We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'd give it a 4+ if I could”

Wally's Chowder House
Ranked #1 of 46 Restaurants in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
237 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“I'd give it a 4+ if I could”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We've been to Wally's probably six times which would be an indication that we like it. We've taken out-of-town guests on three of those occasions for lunch. I've always gotten the fish and chips, both halibut and cod. Both were some of the best. The fries are also excellent. Big and thick (but not the steak fry type), crispy on the outside, tender of the inside. Others have gotten the crab salad which is large and has lots of crab. The clam chowder is also very good. Our service has always been friendly and fast. Unfortunately, even though it's located on Marine View Drive, there is very little marine view, but after you eat, drive a couple of blocks to the waterfront and take a nice stroll along the marina with views of Vashon Island and the Olympic Mts.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Roadtrip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    110
    19
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We come to Wally's at least four times a year and are never disappointed. Mike, the owner, is always glad to see us and he makes all his customers feel welcome. The cod medallions and chips are our favorite choice. The chowder is a delicious treat and be sure to save room for dessert. The apple crisp is tasty and served warm with ice cream.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jvanwietingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
Level Contributor
144 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Really Good Fish and Chowder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were heading to the airport and found Wally's on the way. The restaurant was very busy but we were able to get our food quickly. We tried the Cod and chips, Halibut and chips and the fresh blackened salmon. All were very well done and delicious. We also had the New England Clam chowder which was very good. The salads looked amazing, although we didn't try any of them. It looks like a local favorite hangout and we can understand why. If you are looking for a great view, this is not it, but if you want good seafood at a reasonable price, go here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kahnster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
172 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish that Melts in your Mouth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

The fish was so delicious we were sad that we had not ordered the larger size portions. Service was great, and everyone was so friendly. There was a sweet crow that kept us company on the patio too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dmant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
“A Delightful Experence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

For us, dining out is so much more that simply the food. It is a combination of feeling welcomed by the staff, recommendations/and "check-ins" by the manager, "pride in place" from the staff, attentive service, and a quality, satisfying meal. Wally's hit all of these areas and more. Wally's feels like family, and from start to finish, we were sincerely welcomed as we waited 15 minutes for our table. Mike, the manager thanked us for waiting. The dining room is intimate, and friendly, and he seated us at a table by the window. We shared with him that this was our first visit, and he made some great recommendations.

Ashlan, our server came up right behind him, and warmly took our drink and appetizer order. We had the steamed manila clams; nice portion with delicious sauce, which included toasted cheese bread for dipping. She also coached us on the different lunch/dinner selections. Drinks arrived quickly, and were refilled without request. Additional staff cleared dirty dishes and refilled water. There was no question this was a team approach, although we knew our experience was lead by Ashlan's upbeat and authentic style.

Timing on the meal was perfect, and all items arrived hot and well prepared. Wally's does not pretend to be haute cuisine, just good seafood. It's décor is that of a classic seafood café; a moment of nostalgia; memories of golden fried seafood, and décor evoking our childhood visit with family to the beach.

We especially enjoyed the ling cod, and seafood platter. Plenty to share with friends. We had hoped to try one of the four homemade desserts on the entrance board (peach cobbler, rhubarb/strawberry pie, blackberry pie, coconut cream pie), but were too full to even try.

We were so glad we took the drive to Des Moines to enjoy the afternoon. We will return again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wally's Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing