We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but PRICEY and snooty service”
Review of New Leaf Cafe

New Leaf Cafe
Ranked #2 of 38 Restaurants in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The cafe is Delicious food with a spirit of genuine service and hospitality Guests who visit the New Leaf remark on two things consistently: the quality of the food and the caring service. Your experience is always at the forefront of our minds - the food must be good and we want you to feel taken care of, delighted, relaxed, welcomed.
Anacortes
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food but PRICEY and snooty service”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We dined there a few hours ago. The food was quite good but VERY pricey, at least for a small touristy town on a small island during off-season. We also prefer a meal presented rather than a work of art. The waitress seemed a little contemptuous of us for not buying full entrees off the menu, not buying pricey glasses of wine etc. The problem is that it was the only place in town open on a Monday evening before the last ferry leaves so its not as though one has much choice.

Suggestion: if visiting the island and planning to eat there, bring food along in your vehicle or buy food at the grocery store in East Sound. Or brace yourself to be massively fleeced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    108
    37
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent meal at New Leaf”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Portions were large, food was well prepared. Good Service, especially for the island! We had the Smoked Salmon fettuccini and Duck, both were wonderful!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seattleforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Delicious! Gorgeous setting”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The new leaf cafe was EXCELLENT. We had both breakfast and dinner there. Both were really stellar. Especially dinner from the sangria drinks, to the warm goat cheese salad, the halibut special and the amazing flourless chocolate cake with salted caramel topping (oh my!!) every bit of the meal was delicious.The view from the cafe is wonderful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank clee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Spendy”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Fabulous food, service was excellent, good cocktails would go back in heartbeat!!!!
They say reservations preferred but they sat us in the bar with a great bartender who was kind and made us feel welcome even though we had been up hiking in Moran Statepark.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank happytrails82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had the great pleasure of stopping in for breakfast. My eggs where cooked to perfection in fact the whole meal was perfect. Service was also very good could not fault anything and next time I have the pleasure of being on Orcas I will defiantly return and I think I will have the waffle as it looked amazing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yogijr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Leaf Cafe also viewed

Eastsound, Orcas Island
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 
Eastsound, Orcas Island
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 

Been to New Leaf Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing