We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Superb in every way!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #6 of 13 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Ridgefield, WA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb in every way!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We recently stayed in Gail's B&B and I too, would call it "staying in her home". We have stayed in B&B's all over the world and this one will rate at the top for us!! It was my husband's BD and we had the basement suite with the huge, gorgeous deck and views to die for!! It was quiet, peaceful, and so very comfortable in every way. Gail's sweet personality and great cooking make this an amazing place to stay. We will definitely be back as often as we can!!! Thank you, Gail, for making this one of my hubby's favorite birthdays ever!

Room Tip: I did get a look at the other two rooms and I think they are all very comfortable with great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ridgefieldjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Gail's Sunrise Vista room. The King size bed was very comfortable (this is coming from my husband who has back problems), and the view of East Sound right outside our door on the deck was breath-taking. Gail is so friendly and helpful, and is also an amazing cook...her oatmeal pancakes were so good!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and I can echo other reviewers in saying that Gail made us feel like guests instead of paying customers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ouisch7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent 3 night in Gail's home. I call it a home rather than a B&B because we felt more like her guests than paying visitors. The home is comfortable, not luxurious. The view is one-in-a-million. Gail is smiling and laughing at all times. A real sweet lady and hostess. If you are looking for a stuffy stylized place to stay, this is not your place. If you want to feel like you can put your feet up and chat, you are home here. Breakfasts are wonderful. We got wine and Cheetos one day in the late afternoon; no fancy wine and appetizers. Loved it! Could have been a little less cluttered, but it was clean clean clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micknme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is the kind of place people don't often review so they won't have an issue booking when they want to come back. Being from NYC, we can only hope our travel plans take us back to Orcas and the Double Mountain B&B in the future. A traditional bed and breakfast, the Double Mountain is perched high above Eastsound and affords sweeping 270 degree vistas. In the morning the sun dances on the water and in the evening the lights of Vancouver only compete with the stars in the sky. The innkeeper, Gail is down-to-earth, friendly and we very much appreciated her hospitality. The rooms themselves were not fancy and not upscale, but were certainly clean and comfortable. All in all, an superb value for a unique location, stellar service, fresh baked breakfasts and a charming host.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachvsMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

As a frequent visitor to Orcas Island, I've had the good fortune to stay at most of Trip Advisor's
top rated B & Bs on the island. This summer I spent 4 nights at Double Mountain in the 2-bedroom Eagle's View Suite. What a spectacular view of Mt. Constitution and the azure waters of Eastsound from the deck off our room-- we also saw a double rainbow, three fawns in the backyard along with small planes landing and taking off throughout the day. Gail, the innkeeper, is a gracious host and fabulous cook. She made us feel welcome in her comfortable home, cooking up delicious breakfast treats such as her Dutch Babies pancakes with homemade raspberry sauce.

Our room was gigantic, with a separate bedroom, fully stocked kitchen, and enough room to sleep an entire family. Double Mountain is now my number 1 pick for a comfortable stay, unequalled views, good value and scrumptious breakfasts on Orcas. Can't wait to book my return trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boemelaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Charming place with an amazing view. This is a place to come if you want to relax in a beautiful setting. Gail was accommodating, a fun people-person, and a wonderful breakfast cook. Our downstairs suite was spacious, clean, and had kitchen facilities. Wireless worked great. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We had trouble finding a reasonably-priced B&B on Orcas until we came across this place. After reading all of the other glowing reviews, we would not disagree with any of them. For some reason however, it only ranks #6 of 14 on Tripadvisor's list of B&B's in Eastsound, not sure why that is. Possibly because it has fewer reviews than the other B&B's. We stayed in the lowest priced room (Serenity) and were very satisfied with it. It's good-sized, but the view is not as good as the other two rooms. It's still got a nice view though. Also, the bath is a few steps down the hallway, but it is not shared with the other rooms. We felt lucky to have found this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
0.5 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
5.9 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast
4.1 mi away
Rosario Resort and Spa
Rosario Resort and Spa
#2 of 5 in Eastsound
4.0 of 5 stars 487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Landmark Orcas Island
Landmark Orcas Island
#4 of 13 in Eastsound
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast

Property: Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast
Address: PO Box 614, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-0614
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Double Mountain Bed And Breakfast Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing