We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice first meal in Seattle”

Emerald Thai Cuisine
Ranked #4 of 47 Restaurants in Des Moines
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: "Serving Thai delish in a whimsical Thai house since 1993" Emerald Thai is locally owned and operated in city of Des Moines. Founded since 1993 by former Muay Thai prize fighter and UFC trainer. Our restaurant is heralded by locals and visitors alike for our authenticity and friendliness.
North Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice first meal in Seattle”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

They delivered to my hotel near the airport. It was really nice to have a delivery option after a long trip that wasn't pizza. I ordered fried prawns and pad see ew. The prawns were not large as I'd expected, and not worth the price I feel, even if I'd eaten in. The noodles were good, pretty average, but nice to have delivered to me, so I was satisfied. The food was delivered fairly quickly right to my hotel room door and it was hot, and that's what I wanted.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    16
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
az
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Very good Thai restaurant about 2 miles south of SeaTac airport”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Extensive menu. Staff are friendly. Service excellent. Clean and pleasant environment. Generous portions. Open M-F 11a.m. to 10p.m. and Sat/Sun 4 p.m. to 10p.m. We stayed at Sleep Inn, about 1 mile away, and the courtesy van driver was happy to bring us to the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“I will stay in Des Moines again just to eat here!”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I drove cross country to Seattle and stayed in Des Moines for 3 days. I stayed at the Sea-Tac Valu Inn simply because there was a Thai restaurant next door. What a fabulous surprise! I went there 5 times and tried something different each time, Each dish was authentic and perfectly seasoned and prepared. Quaint atmosphere and reasonable prices. The service is phenomenal and the owners were very pleasant and attentive. I have eaten in dozens of Thai restaurants back east and this certainly ranks in the top 3! The next time I am in Seattle I plan to stay in Des Moines because it is a nice, quiet hamlet near the Puget Sound but mainly because Emerald Thai was THAT enjoyable!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Dishes were flavourful and large. Big plus -- Emerald Thai delived to our hotel in an extremely heavy downpour.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank canadianpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“DELICIOUS”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I'm a student at HCC and I enjoy eating at Emerald Restauran, because the food is very delicious and exstra fresh. The owners and workers create a nice atmosphere, best services...
My favorite food is Coconat sup and # 71 Sea food combination.
I have been eating in Emerald Restaurant for couple years and never get tired of the food.
I strongly recoment to everyone to go there to enjoy deliciouse food !!! ND

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natachka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Emerald Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing