We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rema Great deal...great place!”
Review of Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marina Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Des Moines
Ridgefield
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Rema Great deal...great place!”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The price was so low that I didn't expect a lot in. in fact, it was only because of the good reviews that I booked a room here. I am so glad I did. I couldn't believe the size and cleanliness of the rooms! There was even a very satisfactory complimentary breakfast with waffle maker. Love this place. I would recommend it to anyone needing a hotel in the area. Not even a bad drive to the Tacoma Dome where we were going.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vsheadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    59
    39
    17
    13
See reviews for
32
60
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We booked this property last minute due to a change in travel plans. We also needed a hotel to leave our car as we were taking Amtrak to California. The paking plan was a good bargain. The hotel is older but the room was spacious and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. There are numerous coffe shops and restaurants in the area and short walk to the water. The shuttle was prompt and they dropped us at the light rail so we could get downtown to catch the Amtrak.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank canadakel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Des Moines is a sleepy little community and reminds me of Santa Cruz area. Hotel is not exactly on the beach, but rather you can barely see Puget Sound from the second floor of the hotel. Rooms are larger than normal, our room's floor was a little squeaky so we walked lightly, but overall very quiet. If you have a noisy neighbor, I can see how it would be very distracting and annoying. But for the price, my wife and I had a satisfactory stay. Besides, when you go to Seattle with all there is to see and visit, you shouldn't be spending your time in the hotel!

Room Tip: Second floor room gives you a chance to see Puget Sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank txleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Des Moines hotels

Langley, B.C.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning and end of our trip to NY.

What a bargain! $206 for 2 nights stay, airport shuttle and parking for over two weeks.

The room was a pleasant surprise. Large, comfortable and very clean.

We needed a jump start because our car battery had died - no problem, the staff was right on it.

The staff was very friendly, the shuttle quick, the breakfast good - love the waffles.

They even let us stay in our room after check out time - because our flight wasn't until the late afternoon.

We did have a problem locating the motel, and had to call for directions from the front desk, but we made it :o)

Room Tip: Map quest before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hazelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
209 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Do you like the idea of walking out on the pier above Puget Sound and watching the fishermen throw their crab pots? Enjoying the Western Red Cedars along the new hiking trail? Watching the sail boats go out of the Des Moines Marina? Enjoying a view of Puget Sound and Vashon Island? Spening just $64 dollars per night (not a typo). Post Labor Day room rate just $64. A bargain since everything in downtown Seattle except the Moore Hotel ($74) was above $150 per night. Also, away from the tacky sprawl motels around the airport. Rooms were basic but clean. Windows opened. Nice breakfast. Eat at nearby Mexican restaurant. Walk to the nearby QFC grocery store across the street. Do your laundry for $1.50 (machine available). Beautiful marina and pier just 3 blocks down the hill. Walk up the new bike and hike trail along the creek. In short, if you want a bargain choice near the airport, this may be it for the frugal traveller. 4 cup coffee maker--not the single cup the chains now give you. Family run. Lots of rules.
On the down side: an outrageous $10 fee for their airport shuttle. Smallest bars of soap I'd ever seen.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

It's funny when you read other reviewers state something that you didn't expeirence at all in your own stay. We stayed a a very large room that was clean with no issues. It completely met our needs with large beds, a large living space, table and chairs, refrigerator, coffee pot and microwave. The inn itslef is about a block and a half away from the Des Moines marina and beach front. In addition, close by, there is a natural estuary that makes for some for investigating with your kids! All in all, it met the needs for a family traveling with kids. We stayed there nine days and had NO ISSUES. Other reviewers stated something about 'shoddiness, creepy clientelle, and lingering cigarette smoke odor.' I found none of the above. Other clientelle we encountered we numerous college students who use the other side of the inn as their semester living quarters. First, realize, it's a three story inn and it it quite large. There is plenty of room for everyone. As far as college kids are concerned, they were far from creepy and when they did smoke, it was on the other side of the parking lot. In fact. nearly all of the college kids that we encountered were freindly and said hello in the halls. They smiled and almost seemed to have a humble disposition to paying guests. Remember we were there for nine days- no issues! It's not a spa nor a five-star resort, but it works great for families on vacation!

Room Tip: Consider asking for a room on the the thire floor so as to avoid the noise from other doors shutting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jnlmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Close to restaurants, highways, and the harbor. Dated rooms but for the price I thought it was a good deal

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khunkajonsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Seattle Airport South
1.6 mi away
Best Western Seattle Airport Hotel
3.0 mi away
Cedarbrook Lodge
Cedarbrook Lodge
#1 of 34 in SeaTac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn SeaTac Airport
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Seattle-Airport/28th Ave
2.9 mi away
Coast Gateway Hotel
Coast Gateway Hotel
#3 of 34 in SeaTac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn

Property: Marina Inn
Address: 22300 7th Ave S, Des Moines, WA 98198-6817
Location: United States > Washington > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Des Moines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing