We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upscale Family Dining”

Anthony's Homeport Des Moines
Reserve with OpenTable
Anthony's Homeport Des Moines is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 6th Ave South
Description: Locally owned waterfront restaurant dedicated to giving our guests a truly Northwest dining experience, Anthony’s has earned the reputation for the finest fresh seafood, perfectly prepared and expertly served with an uncompromising commitment to quality and value. We feature fresh seasonal and sustainable fish, and shellfish from our own seafood company accompanied by Northwest wines and micro brews as well our "Best of the Season" produce featured in our housemade desserts, salads, entrees, and beverages. Anthony’s Des Moines features a lovely panoramic view of Puget Sound, and the Olympic Mountains. Open daily for lunch with a casual style no reservation necessary restaurant on the first floor featuring seafood, pastas, salads, burgers, and fish tacos.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
224 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Upscale Family Dining”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

That's the best way I can describe this. They had a crowd and, it was loud but sort of fun. We had pretty good service especially since it was packed. I like the Early Bird Complete Meal offerings and the specials so you can spend whatever your budget and there was plenty to pick from. Also, Happy Hour specials! We had the chowder and it was good. I had the blackened Rockfish and it was enjoyable with potatoes and succotash. My friend enjoyed the Mahi Mahi blackened. The other person had the full course meal and enjoyed all the courses. I would not recommend this for romance or big time business meals. It was an experience but there are many other places to try in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    119
    42
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Anthony's in Des Moines”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We had a Friday evening dinner for the group I was working with at Anthony's in Des Moines. The meals for all were uniformly good, and the only complaints were that with a large group, we had problems with getting everyone's order taken in a timely manner, and that parking on a weekend night was very, very limited.
The overall atmosphere was very good, and we had two tables facing the waterfront on Vashion Island. the two tables were served by different teams, and it was a bit difficult getting the two teams coordinated so that we all were served about the same time. The food was very tasty, served with great presentation, and the service was very good, except for the coordination between the two tables.
Even though they were packed full that night, our service was good. I think the problem with coordination was because the servers didn't know that the two tables were part of the same group, therefore, it wasn't coordinated well.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“A disappointing mixed bag.......”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had not been to Anthony's for quite awhile, but I expected to have the great meal I have always had in the past. This time, we all decided to try one of the four course "sunset dinner" specials. Unfortunately, this was not the best decision. The shrimp cocktail was very bland, as was the shrimp in our entrees. The mousse, which is one of the desert choices, was okay but nothing special. What you can make at home (from a box) is just as good. Also, although It was very busy while we were there, we don't understand why our food was not very hot? On the bright side.....the "London broil" was tasty as was the chowder and bread. We will return, but next time we will stick to the regular menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1SusiQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding Dinner”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have enjoyed many fine dinners at two other Anthony's Home Port restaurants in the Seattle area. We were staying close to SEATAC and didn't want to drive far for dinner. So we discovered that there was a Home Port within 5 miles of our hotel. So we went with no RSVP. We waited for a short time and the wait was worth it! Another incredible dinner of Caesar salads, the Northwest Duet and followed up with a Blackberry cobbler.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, Illinois
Level Contributor
124 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Happy Anniversary”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Went here to finish celebrating our 41st anniversary. This was our choice for the last night before we left SeaTac in the morning. A person at the hotel we stayed at suggested going here...good suggestion. We hit happy hour...reduced drink prices and a bar menu before 6:30, but mostly the weather was great so we sat outside the view was excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rmangun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anthony's Homeport Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing