We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
Review of Golden East

Golden East
Ranked #4 of 4 Dessert in East Wenatchee
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: The Golden East Restaurant has been serving the Wenatchee Valley for over 28 years--since Sept. 1, 1987. It opens for lunch and dinner six days a week closing on Mondays only.Assorted daily lunch specials and combos are served until 3:00pm and prices range from $7.00 To $8.50. Golden East also has dinner specials ($8.00 Each) and various combination meals ($8.50 To $10.75). The best value meals of course are the two 7-course family meals ($12.75 And $13.00 With a minimum order of two). Check out the all time favorites such as Pot Stickers, the Mongolian Beef or Mongolian Shrimp, Shanghai Chow Mein or Golden East Chow Mein, Orange Chicken, and much more! Beer and wine are also available.To save time, orders to go can be called ahead! Reservations can be taken for six or more!Credit cards accepted: American Express, Visa, Master Card & Discover
Restaurant details
Description: The Golden East Restaurant has been serving the Wenatchee Valley for over 28 years--since Sept. 1, 1987. It opens for lunch and dinner six days a week closing on Mondays only.Assorted daily lunch specials and combos are served until 3:00pm and prices range from $7.00 To $8.50. Golden East also has dinner specials ($8.00 Each) and various combination meals ($8.50 To $10.75). The best value meals of course are the two 7-course family meals ($12.75 And $13.00 With a minimum order of two). Check out the all time favorites such as Pot Stickers, the Mongolian Beef or Mongolian Shrimp, Shanghai Chow Mein or Golden East Chow Mein, Orange Chicken, and much more! Beer and wine are also available.To save time, orders to go can be called ahead! Reservations can be taken for six or more!Credit cards accepted: American Express, Visa, Master Card & Discover
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The food is a bit bland, but that's okay for a lot of people. I'd rather add a bit of soy sauce, at the table, than eat a dish that is seasoned too much.

This place was busy, at dinnertime, mid-week. I was a bit annoyed that we were ignored, in the doorway, for a few minutes, while waiting for a table. Several workers made eye contact, but didn't approach or greet us. I am used to being acknowledged in some way, even if they are busy...a simple "I'll be with you in just a minute" would have made the waiting less awkward, but once we were seated the service was good.

I can't say this is the best Chinese food I've ever had, but it was certainly edible. Considering the lack of options in E Wenatchee, it's not a bad choice, at all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NWTravelingFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 45 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Although the restaurant was clean, and the decor pleasant, the food was terrible. Both our dishes tasted the same, and not as we expected they would. We will not eat at this restaurant again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Portia2272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenEastWenatchee, Owner at Golden East, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your dining experience. It is very kind of you to say our restaurant is clean and the decor is pleasant in spite of how you feel about your meal. We are sorry it's not what you expected since every restaurant cooks a little different even with the same item name.

Too bad you did not mention which two dishes you ordered that tasted the same. Many of our dishes in the similar category do indeed have very similar tastes. However, sometimes even dishes with the same name like chow mein, they don't necessarily taste the same. Our Shanghai Chow Mein with soft noodles (or even the Tomato Beef Chow Mein) is very popular and it tastes and looks completely different from the traditional Chicken Chow Mein.

There is a wide assortment of dishes on our menu that look and taste totally different and if the right combination of dishes are selected, the meal can taste much better. For example, the Sweet & Sour Shrimp order will look and taste very different than the Almond Fried Chicken.

The combination dinners or the 7-course family dinners offer even more variety in tastes because there's more than one item in each meal. If don't like one item, hopefully you'll like another items in the same meal.

We do serve certain dishes are more bland (like the Chicken Chow Mein as a classic example) which some customers really like because of their restricted diets and other dishes with stronger more flavorful taste like our popular Mongolian Beef or General Tso's Chicken.

The key to a better meal is often having the right selection or the right combination of dishes.

Anyway, thank you again for taking the time to write and allowing us the chance to respond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

food poisoning not safe to eat, will never go back and i recommend you never try it, food tasted funny and was slimy they reheat there rice dishes

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kelly200701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenEastWenatchee, Owner at Golden East, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write and we are sorry to hear about your dining experience.

We understand that everyone has different likes and dislikes even if it's the same exact dish. We have been customers ourselves to many restaurants and have not returned to some. There may not be anything wrong with their food, we just don't like it so we don't go back. We all have different taste buds. Like the saying goes, it's impossible to please everybody all of the time.

We have been in business for almost 26 years and is very fortunate and very grateful to still able to stay busy with many happy customers.

We're not sure what happened when you ate here or what food you ate. It's either we had an off day when you were here or you just didn't like the taste of whatever you ordered. The kitchen staffs always try their best to put up the freshest or best tasting food they can even with the time constraints they have when we're really busy. We want return customers. We don't want to poison anyone! Otherwise, we'd be out of business by now.

Regarding the fried rice, some are cooked with more moisture in them will end up tasting softer like reheating and those we cooked longer as some customers prefer, will taste drier. We can either cook the rice softer, longer, with more oil or whatever at the customer's request.

Anyway, thank you again for taking the time to write and allowing us the chance to apologize!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

My kids love this place!!! Always great food, service and prices!!! Everything I've ever eaten here is good!!! I love the tea, and my children are always happy through out the time being there!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EphrataMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Nothing special with the food but the servers and owners are very nice and everything is very clean.

Thank travelwriter1usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden East also viewed

 
East Wenatchee, WA
East Wenatchee, WA
 
East Wenatchee, WA
East Wenatchee, WA
 

Been to Golden East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing