We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Residences are great, Harborside suites are disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosario Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Residences are great, Harborside suites are disappointing”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed at the Harborside cascade suite for 2 nights over the Memorial Day weekend. We have stayed at the one of the Residences at Rosario previously and loved it. It had a luxurious and updated feel and the upkeep was impeccable. In contrast the Harborside suites left a lot to be desired. I believe they are a recent acquisition and have not been brought up to the standard of the rest of the resort to deserve the Rosario brandname just yet.

The good: The location was great- on the waterfront. The suite had four queen beds in two bedrooms, and another murphy bed. So it's intended for 8-10 people. The bedrooms had balconies facing the water, and the view was incredible. In contrast the location of the Residences is higher up on the cliff, offering a more panoramic view but slightly farther away from the water.

The disappointing elements of Harborside suites:
1. General upkeep was very bad. There was a layer of dust on the kitchen shelves. The balcony furniture and floor were very dirty and we needed to clean all of this thoroughly before we could use them. The interiors are all very dated and in desperate need of a renovation.
2. The living area is cramped, especially for 8-10 people. We were only 6 and there wasn't enough sitting room for all of us.
3. There was no dishwasher in the kitchen and very limited utensils. They had supplied 5 sets of plates and glasses. They asked us to go to the front desk, which is a 2-minute drive, if we needed additional dishes. They weren't equipped to supply them to the room.
4. No drawers/shelves in the bathrooms, very limited storage.
5. The hot water in the showers would run out after 3 people had showered. This was surprising to us. Hotels should be equipped for this sort of thing, especially a suite intended to accommodate 10 people.
6. Wifi was extremely weak in most of the suite, and there was only one spot in one of the bedrooms from where we were able to connect.
7. Very bad pillows, offering minimal support. We didn't sleep well on either night. Suggest you bring your own pillows if you're driving.

Overall the place has potential but Rosario should really not open it to guests until they've addressed these issues. It's more like a 2 star inn in its current state. We were excited to return to Rosario after the Residences experience, but not we're not sure about their commitment to quality.

Room Tip: Stay at the Residences, avoid the Harborside suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anyonymous S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
I appreciate this reviewer taking the time to write a detailed review. We have just recently acquired the Cascade Harbor Inn (now our Harborside Rooms). These rooms are in the process of being remodeled - new furniture, beds and soft goods, expected to be mostly completed by the July 4th holiday. We are very excited to be bringing these accommodations up to our standards and share their incredible view with our guests. A new WiFi system is scheduled to be installed this week. We have had very few negative comments on cleanliness and housekeeping issues, and they will be addressed. The Cascade Harbor Suites will have one King bed, two Queen beds and a single murphy bed, intended for 5-7 people at the most.

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    189
    77
    26
    10
See reviews for
134
297
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The Rosario Resort and Spa is located behind a hill that blocks it from the cel phone tower on Mt. Constitution. As a result, there is NO cel phone service. And, at least on one day, the land lines didn't work. Further, although the resort claims that they have wifi, it only works intermittently. I found myself walking around the unit trying to find a location where I could get the wifi signal. The views are drop dead gorgeous but the communication problems are overwhelming.
There is a spa: the indoor pool was closed (and has been closed for awhile) but the 2 outdoor pools are open. Although the spa people said the outdoor pools were heated, my daughter said the heaters must not be working because the water was so cold she only swam one lap and jumped out. same with the second outdoor pool.
We had a "2 bdrm suite" which was really a room with a kitchen (a mini-fridge, sink, old fashioned stove/oven, and NO dishwasher), a bathroom and a murphy pull down bed. on either side of this room there was a lockout hotel room with 2 queen beds, a bathroom and a view. The appliances and furniture are dated but functional.
Although we stayed (memorial day weekend) from friday morning to monday morning, only one room was serviced (on sunday). The front desk advised us to use only the entrance for the middle (main) room and to keep the other 2 doors locked. Although we did as suggested, it may have prevented housekeeping from entering.
If the communcation problems are not addressed, I would not stay here again. If there was a medical emergency, there would be a real problem.

Room Tip: The Cascade rooms are on the opposite side of the bay from the main building (with the restaurant, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4HNLmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
No cell service at Rosario is indeed a frustration for many of our guests who are used to great coverage in cities and on freeways; however, there is a large part of rural America that still does not have adequate cell coverage. San Juan County has the strictest cell tower ordinance in Washington State, if not in the country and as written, service providers will not build any more towers in the islands. The county government is currently revising the ordinance, but as everything government, the process is slow. We are always happy to provide a long distance land line to our guests and the islands offer some of the best medical emergency response services in the country.

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

3 days before Memorial Day and this place was still half shut down. Service is very poor - the staff have given up. Hardly anything is open. Weeds growing out of some of the buildings. No electricity one morning (planned maintenance though the guests were not informed) so no breakfast. Rooms are very average but in need of refurbishment (and these are the expensive view rooms). Avoid!

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robertmfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
It is very unfortunate that during this guest's visit he had the experience he did. As in previous reviews, our property is being remodeled (rooms, indoor pool, and various maintenance projects), which we are hoping will all be completed by the July 4th holiday. On top of that, the local power company shut off the power to replace a bad transformer for 2.5 hours. Our continental breakfast was available as coffee was made earlier, unfortunately there was just no way to use a toaster. My apologies to this guest and I hope they enjoyed their visit to Orcas Island.

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

When we booked our room at Rosario for a family wedding, I thought the rates seemed really low, given the location, and when we arrived I understood. Our room (a garden view suite) was certainly adequate for our needs, but everything on the inside and outside of the building seemed in need of a little freshening up. I know they are in the process of renovating, and we're still very early on their high season, but it kind of felt like our presence there (over Memorial Day weekend) was a surprise: lots of half finished projects scattered around the grounds with no recent signs of work, very nice staff members who had a hard time answering basic questions... I don't know if we'd go back to Rosario, but it does have incredible potential, and as I said at the beginning of the review, the price is very reasonable given the stunning location and views from most of the rooms. I would just advise keeping your expectations low with regards to the actual physical amenities, at least until they finish all the upgrades. The Mansion itself is really cool and worth a visit, even if you're not staying there.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience. We are keeping our rates low as we renovate the property. For guest comfort, our various projects are not worked on during the weekends. I apologize if the work impacted your stay in any way. We do hire seasonal staff at this time of year and are working hard on training them to assist our guests in every way possible.

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The food in the Mansion is excellent, but a bit pricey for me. However, we arent well to do, so we saved for 5 months just to stay there for 2 nights. It's our getaway paradise. The staff is always very friendly and accommodating. The pool is being repaired right now, but they clearly state that on their web site before you reserve your room, and will be done soo. I highly recommend Rosario Resort to everybody. Eastbound is a near by town that has lots to do and eat, it's paradise !

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allen69rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We have never stayed in their rooms. But, we always stay in their marina (on our boat). The marina is well managed with a great Dockmaster. The power and water are good.

The mansion is spectacular. Don't
Miss the 4p organ concert.

The restaurant is still finding its way bit it is not disappointing.

The problem is that the indoor pool is not in service. Thy hired a contractor to do the pool and staff says the contractor is very very slow. The staff (and guests)?are frustrated. The outdoor pools are nice and heated. But, nothing beats a good indoor pool on a rainy day.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenjakew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Just returned from a 2 day trip to Orcas Island, staying, again at Rosario Resort. The rate was attractive, off season, midweek, $109 on Expedia. This included a small, but not advertised, continental breakfast in the bar. Our room was in the Skagit building, lovely view of the sound and the mansion. The small deck had 2 teak chairs and a small table, perfect for a cup of coffee or glass of wine. There was a tub/toilet area, separate sink/closet/'fridge area with coffeemaker, and two queen beds. Though the dated bamboo furniture reminded me of Hawaii on first entering, it made sense after spending some time here. It is completely quiet, except for the birds and an occasional seaplane (which I flew, Kenmore Air float plane right to the dock). There is WiFi in each building, and since our room wasn't ready, we cleaned up a bit of business while waiting in the mansion. It would have been nice to get a coffee or beer while waiting, but the bar wasn't opened until later. The marina store/cafe is being remodeled, but it looks as if it should be finished by Memorial Day. There are workers everywhere, new landscaping, fresh paint. The place was sold recently, and it's grandeur is returning. I loved it for a quick getaway with my daughter. We hiked Moran State Park, poked around Eastsound, ate deliciously at several restaurants, took in all the beaches around the island. The bathroom floors need a good grout cleaning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MONichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
3.8 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
5.8 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
265 reviews
8.6 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
449 reviews
10.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
497 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosario Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosario Resort and Spa

Property: Rosario Resort and Spa
Address: 1400 Rosario Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-8570
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosario Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic waterfront resort located on Orcas Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Rosario Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosario Hotel Eastsound
Rosario Island
Rosario Resort Eastsound
Rosario Resort Orcas Island
Rosario Resort And Spa Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing