We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful View..overcooked salmon”

Salty's at Redondo Beach
Reserve with OpenTable
Salty's at Redondo Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 46 Restaurants in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Redondo Way
Description: The friendliest beachfront restaurant serving Puget Sound and Olympic Mountain views, fabulous fresh award-winning Northwest seafood, prime USDA steaks, beachburgers and sandwiches. Great drinks and martinis. Waterfront deck dining. Live entertainment. Award-winning spectacular Sunday Brunch. You can be here in just minutes from Tacoma, Sea-Tac Airport and Seattle.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful View..overcooked salmon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The service and the view was impeccable, but for the price of $36, the coho salmon should not have been overcooked. The potato crisp was crunchy and tasty but it did not make up for the over grilled salmon. It was dry and did not flake when it was fork tested, but shredded. The honey glaze was tasty, but overall an overpriced meal. The seafood chowder was very good especially with the sherry and fresh ground pepper and it was worth the $7. Servers were polite and very responsive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    123
    48
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shoreline, Washington
Level Contributor
743 reviews
411 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“great dinner out and a great staff as well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our family went out for a great dinner out and we were there during the end of happy hour.Derrick the manager was very accommodating and assisted my mother who was in a wheelchair.Erin the waitress was friendly and had a genuine smile, not a fake waitress smile.Our beers were served cold and our appetizers were served hot and all were served very soon after ordering.Entrees were delicious and since we were there during happy hour the prices were reasonable for the portions served.View was great during the sunset and the dessert was awesome as well.I would highly recommend coming here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KweqSmanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, FL
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great food, at a high price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We came here upon recommendation from our hotels concierge desk for dinner, we were worried that there wouldn't be availability for our large party, but they said they'd accommodate us.

The restaurant is in a nice quiet area where you wouldn't expect one. Parking was a breeze, we had a spot just in front of the restaurant. Upon entering, we were greeted right away by the waitress and taken to our seats.

For starters, the restaurant was noticeably empty, especially on a Saturday night. Upon looking at the menu, we realized why it was probably empty, because the prices were very high. I remember seeing 2lb lobster on the menu for $85... WOW!

Anyways, we started with the appetizers, which were delicious. There crab artichoke dip was great, as well as the trio dish. The clam chowder was by far some of the best we've had.

For the entree, I went with the seafood fettuccine. They brought out the entree in an over-sized bowl, that was only a quarter filled with food. Not sure why that was, a regular sized bowl would have been enough. Needless the say, the food was delicious.

Overall, the food was great, the environment was good. The only issue I saw was the cost of the meals, they were just too overpriced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rogo117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheney, Wa
Level Contributor
418 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Expensive Nirvana...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stupid expensive--and a stupid beautiful/delicious/dreamy/friendly--well oiled seafood machine on Redondo. High, high end clientele, so I felt like I shouldn't pull the camera out. My apologies. Quick mention... If you get there, and your wait is more than an hour, peek in the lounge to see if it will accomodate your party. It's better than being in the indoor dining, proper. You'll eat right away. Trust me when I say it was all more than extra special...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gcleff11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Mediocre experience at fine dining prices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We go to Salty's every few years and remind ourselves why we shouldn't bother. The food was OK, but not worth the high prices they charge. The tables were crowded together, and it was very noisy. On the bright side, they are very kid-friendly and accommodating to families. However we were offended at the notice that they ask patrons to limit their dining to 90 minutes. Seriously? How about they improve their service instead of asking their customers to cut their meal short. Not impressed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMacMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salty's at Redondo Beach also viewed

 

Been to Salty's at Redondo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing