We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosario Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“History with a view”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

What a lovey place to stay--the rooms were very nice. We had an ocean view and I would pay the difference again. The main building was an old mansion and it was GRAND. They had a history and music which all guest were invited -- go if you get the chance. We eat at the Rosario as well and the wait staff was very good as well as the food and don't pass on the desserts coz you my friends will be sorry.

Room Tip: We had Building C
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sissy7500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    189
    77
    26
    9
See reviews for
133
295
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The view from the room was breathtaking. We saw deer, rabbits and otters around the grounds. The grounds are well maintained and beautiful and we recommend a stroll around them. They have a show on saturdays about the history of the manner. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return. I do have a question (a little embarrassing . We loved the coffee pods they provided in their coffee makers in the room but forgot to check the brand. Does anyone know the name?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments about Rosario. I am glad you enjoyed your visit! The single pod coffee we offer in our guest rooms is Toulouse by Royal Cup Coffee.

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Since i had no reservations to stay at the hotel this time, staff was very accommodating of my wishes to only tour the property, and enjoy Afternoon Tea, as dining room was not yet open.
I was going on to Vancouver, Canada, after my stay at Friday Harbour. This was a birthday/Easter week trip for me, with an "open ended" Itinerary. I had been at Rosario years ago (70's) on my birthday, and it had remained a fond memory all these years. I had promised myself that I would return someday, on my Birthday, and this was a fulfillment of that promise. It did NOT disappoint!
If possible, it was even More beautiful than I remembered. Will definitely return again soon now.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Bay. P.S. Rosario has been designated by the US Government, as a Pres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrenchQueen44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We arrived on a Sunday and the reception desk was just full of staff. We were early. We had arrived on the lunch time ferry from Anacortes and had been traveling since 06:15 in the morning. The receptionist told us, in no uncertain terms, that our room was not yet available and they only guarantee room availability from 4:00pm daily. She then told us to go back into town and telephone her at 2:00pm when she would know more about our room availability! She also accused and embarrassed my husband of previously giving a maxed out visa card to pay the room deposit! She required another card! He gave her the only card that we use and it worked just fine! Needless to say we were most upset at her accusation - which was just not true. Momentarily, she advised us we could wait and that the housekeeper present would check our room and advise availability. Needless to say we were not impressed with this false accusation and poor level of customer service at reception. Our room was made available and our stay turned out to be wonderful - when we did not think of our interaction with the receptionist. Had we been required to leave we most certainly would not have returned! Ever. Our room was very clean and quiet. We did find the dining room menu a bit disappointing though.

Room Tip: Our King room in Harborside was clean, quiet with a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank WFS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I apologize that these guests felt accused and embarrassed during their check-in experience at Rosario. Credit cards are declined frequently for a variety of reasons. Many cards that are used out-of-state (or in this case, out of Canada) are often flagged as fraudulent transactions by the credit card issuer. At no time would our staff ever accuse a guest of being “maxed out” on his or her card. When they checked in, our agent noticed on their folio that the original deposit transaction had been declined and asked them if they could provide an alternative card. I understand hearing that a perfectly good card has been declined does come as a surprise, as it has happened to me on several occasions when traveling out-of-state. In this case, the original reservation deposit was taken over the phone, so the card number was manually entered, heightening a fraudulent alert. Upon hearing that this was the only card these guests had, the agent tried the card again, with the physical swipe being accepted. Our agent should have called this guest back immediately after they made their reservation to inform them the transaction was declined, which would have avoided this check-in embarrassment. I also highly encourage future guests to notify your credit card provider to inform them you will be traveling out-of-state.

Unlike most large city hotels that have hundreds of rooms of the same style, Rosario offers many different room styles in numerous locations. Our 11 a.m. check-out time and 4 p.m. check-in time is designed to allow us adequate time to clean and prepare our rooms for arriving guests. Also, unlike city hotels where guests often check-out early, Rosario guests tend to take full advantage of the 11 a.m. check-out time in order to have a relaxing morning at the resort. We make every effort to get our guests into their rooms upon early arrival, but in the meantime, we invite our guests to use the spa facilities, enjoy the museum, or suggest they might like to go to the village (a ten-minute drive) for shopping and lunch. We never ask or require our early arriving guests to leave the resort due to their room not yet being available for check-in. Fortunately, our housekeeping manager happened to arrive at the front desk during their check-in and informed the front desk that their room was now ready for arrival. This allowed the guest to check into their room shortly after their arrival at 1 p.m. It is unfortunate this guest felt this was a poor level of customer service.

I am happy to hear that the rest of their stay was wonderful.

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Rosario Resort is a great place to enjoy the sites of Orcas Island as well as experience some island luxury. It is located right next to Moran State Park allowing you quick access to Mt. Constitution (must see!) and Obstruction Pass State Park. Their rooms are very clean and quiet, and the architecture sends you back to the turn of the century on the island. You'll also find great food in their dining area should you just be there for the day. If you're interested in a massage, Michael is absolutely amazing! He was warm, social, and very skilled which left me relaxed and ready to sip some wine next to the bay. If you come in the summer, this resort has it's own whale watching, fishing, and kayak tours to enjoy.

Room Tip: Get a harborside or bayside room to enjoy being right over the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bblackorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed in Skagit 1413, and had an incredible view, as the balcony of the room is over the bay water and you can see straight down at the life below the surface of the water. Our bed was BETTER than our home bed, and that has never been my experience traveling. The room was beautifully decorated, had everything we needed. The only problem we had was finding restaurants that were open on the island off season.

Room Tip: We stayed in Skagit 1413
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We first came to the Rosario Resort 35 years ago with a youth group trip and decided to revisit it as "grown ups". It was even more beautiful then we remembered and has grown with the addition of more units. We ate in the restaurant and the food was amazing and the service and atmosphere wonderful. We had a little trouble finding our room in the dark. It was away from the main house and the signage wasn't the best but a very kind employee guided us there. We found all of the employees to be friendly and helpful.

Complimentary internet was provided in our rooms, which was wonderful. And to our delight, we did not have cell coverage at the resort although we did have a signal elsewhere on the island. Because we were on a getaway, we welcomed the quiet.

We would definitely stay here again and heartily recommend to our fellow travelers.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a harbor view and you will have a good sized balcony. The view is beautiful and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
3.8 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
5.8 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
264 reviews
8.6 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
447 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
348 reviews
10.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosario Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosario Resort and Spa

Property: Rosario Resort and Spa
Address: 1400 Rosario Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-8570
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosario Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic waterfront resort located on Orcas Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Rosario Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosario Hotel Eastsound
Rosario Island
Rosario Resort Eastsound
Rosario Resort Orcas Island
Rosario Resort And Spa Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing