We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down the best B&B on Orcas Island”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 12 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Washington state
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Hands down the best B&B on Orcas Island”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you're looking for a fancy B&B featuring matching robes, hot tubs, and a flatscreen TV in your room....you won't find those things here. But, you WILL find the hands down best B&B on Orcas Island. Double Mountain B&B is located on the hilltop overlooking Eastsound village, with unparalleled views of the bay, surrounding islands and fantastic scenery, and the distant lights of Vancouver, BC, from the large and inviting decks. Sound good? It's better than described here. Gail, the owner, is welcoming and charming, as well as very knowledgeable about everything to do with Orcas Island. Now...NOW let's talk about the breakfasts! Gail knows food. Her breakfasts are the down home breakfasts you would have anytime, if only you could find someone to cook like this for you. But, 'many are called...few are chosen'. Gail is the real deal. So, when you plan your visit to Orcas Island, avoid the other options for lodging. Make your reservation at Double Mountain B&B. You will be pleased on every level, and you will have bragging rights that you stayed at the best Orcas Island has to offer.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms at Double Mountain, so make your reservation early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ridgefieldrmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, WA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We recently stayed in Gail's B&B and I too, would call it "staying in her home". We have stayed in B&B's all over the world and this one will rate at the top for us!! It was my husband's BD and we had the basement suite with the huge, gorgeous deck and views to die for!! It was quiet, peaceful, and so very comfortable in every way. Gail's sweet personality and great cooking make this an amazing place to stay. We will definitely be back as often as we can!!! Thank you, Gail, for making this one of my hubby's favorite birthdays ever!

Room Tip: I did get a look at the other two rooms and I think they are all very comfortable with great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridgefieldjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Gail's Sunrise Vista room. The King size bed was very comfortable (this is coming from my husband who has back problems), and the view of East Sound right outside our door on the deck was breath-taking. Gail is so friendly and helpful, and is also an amazing cook...her oatmeal pancakes were so good!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and I can echo other reviewers in saying that Gail made us feel like guests instead of paying customers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ouisch7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent 3 night in Gail's home. I call it a home rather than a B&B because we felt more like her guests than paying visitors. The home is comfortable, not luxurious. The view is one-in-a-million. Gail is smiling and laughing at all times. A real sweet lady and hostess. If you are looking for a stuffy stylized place to stay, this is not your place. If you want to feel like you can put your feet up and chat, you are home here. Breakfasts are wonderful. We got wine and Cheetos one day in the late afternoon; no fancy wine and appetizers. Loved it! Could have been a little less cluttered, but it was clean clean clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micknme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is the kind of place people don't often review so they won't have an issue booking when they want to come back. Being from NYC, we can only hope our travel plans take us back to Orcas and the Double Mountain B&B in the future. A traditional bed and breakfast, the Double Mountain is perched high above Eastsound and affords sweeping 270 degree vistas. In the morning the sun dances on the water and in the evening the lights of Vancouver only compete with the stars in the sky. The innkeeper, Gail is down-to-earth, friendly and we very much appreciated her hospitality. The rooms themselves were not fancy and not upscale, but were certainly clean and comfortable. All in all, an superb value for a unique location, stellar service, fresh baked breakfasts and a charming host.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachvsMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

As a frequent visitor to Orcas Island, I've had the good fortune to stay at most of Trip Advisor's
top rated B & Bs on the island. This summer I spent 4 nights at Double Mountain in the 2-bedroom Eagle's View Suite. What a spectacular view of Mt. Constitution and the azure waters of Eastsound from the deck off our room-- we also saw a double rainbow, three fawns in the backyard along with small planes landing and taking off throughout the day. Gail, the innkeeper, is a gracious host and fabulous cook. She made us feel welcome in her comfortable home, cooking up delicious breakfast treats such as her Dutch Babies pancakes with homemade raspberry sauce.

Our room was gigantic, with a separate bedroom, fully stocked kitchen, and enough room to sleep an entire family. Double Mountain is now my number 1 pick for a comfortable stay, unequalled views, good value and scrumptious breakfasts on Orcas. Can't wait to book my return trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boemelaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Charming place with an amazing view. This is a place to come if you want to relax in a beautiful setting. Gail was accommodating, a fun people-person, and a wonderful breakfast cook. Our downstairs suite was spacious, clean, and had kitchen facilities. Wireless worked great. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
0.6 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
5.8 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
265 reviews
6.7 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
459 reviews
11.8 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
151 reviews
3.4 mi away
Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast

Property: Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast
Address: PO Box 614, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-0614
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Double Mountain Bed And Breakfast Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing