We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosario Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited Orcas Island in May which is early but we were very disappointed. Not sure what I expected but the Rosario didn't look as good as it does in the pictures. We stayed in the Skagit building which isn't much to look at on the outside but once we entered the room we were pleasantly surprised. We had a really nice view too. We didn't have a microwave so we had to call and have one sent to us which took 2 phone calls. Then we tried to find a soda machine and were told they didn't have any vending machines but that we could drive to town. The restaurant was very expensive so we didn't eat there (I don't like spending $12+ for eggs for breakfast). We ended up having to drive back into Eastsound for all our meals. The Rosario Resort might be better in the summertime when more things are happening there but I felt we were out in the middle of nowhere with nothing to do....or eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
I am sorry to hear this guest had a disappointing visit. She should have never been told to go to town to buy soda, as our front desk has the ability to get cans of soda for our guests after hours, unless they were requesting an item we do not stock. It is unfortunate this guest found our breakfast menu expensive. Our Morning Glory, which includes two eggs any style, herb roasted potatoes, choice of bacon or sausage and toast is $11. We offer numerous items under $10, including half portions of Eggs Benedict ($7) and Salmon Benedict ($9), Oatmeal Brulee ($10), Housemade Granola ($9), and Fresh Fruit Plate ($7). All of our menus, with pricing, are posted on our website and pricing is very reasonable for Orcas Island. Future guests should be reminded that products on Orcas Island (gas, groceries, food, etc.) are more expensive than the mainland due to the added transportation expenses and general costs of doing business on an island.

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    189
    77
    26
    10
See reviews for
134
297
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed in the Skagit building in the Deluxe waterside King? The room was a suite with extremely comfortable bedding, chairs and a fabulous deck to sit out and enjoy the view. We had been running around a lot doing sightseeing and this was the perfect property to put up our feet and enjoy the sights of the island.

We stayed for our 20th wedding anniversary and on entering our room found a chilled bottle of wine and a cd of piano music by M. Peacock.

The front desk staff were all so sweet and helpful, even though we arrived hours before our room was ready the gladly helped us pick out things to do on the island and then called us when our room was ready. Other staff we met on the site greeted us and were very friendly.

Keep in mind this is an older historic property and with age and history comes a property with some gray hairs and wrinkles, but it only enhances its charm.

Thank you for a lovely stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I realize we visited early in the season, but everything was disappointing from the very beginning . We came in by boat and no one was at the marina. We had to carry our bags from the boat up a long steep hill. No cart or bellman was available. The mansion, the pool, the patio , the spa all need attention. It just looks like the place has gone down hill and is being neglected. There is some type of construction going on in the spa so we could not get any spa services other than use of pool and whirlpool. But it all look unsanitary and unappealing we didn't use it.
Our room was adequate for the price and our dinner at the mansion was good. The desk help were very nice but all seemed disorganized. My husband and I both felt like our stay was a waste of our time

Room Tip: If you travel there by boat, pack light. You'll be carry your bags up a long hill with no bell h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becky3176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
It is unfortunate that these guests did not enjoy their stay, but I am happy they acknowledged our nice staff, room value and good food. The areas they addressed are in the condition they are in because they are getting attention – the pool deck was scrapped of paint during their stay in preparation for painting, which happened yesterday, and the construction in the spa and mansion areas will be completed soon. Carts are available at the marina, but unfortunately they were moved as our patio area was being prepped for new pavers. Thanks to these guests' commentsI am sorry our property did not look at its best during their visit, but I hope they will return in the future to experience Rosario as it is meant to be.

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, WA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

First of all I want to thank the staff for efforts to correct a couple of things that went terribly bad during our stay. I have no qualms about the staff what so ever.

We booked 3 nights May 13th - 16th, 2013, to celebrate my birthday and Mothers day. We had booked a room online that " appeared" to be over the water. It turned out that it had a partial view of the water and a partial view of the main mansion. We also noticed that a microwave was mentioned as an amenity, but there wasn't one in our room. When I called about it they said that I had to request one when I made my reservation. No where on the website does it say that. To the staff's credit, they delivered one to our room.

I was disappointed but decided to make the best of it until we tried to use the covered deck outside our room. It had a terrible leak that splattered on the outdoor carpet and then splashed on us and the furniture. We had to move our chairs almost onto the walkway to sit outside. I cannot imagine them ever renting this room with the deck in this condition. When we expressed our dissatisfaction on the 13th we were told there were no other rooms available. I was a bit unhappy but decided to stick it out. That evening we called to make massage appointments only to find out that the weren't taking any reservations until after 5PM because of construction going on everywhere in and out of the hotel. We could have gone at 7PM but that is not my idea of when you get a massage. The next day we had to return one of our keys because it didn't work. (It just kept getting better). I mentioned the above to the person on the desk and she said she could fix it. Later that day, surprise, surprise, a room was available way up the hill in the furthest building from the water. We said no thank you as we had wanted to be by the water and I wasn't up for walking up there for exercise and having to deal with the hill. We were completely unpacked and didn't want to repack and unpack again. Then later the Spa called and suddenly they had an appointment available for 5PM, still too late. Declined with a thank you. We realize we were given a choice but just did not want the hassle that went with it as we were settled and resigned to spend our time doing more positive activities. We spent the rest of our time anywhere except the Resort. Very noisy due to the constant construction. We did enjoy our time spent in Eastsound, etc.

Our room was beautiful, bed so very comfortable, and kept very clean by Housekeeping. We are disappointed that nothing about the construction was noted on the website. Once you're there, you're stuck.

At this point I would not recommend Rosario to anyone. I do recommend visiting the Island as it is beautiful.

Room Tip: Make sure you call to make your reservation as the website is certainly not very clear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheriPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I’d like to thank these guests for taking the time to share their comments, and to offer them my apologies for their recent experience at Rosario. I thank them for recognizing the efforts of our staff in offering remedies to their issues, which they acknowledge were repeatedly declined. The room booked online was our Bayside King room, which is described accurately as having a partial water view and does not include a microwave on its amenity list.

The room balconies are difficult to keep dry with any rain and wind coming in off in the ocean, but this balcony did have an awkward flow of water coming off the roof, so we did immediately offered to upgrade these guests. To add to their experience, magnetic key cards do demagnetize from time to time, often if placed next to a cell phone.

We are in the final stages of completing the construction of a new kitchen in the Moran Mansion, which we are thankful has not greatly impacted our guests experience; however, an unexpected necessity to replace utility infrastructure near the mansion, which began during their stay, has unfortunately affected our spa services availability on Mondays through Wednesdays, which will continue over the next few weeks. Thanks to these comments, we have now placed this information on our website. Again, my apologies to these guests and I hope they will consider returning to the resort in the future.

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Rosario Resort is located on Orcas Island in the San Juan Islands. We had not planned on ever going there, but when friends invited us to meet them there, we decided to go, and it turned out to be one of the most beautiful spots we've ever seen. Rosario is going through a bit of a face lift, which it needs, however, I would still recommend it. There is an indoor and outdoor pool, a spa and a very interesting museum. We had dinner there one night and really enjoyed it. But the best part is the location and view. The town of Eastsound is also really lovely and I recommend a drive up Constitution Mountain - you can see forever.

Room Tip: The water view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred_Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This fine old resort has been a romantic destination for years. It is finally in the process of being brought back to a grand estate. The location is stellar. We were going to have lunch in the restaurant but it was closed due to the remodel. Breakfast is served until 11:00, but we felt like we were the only ones there. Be sure to enjoy the upstairs "museum" and photographs. A pipe organ concert is played on Saturdays at 4:00. Hoping for the best when this place re-opens in glory!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank haptravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
I’d like to thank these guests for taking the time to share their comments, and to offer them my apologies for their recent experience at Rosario. I thank them for recognizing the efforts of our staff in offering remedies to their issues, which they acknowledge were repeatedly declined. The room booked online was our Bayside King room, which is described accurately as having a partial water view and does not include a microwave on its amenity list.

The room balconies are difficult to keep dry with any rain and wind coming in off in the ocean, but this balcony did have an awkward flow of water coming off the roof, so we did immediately offered to upgrade these guests. To add to their experience, magnetic key cards do demagnetize from time to time, often if placed next to a cell phone.

We are in the final stages of completing the construction of a new kitchen in the Moran Mansion, which we are thankful has not greatly impacted our guests experience; however, an unexpected necessity to replace utility infrastructure near the mansion, which began during their stay, has unfortunately affected our spa services availability on Mondays through Wednesdays, which will continue over the next few weeks. Thanks to these comments, we have now placed this information on our website. Again, my apologies to these guests and I hope they will consider returning to the resort in the future.

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grande, OR
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent almost a week in a hillside room way above the bay and it was magnificent. The room was beautiful and comfortable and we could sit on the deck in the morning and evening to watch the changes of light on the bay. It was also the perfect perch from which to enjoy the frequent sightings of the resident bald eagle pair and also the otters down in the bay, as well as the float planes landing at the pier. The resort was being renovated, but that in no way inconvenienced us. The mansion is being restored to its original grandeur and they are doing a great job of it. Can't wait to go back again after the entire project is finished. The restaurant was excellent, and the entire resort staff are helpful and personable. The resort is near Mt. Constitution (a must) and the charming town of Eastsound.

Room Tip: It was a steep climb to our hillside room (of course you can always drive) but we occasionally walke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ORPambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
3.8 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
5.8 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
265 reviews
8.6 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
449 reviews
10.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
497 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosario Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosario Resort and Spa

Property: Rosario Resort and Spa
Address: 1400 Rosario Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-8570
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosario Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic waterfront resort located on Orcas Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Rosario Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosario Hotel Eastsound
Rosario Island
Rosario Resort Eastsound
Rosario Resort Orcas Island
Rosario Resort And Spa Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing