We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hostess and Outstanding View”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 12 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Gail's Sunrise Vista room. The King size bed was very comfortable (this is coming from my husband who has back problems), and the view of East Sound right outside our door on the deck was breath-taking. Gail is so friendly and helpful, and is also an amazing cook...her oatmeal pancakes were so good!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and I can echo other reviewers in saying that Gail made us feel like guests instead of paying customers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ouisch7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 30 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent 3 night in Gail's home. I call it a home rather than a B&B because we felt more like her guests than paying visitors. The home is comfortable, not luxurious. The view is one-in-a-million. Gail is smiling and laughing at all times. A real sweet lady and hostess. If you are looking for a stuffy stylized place to stay, this is not your place. If you want to feel like you can put your feet up and chat, you are home here. Breakfasts are wonderful. We got wine and Cheetos one day in the late afternoon; no fancy wine and appetizers. Loved it! Could have been a little less cluttered, but it was clean clean clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micknme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is the kind of place people don't often review so they won't have an issue booking when they want to come back. Being from NYC, we can only hope our travel plans take us back to Orcas and the Double Mountain B&B in the future. A traditional bed and breakfast, the Double Mountain is perched high above Eastsound and affords sweeping 270 degree vistas. In the morning the sun dances on the water and in the evening the lights of Vancouver only compete with the stars in the sky. The innkeeper, Gail is down-to-earth, friendly and we very much appreciated her hospitality. The rooms themselves were not fancy and not upscale, but were certainly clean and comfortable. All in all, an superb value for a unique location, stellar service, fresh baked breakfasts and a charming host.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachvsMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

As a frequent visitor to Orcas Island, I've had the good fortune to stay at most of Trip Advisor's
top rated B & Bs on the island. This summer I spent 4 nights at Double Mountain in the 2-bedroom Eagle's View Suite. What a spectacular view of Mt. Constitution and the azure waters of Eastsound from the deck off our room-- we also saw a double rainbow, three fawns in the backyard along with small planes landing and taking off throughout the day. Gail, the innkeeper, is a gracious host and fabulous cook. She made us feel welcome in her comfortable home, cooking up delicious breakfast treats such as her Dutch Babies pancakes with homemade raspberry sauce.

Our room was gigantic, with a separate bedroom, fully stocked kitchen, and enough room to sleep an entire family. Double Mountain is now my number 1 pick for a comfortable stay, unequalled views, good value and scrumptious breakfasts on Orcas. Can't wait to book my return trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boemelaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Charming place with an amazing view. This is a place to come if you want to relax in a beautiful setting. Gail was accommodating, a fun people-person, and a wonderful breakfast cook. Our downstairs suite was spacious, clean, and had kitchen facilities. Wireless worked great. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Becky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We had trouble finding a reasonably-priced B&B on Orcas until we came across this place. After reading all of the other glowing reviews, we would not disagree with any of them. For some reason however, it only ranks #6 of 14 on Tripadvisor's list of B&B's in Eastsound, not sure why that is. Possibly because it has fewer reviews than the other B&B's. We stayed in the lowest priced room (Serenity) and were very satisfied with it. It's good-sized, but the view is not as good as the other two rooms. It's still got a nice view though. Also, the bath is a few steps down the hallway, but it is not shared with the other rooms. We felt lucky to have found this place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scottster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed with Gail a couple nights earlier this month -- not nearly long enough unfortunately. This is one of the most wonderful B&B's we have ever stayed at. I don't know where to begin, actually.

The view is simply awesome. A 180-degree sweeping view of the San Juan Islands on one side, and the East Sound of Orcas Island on the other. All from 500 feet above the terrain/water -- just incredible. We had a beautiful king room with a picture window view as well, including a full bathroom, plus another vanity/sink outside of it also.

But beyond all of that is Gail, a very special person. After just two days, my wife felt connected to her just as she did to her own mother. Just a wonderful person, and a great cook too. Breakfast is not to be missed. Take a ferry at noon or later -- don't leave early! We had a southwest quiche, and a broiled-eggs-on-toast dish. And the pumpkin bread -- oh my! Yum-yum, good!

I just wish we didn't live so far away in St. Louis. I'm jealous of all you northwest residents. We'd go back in a heartbeat -- and hopefully will again.

Thanks for the outstanding hospitality, Gail!

You can stop researching where to stay on Orcas Island, folks. You just found it -- this is the place! (and don't worry about the steep gravel road up to it -- it's short and not a problem)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Weston66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
0.6 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
5.8 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
269 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#3 of 11 in Orcas Island
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Landmark Orcas Island
Landmark Orcas Island
#3 of 12 in Eastsound
76 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island
3.4 mi away
Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast

Address: PO Box 614, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-0614
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Double Mountain Bed And Breakfast Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing