We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your money”
Review of Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marina Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Des Moines
Kent, Washington
1 review
“Save your money”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed there once. Rooms are outdated, but rather nice and large. Loved the fridge in the room. Unfortunately the "hot tub" in the room was little more than a jetted tub. When we turned on the jets, the smell of mold was so bad we had to turn it off and open a window. When we checked out, the lady at the counter was incredibly rude and treated us like suspicious criminals, even though we both were dressed nicely enough and took time to clean up the room before we checked out, and had no noise complaints. We just wanted a romantic night alone. She went so far as to make us wait for our deposit until she inspected the room, which took over 20 minutes. We used one towel to clean up a spilled soda before it got on the rug and the lady at the counter started yelling about how that constituted room damage, and said they don't need customers like us. I agree completely.

Room Tip: Ask for the BIG hot tub or you'll get a normal tub with jets, and pay way more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 85JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaInn, Front Office Manager at Marina Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
The guests never compained of any odor problems, or we would have gladly moved them to another room. The "hot tub" they refer to is a 2- person Jacuzzi, NOT a standard size tub with jets. The towel(s) that were damaged were due to the lady dying her hair at the hotel, NOT spilled soda.The clerk was simply trying to find out what was on the towels when the guests became rude and swore at her as they walked out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    59
    39
    17
    13
See reviews for
32
60
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The area is very quiet. The rooms are clean and well kept. The rooms are outdated and smell moldy. The shower curtains need to be changed out every month. The rooms are large and spacious. I loved that the rooms had a fridge and a microwave. DO NOT let the maids in the rooms when you are staying there. Only ask for towels and toilet paper. We let the maids in our room after our first night and one maid shaved her legs with my razor. Very nasty! The man at the front desk is very nice but beware of the red-headed lady. She is very uptight and rude. The breakfast is light. They only have English muffins, some fruit, and sometimes they will put out waffle mix. I would stay again because it is very reasonable and a good location.

Room Tip: -Drop off your bags when you first get there and turn on the heat. Leave for an hour and your room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara1542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaInn, Front Office Manager at Marina Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
These guests stayed here in December. When he showed me the razor blade in question, there were long wispy reddish-blond hairs on it, more like arm hairs than razor stubble. Our housekeepers all have dark hair.The gentelmans haircolor was a direct match to the hairs on the razor, not from our staff. Our continental breakfast consists of; milk, juice, coffee,2 kinds of dry cereal, white and wheat bread, english muffins, fresh fruit, hard-boiled eggs, and a rotation of bagels, doughnuts, or muffins. We add belgium waffles on the weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed here several times on a park n fly package. The shuttle is quick, and operates 24 hours a day. The hotel is a few minutes from the airport, but just far enough you don't have to worry about loud noises from planes. Rooms are nice, comfortable and clean.
Most rooms have a kitchentte, coffee maker and coffee packs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhwoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My reservation was 'cocked-up' 3 times - initially on the phone and twice at check in. Beds were brutally hard and neither of us slept hardly at all. We were on a stay and fly package which has a somewhat discounted rate from other places in the area. Room is very dated but no creepy crawly things. A charge list on plastic leaning against the bathroom mirror - what's up with that?? Easy 1/2 block walk to a couple of good pubs if you want to unwind with a pint or cocktail before heading to bed. Quite location for sure. Sorry Marina Inn - first and last time for me.

Room Tip: Tiny parking lot for long stay and flys - bring your smallest vehicle you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaInn, Front Office Manager at Marina Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I have no idea what this gentelman is refering to ( cock-ed up???) I handled the reservation and the check-in. I dont recall any problems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Des Moines hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We chose the marina based on the positive reviews. And the Info was mostly accurate. Good price, clean, friendly and cheerful staff, and the best bang for your buck. Beware of the following: if you fly out early, they will give you some prepackaged pastries, but there is no coffee! Also they are absurdly strict about the shuttle service. We asked to leave at 5.15 but were told only 5 or 5.30. Yet there was no one else up and the shuttle lady was the one who brought out the pastries. She could have driven us at any time. We think she was in the back smoking because the shuttle (as well as the lobby) smelled of smoke. The shuttle back was a bit of a gong show. I called from the arrivals area and was told, despite having my luggage and being 2 minutes from the pickup area, that I must call using the courtesy phone. I nearly froze waiting 40 minutes to be picked up. This delay is a combination of the 15 minute distance from the hotel and ???!, despite this, the shuttle crew were cheery and helpful. I just think a hotel near the airport would be more efficient. Also, our room was extremely (January) cold upon arrival. This was ok as we revved the heat and it was warm when we returned from dinner. However, I'm returning from a late flight in three weeks and will need a post, rather than pre, night hotel. I will likely stay somewhere less "rule" driven and closer to the airport.I can just hear the front desk person cheerfully denying my request to pre heat the room.

Room Tip: Make sure you arrive at least an hour before your bedtime so you can heat up the room. No coffee for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here on a park-and-fly package and found it a pleasant alternative to the many chain motels on International Boulevard. It was quiet, comfortable and clean. Shuttle service to the airport was easy and efficient. And it was great to stay in a place that felt like a real "neighborhood" where you could walk around and find interesting bits to look at. Price was definitely in the "budget" catgegory, and that did mean that some of the furnishings looked a little in need of refurbishment. But the corridors appeared newly painted in lovely shades of blue and yellow, echoing the "marina" theme.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mctick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTac, Washington
Level Contributor
132 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed New Year's Eve 2012 at Marina Inn because we'd stayed there before and it is close to everything in Des Moines. The room was nice and large but the towels in the bathroom were worn and thin and a bit on the gray side - definitely in need of replacement. The bed was comfortable and we had a nice view of the sound with the mountains behind it. All in all, an OK stay and next time we want to spend time in Des Moines and not have to drive, we'll do it again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Velvet21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
1.6 mi away
Best Western Seattle Airport Hotel
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Seattle Airport South
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn SeaTac Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Seattle-Airport/28th Ave
3.0 mi away
Cedarbrook Lodge
Cedarbrook Lodge
#1 of 34 in SeaTac
2,268 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ramada Kent Seattle Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn

Property: Marina Inn
Address: 22300 7th Ave S, Des Moines, WA 98198-6817
Location: United States > Washington > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Des Moines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing