledgeable and helpful, and we also saw seals, porpoise, and bald eagles.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amanita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“94% chance of seeing wildlife, and they give you another free tour if you dont see whales!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We had a blast, Joe was a great tour guide with tons of knowledge and expertise! The boats are brand new and Joe drives great. Make sure to sit up top because Joe likes to talk to the people on top. Also there's much more than whales

Helpful?
Thank ntfbball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Less Than Expected”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We used a Groupon for our whale watching trip. We were charged a fuel surcharge, like the other Groupon user, even though gas prices are lower than they were when we purchased the Groupon. When it came time to begin the tour we were assigned to the smaller, open air (aka "chilly") boat. Since we weren't given the choice between boats like the rest of the customers we felt it was related to the fact that we were the "discount" customers, but we'll never know for sure.

Our tour was one of the few unfortunate ones to not see any orcas. Three out of five of us on the tour did see a dorsal fin of a minke for about three seconds. It was too far away to really tell what it was, but that's what we were told. The J, K & L pods returned to the area just a few hours after our tour. Because Outer Island Expeditions prominently advertises guaranteed whale sightings, we visited them the next day to ask if we could go back out to see the orcas. We were told no, that our brief sighting of the minke fulfilled their guarantee.

I'm not saying they did anything wrong - I just feel that the whole experience was so much less than what we had expected based on the positive reviews the company receives on this site. It's easy to look good when everything goes well and you just need to drive the boat out to where the whales have been spotted, but the true measure of a company is in its customer service when someone isn't happy with an experience that they paid a lot of money for.

Even so, I would have rated them a little higher except I felt the person that dealt with my husband and I on the 2nd day was impatient and condescending. Perhaps if our expectations had been lower (as this person implied they should have been), this company would have had an easier time meeting them.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank JSJKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outer Island Expeditions also viewed

Orcas Island, San Juan Islands
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 
Deer Harbor, Orcas Island
Orcas Island, San Juan Islands
 

Been to Outer Island Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing