We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (619)
Filter reviews
619 results
Traveler rating
286
210
81
30
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
286
210
81
30
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrosario resortmoran mansioncascade baymansion restaurantchristopher peacockindoor poolorgan concertthe general managermain buildingorcas islandmusic roombayside roomcascade grillking roomhillside roomold mansionmuseum upstairs
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 619 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2017

We just recently spent a week on Orcas Island, Washington, in the San Juan Islands and had dinner at several restaurants on the island. We strongly recommend the Mansion at Rosario Resort and Spa. Our dinner was outstanding as was the service. The setting is spectacular. My wife and I had some of the best seafood we have ever had. Make sure you make reservations as the restaurant is a very popular place.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

This review is related to my visit to the Moran museum/mansion only, which is now the resort. Not sure why the museum is not listed as a thing to do but it would be a shame to not share this great museum with other TAs.

We only had 2 hours on Orcas Island and it was cloudy so we decided not to drive up to the summit. As such, I was desperately in need of things to do besides visiting Eastsound. Upon some google search, this museum came up. It was a quick drive from Eastsound and the visit was free! They also offer a presentation/speaker event at 4pm about the history/music. The visit consisted of the museum part (1 room) and a tour around his old mansion where you can see the bedrooms, a study, and a living room. Well worth the tour plus the bathroom inside the hotel is super clean! Definitely stop by for some history lesson.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017

We loved our 3 nights at Rosario Resort. The resort is a reminder of times gone by and you could almost imagine the ladies and gentlemen of the early 1900s playing croquet on the lawn. The daily afternoon organ recital and historical presentation was excellent! We enjoyed it tremendously and it enhanced our appreciation of the resort. All the staff members we came into contact with were extremely helpful and friendly. The gift shop guy gave us an impromptu, gracious tour of the spa rooms when we showed interest in the indoor swimming pool. Rooms are large and comfortable but the hill up to them is a killer - don't torture yourself - use your car to get back and forth. If I had one suggestion, it would be invest in a funicular up the hill or devote one staff person with a golf cart to shuttle people up and down. We went hiking every day in Moran State Park and Turtleback Reserve then came back to drinks, dinner and a relaxing evening on our balcony overlooking the water. Slept soundly because of the quiet. Next time, we'll just use the trail that leads directly from the property into the state park for full days of hiking. If you are a beach person, Orcas Island is probably not the best place for you. If you don't have a car, Rosario might feel a bit isolated. If you are a history buff, you'll love it. If you like hiking, you'll love the proximity. If you like a quiet, relaxing, cool (temperature) place to slow down for a few days, I'd highly suggest it.

Room Tip: We did hilltop which was the least expensive and our view of the water was great - no need to splurge for bayview rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile

As beautiful as the area is. Its hard to not be distracted by furniture years beyond useful life...Wi-Fi that barely and erratically works.... You'd expect a lot more... But don't!

Now for the positive..... The area is gorgeous! Employees are very nice. The very slow service at the two restaurants does result in pretty good food at fair prices.

Family pool is perfect temperature, but very high in chlorine.

Tips..... You must have a car! They provide no transportation and the resort area is vast. The town is quite a distance away, about a 20 minute drive. There are a handful of restaurants there...a pretty good pub, a very good taqilla place... And a really excellent farm to table breakfast and lunch place called Catkin, attached to a very fine gallery.. Its by far the best place to eat.

I also recommend sailing with Nat at Orcas Island Sailing.

If I were to go back, I'd check out the hotels closer to town. Until Rosario invests in renovation,.I don't think it should be a first choice

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank alanglazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile

Got a hot stone massage here when we were up sailing the San Juan Islands. Massage was wonderful and reasonably priced. The harbor is also nice. A little small and a tad pricy but a nice place to stay for a night or two.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews