We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
617 results
Traveler rating
284
210
81
30
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
284
210
81
30
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrosario resortmoran mansioncascade baymansion restaurantchristopher peacockindoor poolorgan concertthe general managermain buildingorcas islandmusic roombayside roomcascade grillking roomhillside roomold mansionmuseum upstairs
Filter
Updating list...
558 - 563 of 617 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The Rosario Resort and Spa is located behind a hill that blocks it from the cel phone tower on Mt. Constitution. As a result, there is NO cel phone service. And, at least on one day, the land lines didn't work. Further, although the resort claims that they have wifi, it only works intermittently. I found myself walking around the unit trying to find a location where I could get the wifi signal. The views are drop dead gorgeous but the communication problems are overwhelming.
There is a spa: the indoor pool was closed (and has been closed for awhile) but the 2 outdoor pools are open. Although the spa people said the outdoor pools were heated, my daughter said the heaters must not be working because the water was so cold she only swam one lap and jumped out. same with the second outdoor pool.
We had a "2 bdrm suite" which was really a room with a kitchen (a mini-fridge, sink, old fashioned stove/oven, and NO dishwasher), a bathroom and a murphy pull down bed. on either side of this room there was a lockout hotel room with 2 queen beds, a bathroom and a view. The appliances and furniture are dated but functional.
Although we stayed (memorial day weekend) from friday morning to monday morning, only one room was serviced (on sunday). The front desk advised us to use only the entrance for the middle (main) room and to keep the other 2 doors locked. Although we did as suggested, it may have prevented housekeeping from entering.
If the communcation problems are not addressed, I would not stay here again. If there was a medical emergency, there would be a real problem.

Room Tip: The Cascade rooms are on the opposite side of the bay from the main building (with the restaurant, spa, and reception desk).
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4HNLmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

No cell service at Rosario is indeed a frustration for many of our guests who are used to great coverage in cities and on freeways; however, there is a large part of rural America that still does not have adequate cell coverage. San Juan County has the strictest cell tower ordinance in Washington State, if not in the country and as written, service providers will not build any more towers in the islands. The county government is currently revising the ordinance, but as everything government, the process is slow. We are always happy to provide a long distance land line to our guests and the islands offer some of the best medical emergency response services in the country.

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

3 days before Memorial Day and this place was still half shut down. Service is very poor - the staff have given up. Hardly anything is open. Weeds growing out of some of the buildings. No electricity one morning (planned maintenance though the guests were not informed) so no breakfast. Rooms are very average but in need of refurbishment (and these are the expensive view rooms). Avoid!

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robertmfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

It is very unfortunate that during this guest's visit he had the experience he did. As in previous reviews, our property is being remodeled (rooms, indoor pool, and various maintenance projects), which we are hoping will all be completed by the July 4th holiday. On top of that, the local power company shut off the power to replace a bad transformer for 2.5 hours. Our continental breakfast was available as coffee was made earlier, unfortunately there was just no way to use a toaster. My apologies to this guest and I hope they enjoyed their visit to Orcas Island.

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

When we booked our room at Rosario for a family wedding, I thought the rates seemed really low, given the location, and when we arrived I understood. Our room (a garden view suite) was certainly adequate for our needs, but everything on the inside and outside of the building seemed in need of a little freshening up. I know they are in the process of renovating, and we're still very early on their high season, but it kind of felt like our presence there (over Memorial Day weekend) was a surprise: lots of half finished projects scattered around the grounds with no recent signs of work, very nice staff members who had a hard time answering basic questions... I don't know if we'd go back to Rosario, but it does have incredible potential, and as I said at the beginning of the review, the price is very reasonable given the stunning location and views from most of the rooms. I would just advise keeping your expectations low with regards to the actual physical amenities, at least until they finish all the upgrades. The Mansion itself is really cool and worth a visit, even if you're not staying there.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience. We are keeping our rates low as we renovate the property. For guest comfort, our various projects are not worked on during the weekends. I apologize if the work impacted your stay in any way. We do hire seasonal staff at this time of year and are working hard on training them to assist our guests in every way possible.

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The food in the Mansion is excellent, but a bit pricey for me. However, we arent well to do, so we saved for 5 months just to stay there for 2 nights. It's our getaway paradise. The staff is always very friendly and accommodating. The pool is being repaired right now, but they clearly state that on their web site before you reserve your room, and will be done soo. I highly recommend Rosario Resort to everybody. Eastbound is a near by town that has lots to do and eat, it's paradise !

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allen69rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We have never stayed in their rooms. But, we always stay in their marina (on our boat). The marina is well managed with a great Dockmaster. The power and water are good.

The mansion is spectacular. Don't
Miss the 4p organ concert.

The restaurant is still finding its way bit it is not disappointing.

The problem is that the indoor pool is not in service. Thy hired a contractor to do the pool and staff says the contractor is very very slow. The staff (and guests)?are frustrated. The outdoor pools are nice and heated. But, nothing beats a good indoor pool on a rainy day.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenjakew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews