We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel with Amazing Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel with Amazing Views”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I really enjoyed this Inn. It is centrally located to all Eastsound spots so you can walk everywhere. I stayed in room 40 which is a Junior Suite. The room has a fireplace, refrigerator, balcony, Kuerig coffee maker and heated towel rack. The view from this room is spectacular! What a way to wake up. Unfortunately the café was closed, so cannot comment on the food, but will definitely be back. Note, this hotel is located on Main street so I image the traffic noise might be a issue during the high season. Very clean, very comfortable and very pleasant staff made for a great pre holiday vacation.

Room Tip: upper floors have better views and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RainCityDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    104
    27
    24
    10
See reviews for
100
229
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed two nights in one of the suites looking over East Sound. The view and the room were just what we wanted. The room, with its two levels, seemed much bigger than its square footage and the view from the bed was as nice as from the living area. We had s good sized galley kitchenette and a huge bathroom with a nice heated towel rack! Luxury. Waking up to the grey sky gradually turning bright blue over the sound was a real treat as was watching a fellow guest (who had borrowed the Inn's kayak) explore the Sound by water.

The staff were welcoming and happily accommodated our somewhat late arrival. The desk clerk told us the few places in town still open for food including the New Leaf Cafe on site.

The bed was big and comfortable, the fireplace made a nice romantic ambiance and the deck was high enough that we kept the door open for much of the time we were in the room, even at night. We will go back the first chance we get. Eastsound and Orcas have a real charm and part of that charm is the Outlook Inn.

Room Tip: The Bayview Suites are lovely for a splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyAnnieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Orca Island are such a special place with whale watching, hiking and great food. The Inn was water front and our water front room was lovely with a king size bed elevated above the sitting room so you were eye level with the view. Nice balcony for morning coffee. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Choose water front rooms for the best view and the top floor. No elevator you have to carry your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomad55_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband and I as well as our friends decided to go to Orcas Island for the weekend …we stayed at this hotel…is was very cozy ..clean..staff was very friendly and helpful….We loved our stay …weather was perfect !!! I would GO BACK IN A HEART BEAT!!!

Room Tip: I would have asked for a water view and check out the suites !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2013

After making a reservation a month and a half early, the hotel lost our reservation. Luckily i phoned to confirm our stay the day of arrival. They were able to give us a room, but it was smaller than originally reserved. We paid $149 for our living social, but when I received the bill our room charge was $126. We were told three different stories as to why that happened, none if them was because of the size of the room. They offered no consulation. We had another couple with us who had the larger room, same price. We were promised an answer from the manager, but nothing was done. Will not stay here again. Excuses from the time we walked in until we left. Water pressure in bathrooms event from low to high and from freezing to scalding hot within seconds. Very disappointing with the three hour journey each way to get to outlook inn

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The room was comfortable and well furnished, if just a shade shabby. The room showed a lack of maintenance – peeling paint, blackberry vines and snails invading the porch, a spongy step, etc. On the other hand, the view was fabulous and we were surprised with champagne on ice upon arrival (it was our anniversary). The kitchenette was appreciated. The bathroom is huge and well appointed. The location is central to the entire island and within walking distance of a few nice eateries, including the New Leaf Café on the first floor of the Inn where we had a great dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoomersRock5256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansville, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to stay! As the inn wasn't full, they upgraded us to a better room at no cost and we were thrilled! A beautiful view, lovely fireplace, comfortable beds and wonderful smelling shampoo/soap/lotion. The central location was great for day trips around the island and there are good shops and restaurants nearby. The staff was so friendly, too. We would definitely come again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mssweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
6.2 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
262 reviews
12.3 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
441 reviews
11.9 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
265 reviews
6.9 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
148 reviews
5.3 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#3 of 11 in Orcas Island
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outlook Inn on Orcas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outlook Inn on Orcas Island

Property: Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Address: 171 Main St, PO Box 210, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9635
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Outlook Inn on Orcas Island 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The islands oldest family run 40 room hotel in the heart of Eastsound on Orcas Island. Three distinct styles of rooms from luxury to economy, all just steps from boutiques, galleries, and the restaurants. On site restaurant the New Leaf Cafe and Lounge features seafood and incredible cocktails with a water view. Banquet facilities and off site catering to help you mark the special occasions of your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Outlook Inn on Orcas Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outlook Inn On Orcas Island Hotel Eastsound
Outlook Hotel Eastsound
Outlook Inn Orcas Island
Outlook Hotel On Orcas Island
Outlook Inn On Orcas Island Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing