We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“If you have the right room, this place is dynamite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outlook Inn on Orcas Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
nj
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“If you have the right room, this place is dynamite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Outlook Inn is sort of like the Tale of Two Cities. Fortunately, we stayed in the best of rooms, and I could not have asked for much more. The hotel seems to be split into two sections- an older one with more standard rooms, including some with shared showers, and the newer one with suites that are more recently constructed. We stayed in the latter, and it made all the difference. Our unit were large and tastefully decorated, with a fridge and microwave, TV (didn't use) and small balcony overlooking a Beautiful unobstructed view of the water (we were on the second floor, and that added to the view.) There was a large bathroom with beautiful tub and a separate enhanced shower, extremely comfortable king size bed, and fold out couch in a sitting area.
The hotel is located right within walking distance of the small shops in Eastsound, which is a very quaint area. Short ride to Mt. Constitution for beautiful views at the top. The staff gets big kudos for being accommodating and flexible. There was a mix up with my reservation, and they had me down for two rooms instead of one. There's a good chance I was the one at fault, and had missed cancelling one of the days when I changed the dates of our trip. Nevertheless, they did not charge me for the additional room. I think that is a big deal, and reflects the kind of approach I would personally like to do business with again.
Unfortunately, the restaurant was not open, as I was there on a Wed. But it has a lovely view, and I understand the food is awesome. Perhaps next time.
We had our teenage daughter with us, which worked out well (she loved the tub.) But I sort of wish I was alone with my wife- a perfect romantic retreat.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor in the new building, and the view from our room was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chickyskids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    95
    24
    22
    8
See reviews for
89
208
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Very beautiful room with outstanding views of East Sound. The King sized bed was particularly comfortable with a thick foam topper. The New Leaf Café was excellent with a great happy hour.
I highly recommend this property especially the bay view suites!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Really nice historic inn. Several sections, some like old style motel rooms, some with shared bathroom. We stayed in a luxury bay view suite. First they assigned us room 44 well NO....you could see the view if you were standing but there was a big bush/tree right in front of the sliding glass door totally blocking any view. We were moved to room 53 which was wonderful. Upon arrival they had left us a complimentary bottle of champagne since it was our anniversary, room had nice sitting area, looking out to the bay with sofa and small table, small patio with 2 chairs that looked directly to the bay. The bed has a 3" foam topper so quite soft but comfy. Nice kuerig coffee maker in room. The room was comfortable and spacious. We had dinner one night at their restaurant and it was fabulous. Great place to stay on Orcas Island

Room Tip: The bay view suites are really great. Do not get room 44
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dotti143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We made a reservation for July 4th but mixed up the dates and arrived only the day after. Not only we weren't charged for the no-show, but we were upgraded to a suite for the price of the lost night. Thank you so much for a great customer service experience. The king suite was specious with breathtaking view. Beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inbal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We chose to host our wedding reception in the Victorian Room at the Outlook Inn. From start to finish the event staff was great to work with while planning the entire wedding from another state. The room was beautiful, the food was absolutely incredible and our guests enjoyed their weekend at the Inn. I could not have asked for a better experience and hope to spend many anniversaries to come at the Outlook Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Lovely small inn on my favorite island. Had wonderful views of the sound and rest of island. In middle of quaint town and very near very cool state park and Mt. Constitution and lake. Room had a small porch and fireplace and kitchenette.
Place is a little dated but that is part of the charm.

Room Tip: be sure you get a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanita, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is our second visit to Outlook Inn where its ambiance creates a totally enjoyable experience. Our 3-night stay in a room that overlooks East Sound is spacious as it's comfortable. A separate shower and Jacuzzi tub with a warm towel holder adds to the overall pleasure one has the moment the suitcases are unpacked. The town with great restaurants, shops, bakery, etc. begins one street over from the Inn. The evenings are quiet and the outdoor balcony allows you to enjoy the scenic Ease Sound that begins just across the road.

Room Tip: Select a suite that overlooks the East Sound
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
6.3 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
12.3 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
12.1 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#6 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
12.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outlook Inn on Orcas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outlook Inn on Orcas Island

Property: Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Address: 171 Main St, PO Box 210, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9635
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Outlook Inn on Orcas Island 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The islands oldest family run 40 room hotel in the heart of Eastsound on Orcas Island. Three distinct styles of rooms from luxury to economy, all just steps from boutiques, galleries, and the restaurants. On site restaurant the New Leaf Cafe and Lounge features seafood and incredible cocktails with a water view. Banquet facilities and off site catering to help you mark the special occasions of your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Outlook Inn on Orcas Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outlook Inn On Orcas Island Hotel Eastsound
Outlook Hotel Eastsound
Outlook Inn Orcas Island
Outlook Hotel On Orcas Island
Outlook Inn On Orcas Island Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing