We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to de-stress”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
1 review
“Great place to de-stress”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Beautiful room, cozy fireplace, comfortable bed and furnishings...even warm towels and heated floor in the bathroom. A nice unexpected perk was the microwave and mini frig so we didn't have to find a place to eat every meal. The New Leaf Café had excellent food and service. Amazing seafood and salad using lots of local vegetables. Things had calmed down from the summer tourist season so we had a wonderful, relaxing trip. We wandered around town a little, checking out the local art and enjoyed a walk along the beach. We explored the island a bit and were very impressed with Moran State Park. We even bought yarn from a local shepherdess. Overall a very favorable experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    104
    27
    24
    10
See reviews for
100
228
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My first trip to the island without my dogs, therefore we could stay at the Outlook Inn. What a lovely surprise! We got a beautiful room with a view on the water. The room was large with everything you can wish for in a lovely room! It even had two big bathrobes to cuddle in front of the fireplace! It was a room for use also by disabled people. I was amazed how well it was supplied with every detail for a person with disabilities.

We also had a delicious breakfast at the New Leaf restaurant. When I travel without my dogs, this is the place I will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vita O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Outlook Inn location is perfect if you want to be a convenient walk away from the beach, cafes and early morning sunrises and wonderful sunsets. The views are breathtaking and those are just a few reasons. The real reasons are the amazing rooms, themselves.

Fine linens, comfortable easy foam king sized beds, large soaking jet tubs, and separate showers for those who want the option. Sitting area includes a comfy sofa, big easy chairs and a 32 inch screen for movies. A small deck provides privacy on the second floor level, which we recommend so that you are up away from traffic noise and walking traffic visibility.

Room Tip: Second floor room with king bed and large bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umegrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was like staying in the 1890's-1940's but with running water and electricity. Lovely room with a terrific view of the water. There were street noises because that is where the waterfront is, but otherwise quiet. Very pleasant staff, attentive and helpful We enjoyed breakfast on the balcony watching the fog lift and the sun sparkle on the water.

Room Tip: Choose the front for great water views, the back for more quiet. This is at the end of a very pictu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 120Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We did not stay in the main building, but in a building next door that looks like they aquired an old run-down cheap motel. So on the positive side, it was clean and quiet, but certainly nothing special. The bathroom was small and the water in the shower was extremly sensitive -- going for freezing to scalding without even touching the faucet!
The Inn has a wonderful restaurant attached to it - The New Leaf Cafe. We only had brunch ther on Sunday, but it was excellent.
In general I would say, you need to be prepared for the town to be very quiet this time of year (Mid-Oct). I was surprised at the number of placed closecompletely or with reduced hours.

Room Tip: try for something in the main building. We may have been stuck inthe out building because we need s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtripper165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night before a whale watching tour. We arrived late at night, so we couldn't see much of the island or hotel as we pulled in, but we awoke to the most glorious bay view out our windows. Our room was beautifully furnished and impeccably clean. The property itself looks like it would be fun to explore, there are little ponds and gardens....there is a gift shop and restaurant as well. We glanced at the menu which looked to be great- lots of fresh and local foods, but we decided we were more in a beer/ burger mood ;-) I would love to come back again and stay longer.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful too. I had emailed a few weeks earlier to inquire about their rates. When I actually booked it, I did so online only to realize I paid a little more. I contacted the hotel , and they actually credited me the difference! Wow, who does that? Definitely made me a happy customer! :-)

Room Tip: There is a smaller building that is more "motel ish" and has no view.....opt for the bay v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libbikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This really was a wonderful choice on an island that we had never visited before.
The second week of Sept had fabulous weather for us to enjoy.
The room was magnificent. Incredible views, comfortable, friendly staff...would definitely stay again. The restaurant was also closed initially when we were there...very disappointing. We did try the next night with a reservation but the staff was not tuned into seating requests or times. Moved over to a great water view pub down the street with good food and a friendly staff (Madrona Bar & Grill). May be a better choice. Tried the New Leaf for breakfast and had a better experience. Enjoy...its an easy choice. Easy access to all of the good stuff & a great hopping off point to explore the rest of the island.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteviLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
6.2 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
12.3 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
11.9 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
5.3 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#3 of 11 in Orcas Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outlook Inn on Orcas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outlook Inn on Orcas Island

Property: Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Address: 171 Main St, PO Box 210, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9635
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Outlook Inn on Orcas Island 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The islands oldest family run 40 room hotel in the heart of Eastsound on Orcas Island. Three distinct styles of rooms from luxury to economy, all just steps from boutiques, galleries, and the restaurants. On site restaurant the New Leaf Cafe and Lounge features seafood and incredible cocktails with a water view. Banquet facilities and off site catering to help you mark the special occasions of your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Outlook Inn on Orcas Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outlook Inn On Orcas Island Hotel Eastsound
Outlook Hotel Eastsound
Outlook Inn Orcas Island
Outlook Hotel On Orcas Island
Outlook Inn On Orcas Island Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing