We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting oceanfront hotel near quaint town.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosario Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Interesting oceanfront hotel near quaint town.”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights between Christmas & New Years' Dec 2012. The difficult thing is getting here by the ferry from Anacortes. Ferries are sporatic--make sure you get there between 1 1/2-2 hours early as it's 3 hours (at least) between ferries at this time of year (check the new schedule, which came out Dec 30th as it could be even longer between ferries). We missed the ferry we were hoping to take and sat in line for 1 1/2 hours. We arrived on Orcas Island at night, and it took about 20 minutes to get to the Rosario Resort (although it looks further on the map) and it was not difficult to find. We checked into the resort and they gave us directions to our room, which was a bit difficult to find as it was dark (and past the marina)--do watch out for deer grazing near the road. The outside of 2340 and the door itself looked a bit dated, but inside, the 1 bedroom suite was cozy and somewhat updated. The main area has a full bathroom, a good sized living room with updated furniture, fireplace with log replenished daily, a murphy bed (not very comfortable) and a flat screen tv. It has lots of windows to enjoy the incredible oceanview and a patio out to a private deck, a dining table w/ 4 chairs, a decent sized kitchen with a small fridge, 4 burner stove, microwave and cooking utensils/pans. There is NOT a decent coffee pot (just a one-cup pod-type) but they replenish the coffee daily. Because we had a large group, we asked the front desk if they had a bigger coffee pot. They promptly brought a 4-cup one, which we ended up using our own coffee and papertowel for filters (works great, by the way!). The one-bedroom unit had a large bedroom with it's own full bathroom (a bit dated, but has decent towels and plenty of them), a very comfortable king-sized poster bed, comfy chair for reading, small set of table and chairs, small fridge, another coffee pot, flat screen tv and ipod docking station along with it's own large private deck overlooking the ocean. The bedroom was actually quite cozy.

It's a 5 minute walk from some of the rooms to the main lodge, which was an old mansion built in the early 1900's with an interesting history but has no actual hotel rooms. The main floor has the lobby, a cozy bar area, and a restaurant (where the food was very tasty--try the fries!!), all with stunning oceanviews. The second floor is a museum--where you can wander on your own for free and look at the history of the home thru pictures, furniture and other artifacts. There is also a piano concert by a local pianist on Saturday afternoons at 4pm--and after you are allowed to tour the 3rd floor as well, which is usually closed to the public. There is also an outdoor pool, a small indoor pool, hot tub, a spa and small store with Rosario souvenirs on the lower level. An outdoor pool is also located between the main lodge and some of the residences, although it did not appear to be open at this time of year. The resort has various number of rooms and residences from $89/night and up on the off season, all with gorgeous ocean views. The one-bedroom suites ranged from $129/night--a really great value. The resort is close to the Moran State Park, where there is a small lake where you could kayak or bike if the weather is nice. It's also a 10 minute drive from Eastsound--a quaint little town with amazing shops, a decent sized Island Market for groceries, churches, and numerous restaurants. Although most were open over winter, there were a couple stores/restaurants that were closed for the season from Christmas into the new year, but there was no shortage of choices--especially for coffee. Our favorite coffee was found in the local bookstore--Darvill's Bookstore, which was a great place to hang out, enjoy an AMAZING coffee/latte and find a good read. We kept going back for more...

The island itself is quaint, with warm and friendly residents and adequate amenities for a weekend away. The cell reception is sketchy but you are able to get free wifi at Rosario's Resort and in Eastsound at most of the shops as well.

Leaving the island is easier than getting there. We made sure we were at the ferry 2 hours early...and were 14th in the lineup. There are a couple interesting stores, a coffee shop or two and a restaurant in the old hotel to enjoy while you are waiting for the ferry--it was a great way to pass the time and would be even more enjoyable once the weather clears up and outdoor eating is possible.

Although this is not a 4* resort, I think this is great value for your money. Overlook the outdated exterior and the kitchen/bathroom cabinets/flooring and focus on the amazing oceanviews, the interesting history of the Rosario mansion, and the quiet little town down the road and enjoy your relaxing getaway. The beds are very comfortable and the oceanviews are breathtaking. We definitely will be back!!

Room Tip: We liked having a top-level room with no one above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank got2go2cnewthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    189
    77
    26
    9
See reviews for
133
295
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding on a gorgeous fall weekend. Orcas Island itself is positively idyllic and this resort is nestled in one of the island's prettiest corners. Our room overlooked the water, where we could sit on our balcony and watch boats arrive and even the occasional seaplane landing. It was lovely.

Complaints: Our room was in an older building about a 10-minute walk from the main building, which was somewhat annoying because there was no clear pedestrian path connecting the two buildings. The room itself was a bit dowdy and in need of updating. Cell phone service is spotty for most carriers, but that's a problem almost everywhere on Orcas Island (and perhaps part of its charm for some people). But the resort had efficient wireless internet so you weren't totally disconnected if you didn't want to be.

Overall our experience was very pleasant and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReadyForThisJelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I adore Rosario. It is a favorite destination of mine. We have visited here numerous times and always stayed in the Marina on a boat, so I can't comment on the rooms, but it is first class for those who want to visit by boat.

We always feel welcomed at Rosario. This last visit was near Thanksgiving and there wasn't staff down at the dock, which we anticipated so we picked a spot and went up to the mansion where we were welcomed with smiles. I always enjoy going through the museum and since it had been awhile, we did that. It is totally worth the time, as I always learn more. We had dinner at the lodge, and the food quality is generally excellent. I adore their deserts. The Spa is very nice. I have had treatments there in the past and have been pleased. The spa pool is small, but enjoyable, and the hot tub is a great repreive after being out in the rain. In the summer the outdoor pool is available and it is bigger and fun for kids.

I so appreciate that Rosario has remained special and I hope it continues to be that way. I know they have plans to expand their marina, which will be nice. I hope they do so in a thoughtful way that still keeps the quaintness feel of the location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YueYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent two nights (Nov. 24 & 25) and it was wonderful. Great room, great scenery, great time! Tour of the mansion museum with the free pipe organ and piano concert was certainly a plus. We had lunch in the dining room and it was delicious. Too bad that we did not have a chance to use the spa facilities. My wife and I agree that the San Juan Islands are among the most outstanding scenery we have ever enjoyed.....we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Book now as they are running an $89 rate through March.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The view from the room was spectacular, fast free wifi in the room we were able to stream a netflick movie. Very comfortable beds and very quiet this time of year anyways. We had the best time it was kinda a mini vacation.

Room Tip: The grounds are big and they have rooms in several places so ask when you make a reservation what bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terjon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We used to live on the island but didn't know too much about the Resort. Thought we'd do a weekend getaway from the city. From the moment we drove up to the mansion, we knew we were going to have a nice, relaxing weekend. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Even housekeeping made sure we had everything we needed. Our room was absolutely beautiful with one of the best views from a hotel that I have ever seen! The furnishings were recently updated and it had the most comfortable bed I think we have ever slept in. Great in room coffee and nice amenities They have a beautiful spa that has a nice heated pool, along with clothing and gifts. The restaurant is priced right for the quality of food that is served. Our dinner was delicious. This is a place that really cares about your stay and they show it on many levels. We are definitely going back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTHowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We must have gotten a room not updated. It may have had a view but the room was that of an old Best Western. The carpet was old and dingy and the bathroom was out of the eighties. The beds we comfortable but without complete bedding. I suppose we didn't realize that all amenities are down the road and not in the building. Not sure we'd stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank H N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
3.8 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
5.8 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
264 reviews
8.6 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
449 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
348 reviews
10.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosario Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosario Resort and Spa

Property: Rosario Resort and Spa
Address: 1400 Rosario Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-8570
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosario Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic waterfront resort located on Orcas Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Rosario Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosario Hotel Eastsound
Rosario Island
Rosario Resort Eastsound
Rosario Resort Orcas Island
Rosario Resort And Spa Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing